We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Berry Hills Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ooty Gate Hotel(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Blue Bird(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Preethi Classic Towers(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Vinayaga Inn(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Meadows Residency - Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ponmari Residencyy(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Welcom Regency Villa(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
View Hotel
Sherlock Hotel(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
FabHotel Khems Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveler rating
85
67
23
8
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
67
23
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea factoryapproach roadmr shankarfoot hillsbooked a superior roomhigh ground clearanceentire ootyrooms are amazingbad shapeexcellent viewnice place to visitrest assuredaccess roadbeautiful view of ootyhill topcrowded townpleasant stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 193 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The resort and its location is nice. Hotel and its service is also very good. The only problem is the road to hotel is very inconvenient. The restaurant food's taste is good however the price is high e.g. you will get a chapati for Rs.30.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dhanaji S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Sir

Greeting from Berry Hills Resort Ooty

Many thanks for taking your time in reviewing our property in Trip Advisor.

We are glad to hear your appreciation about our property . The price in our menu is fixed as per the standards of similar hotels and Im sure you would appreciate the quality served.

Looking forward to serve you on your next visit

Regards

Team Berry Hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This place has it's pros and cons. It depends on your situation. If you are just going to use this place for a good night stay and then have breakfast and get out of the place for the whole day to go out then it is quite good. If are the type that wants to hang out in your resort and laze then give this place a skip.

Pros:
Excellent service, very courteous and accommodating staff.
Beautiful view from most rooms.
Clean rooms and toilet.
Facility of a room heater.
Complementary breakfast is quite decent.
Room service is good.
Facility to accommodate your driver too.

Cons:
1>Except the room and deserted dining space this 'resort' absolutely has nothing else.
2>The bad access lasts for almost 10-15 minutes which is too much. The road is so narrow that if a big vehicle comes in front of you then the back-up/let-go dance between the 2 opposing vehicles can take forever and waste a lot of your time. One more problem with the bad access road is that, there is no way you can get out or get into the resort once it is dark, which is as early as 6:30 in winter. This means that you lose a good 2-3 hours of sight seeing hours in a day. God forbid if there is an emergency at night, you are stuck in the place till sun-up. The road is so bad it can damage your car.
3>Surprisingly there are no south Indian items on the menu. Except for soup the rest of food on the menu is quite average.
4> The room size is quite small. Okay for honeymooners, not okay for family.
5>The extra bed has no space to be put in. You will have to move out the couple of chairs in the room to make space for the bed. It makes you claustrophobic.

Room Tip: Reach early. Sometimes they let you checkout and choose your room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnuGBhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Guest

Greetings from Berry Hills Resort Ooty

Many thanks for taking your time in reviewing our property on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear your appreciation about the service and standards of the property. It is appreciation like yours that helps us in keeping our team motivated.

With regard to your cons about the property ,

We are in the process of devoloping a children play area

Regard to the road , as reported earlier , we are trying our best with the local authorities to lay the same

Your suggestion to increse the south indian menu is well accepted

With regard to the room size , the room which you had stayed was 18*12 (216 sqft) excluding the wash room

Looking forward to serve you on your next visit

Regards

Team Berry Hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

It was a disaster, first of all, in my view it should not be called resort. It was so small with nothing to do, I don't think it qualifies to be called as a resort. It was a over priced small hotel.
Approach road is so bad that if you manage to reach there you can not go out on your own, so once you reach there you get stuck and there is nothing to do in the resort. We didn't even get taxi after 7 pm and taking our own car was too risky.
Staff was ok, polite and helpful but that doesn't help if you go with the intent to have fun and explore new places. I would not recommend this to any one as I think it doesn't suit any profile.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parag_trivedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from Berry Hills Resort ooty.

Wish You a very Happy New Year.

Many thanks for taking your time in reviewing out property in Tripadvisor.

We are dissappointed to know that you are unhappy about your stay with us .However regard to your concern about calling our property a resort , the english dictionary defines a resort as follows

A place that is frequented for holidays or recreation or for a particular purpose .

As you were aware , we were full on the day you stayed with us which means to say that we are frequented for holidays by esteemed guests and earlier reviews are a testimonial to the same and we are rightfully qualified to call our property as a hill resort.

With regard to the road , we have always accepted the condition is bad and we apologise for the same and the same has to be done up by the local administration , however the road is safe and motorable .

With regard to the taxi - I came to know that you had enquired for a taxi by 4.45 p.m and when our front office staff suggested that all important places of visit closes down between 5.30 p.m and 6 and taxi would take time to reach the property you were happy to take a walk to the tea factory closeby. However we would appologise if there were any lapse on this.

Many Thanks for appreciating our staff and service .

Looking forward to serve you on your next visit

Best Regards

Team Berry Hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel Nov month.(just got time to write this review ;)) I stongly recommend this hotel for those who planning to visit ooty. Very co-coperative staff, Clean rooms , 24 hours hot water and excellent room service. Food is not expensive and quantity is good . The room view was very good and even they have chairs in balcony /lawn where you can sit and enjoy it. For couple this hotel is good place as its very calm and even can take walks down the hill.While checkout we got ample time and didnt booked cab for station. Manager of this hotel dropped us to the town shopping area in his car. This is my hotel
for my next trips to Hotel. Keep up the good work ...Berryhills ;)

Room Tip: All the rooms have view but prefer the one facing the town.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Satishgorti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Sir

Greetings from Berry Hills Resort Ooty

Wish you a very Happy New Year from our entire team

Many thanks for taking your time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our property.I think you have mentioned every depatment of ours and we are thankful for your appreciation since compliments and suggestions like these help us to serve our future guests.

Looking forward for your next visit to Berry Hills

Best Regards

Team Berry Hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I had booked one superior room for 3 nights for me & my wife this December (16-19 Dec, 2013) via Travelguru. And I really must say it was a very warm experience for both of us.
For travelers, I would like to mention the top points this splendid hotel struck the chord, are:

1. View from balcony is just magnificient. And, make sure you return to hotel before sun-down. Because you don't want to miss the sun-set. I watched it all the three days from the balcony and believe me, you won't get bored at all!
2. Rooms are very neat & clean. And, cozy linens.
3. Hotel staffs are always ready to help and will always make you feel welcome.
4. It is situated way up the hill (just below the Tea Factory). So, very good for couples for its peace & quiet.
5. Hotel cuisine is also very good and somewhat versatile.

Now, for the area they (the hotel) really need to improve is:

1. The definitely and must be done is to repair the approach road. It makes a really negative impact to the mind of the traveler to enter the hotel on a cruel bumpy road.

Finally, my suggestion is... if you are a couple, you definitely go for this hotel. It may be a little bit costly but it worth it. And, personally, we stayed in the room no.305. Believe me, it's the best.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArnabDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Sir

Greetings from Berry Hills resort Ooty

Wish You a very happy new year

Many thanks for taking your time to post a review on Trip Advisor

We are glad to know that you enjoyed the stay and hospitality extended in our resort. Also the compliments for service , food , cleanliness shall definitely be passed on to the team. We are happy that you enjoyed the calmness , serinity and peace along with the sunset from Berry hills. We are looking forward to serve you on your next visit

Best Regrds

Team Berry hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews