We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway”
Review of Mount 'n' Mist

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount 'n' Mist
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2012

As a family (4 adults), we had a great time as a family in the nice hill cottages facing the scenic madhumulai forests and hills near Ooty. Perched on the Kalhatty Ghats (the shorter route to Ooty from Mysore), it makes for a beautiful and quiet weekend holiday. The staff is excellent, though the kitchen can be a little slow.

Highlights of the trip are the beautiful step gardens around the hotel, the fireplace they put up for you through the night. The friendly manager and staff go out of thew way to make you feel comfortable. The rooms are great, fully equipped, new and well designed (though the lighting could be better). The bathrooms are a real wow factor. Spacious, modern and with a working bath tub!

The cottages are very very spacious, ours had two bedrooms and large sitting with dining, which is absolutely great value for money!

If yo are going here, you should have your own transport as it is pretty much in the middle of nowhere! Take woolens.

Worth a try!

Room Tip: All rooms face the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suhasbaliga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 700 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

Hi, I had visited Mount n' Mist few days back ! This is a Haven for nature lovers. Awesome view, Comfortable and Well Equipped Rooms, Nice Food, that makes you feel at home.... Thanks to Mr.Ravi.... It was a Nice experince for me, Keep it up

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Atul14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

It was indeed a wonderful experience for our entire family that we would like to cherish for a long time. We lost all the tiredness as we had a warm reception at the hotel by Mr. Jolly. The rooms were spacious, clean, maintained well by the staff. The restaurant will cater to all your needs at all times thanks to Mr. Chotu and friends.
The resort is indeed is at a very good location and it is sure that u will find urself amidst mount n mist.
My special thanks to the MD Mr. RAVI for guiding us to this heavenly resort.

Dr. PRASAD & Family

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pramalanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Our trip to Ooty in December was memorable thanks to Ravi and Jolly the beauty of the location and the property, the quality of food and service, the personal care taken by Ravi and manager Jolly and the playful time we spent with Tony - the pug.

Room Tip: King Suite is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EldhoJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Our trip to Ooty was memorable and hassle free, thanks to Ravi. 5 stars to the beauty of the location and the property, the quality of food and service, the personal care taken by Ravi and manager Jolly and the playful time we spent with Tony - the pug. There are good trekking options available around the resort and the guide is a very knowledgeable and helpful person. We trekked to the heartland of wild elephants on the route to which all the farming lands are fenced with electricity. It was a scary trek for the women in our troupe, nevertheless we laughed about it days after.

Room Tip: Ask for a Queen suite or King suite if you are travelling in a group. The Kind suite is true to its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirancsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

A stay truly with Mountain n Mist :) Place is so serene. Very well maintained rooms. Friendly staff. Had a moon lit dinner :) Reminds you of the Ooty's lost charm. Icing on the cake was the food... absolutely delicious :) worth every penny :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manasa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We booked Mount-n-Mist through phone. Mr. Ravi who is the owner picked the call, he was very friendly. Because my internet banking was not working, i couldnt pay the money in advance, i thought i would have to book another resort, But Mr. Ravi said its alright and i can pay the money afterwards.

When we reached the hotel it, we realized that name of the hotel "Mount n Mist" is justified.
Its located at 9th Hairpin out of 36 Hairpin in scenic Masinagudi route towards ooty. And lot of mist was there, the visibility was less than 10 meters. we thought our trip will be a waste, because we will not be able to enjoy the scenic beauty of ooty. But mist was cleared in 1 hour and we could start our touring.The view from the hotel itself is worth watching.

The accomadation was value for money. The staff were also very courteous. I think Mr. Ravi and management takes extreme care in treating customers . The only problem we noticed about Mount-n-Mist was food orders take too long time, and break-fast was also not so good. Anyhow our two Night stay in Mount-n-Mist was a pleasent experience

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MANIEK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
4.7 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,083 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#12 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
573 reviews
4.3 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#16 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
644 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#9 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,247 reviews
3.7 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#6 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount 'n' Mist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount 'n' Mist

Address: Kalhatty Ghats, Mysore Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643005, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $35 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount 'n' Mist 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Mount 'n' Mist reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount 'N' Mist India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing