We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice building, excellent views. Terrible maintenance.”
Review of Berry Hills Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Berry Hills Resort
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, nice building, excellent views. Terrible maintenance.”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I loved the building. It is on a great location with a fantastic view of the city. They have a hilly landscaped park. The interior design is grand & you can see money has been spent in setting this place up. We Stayed on 13th and 14th of April 2013.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manikannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Sir

Many thaks for your review inTrip advisor. It is really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in Berry Hills. Thanks for your appreciation about our decor and maintainance.But when I read terrible maintainance , we thought it to be negative but we found that you were happy about our maintainance by looking at your five star rating for cleanliness. Looking forward for your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    54
    23
    8
    8
See reviews for
77
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I saw so many reviews and after all that, decided to book Berry Hills resort. But to say that I was disappointed is an understatement. I have lost trust on Expedia as well now.
For starters, the resort is unknown to any auto wala in Ooty. So, the only way to reach the "resort" is call up the reception and pay 200 for it!
Next, the room wasnt cleaned at all. Hot water wasnt available. When asked repeatedly, we got a bucket of hot water.
The superior room is charged additional money for the "wonderful view from the balcony". But from my room, I could only see the hotel staff standing. So, couldnt open the door at all.
The TV has a very unreliable cable connection, contrary to the hotel's claim that it has satellite connection.
The so called resort has nothing but rooms. This coupled with trecherous access to the hotel makes it a very poor and a very low value for consumer option.

Room Tip: No rooms are good. Keep away from this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AchyutKoushik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks fro reviewing our property in trip Advisor

Firstly we appologise for you to have carried so many negatives from our property. however this also gives us the responsiblity to clarify a few things from our side.

1 . Since our property is new not many auto drivers know about it. Also not many of our guests use auto to reach our property. The resort would have arranged for a cab to pickup for the same price.

2. We object to your review about cleanliness , since we have a very good feedback about our housekeeping and ealier reviewsa are a testimony for the same. Also you have failed to mention that you had a early checkin which we accomodated you though we aere not obliged to do so.

3. We appologise for the hot water issue , since there was a problem in the water line leading to your room . Thanks for mentioning hot water was provided to you. However we would have appreciated if you had also mentioned that the issue was resolved in 15 minutes time from the time you complained.

4. With regard to the view , all the guests who had been alloted the same mountain facing view near the lawn have appreciated the view so far.

5.We also feel sorry for you to have mentioned that none of the rooms are good when you have not had an oppurtunity to see any other room . Also you had stayed in a good room and earlier reviews would justify our point with regard to the rooms, cleanliness and service of our staff.

However thanks for giving us an oppurtunity to explain our point of view in this forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had planned our Ooty trip quite quickly and were looking for a hotel to stay. I found reviews for Sherlock and King’s cliff and wanted to book that, but they were sold out. We then decided to book this hotel for two nights.

The approach road for the hotel is in bad shape. So you have to drive 1-2 km at a steep incline and narrow and bad road. But once you get to the resort, you do get a good view of the city. The room was spotless clean and there was ample parking space. We enjoyed the sunset view from the balcony with a cup of tea. For me, that was the highlight of the trip.

The geyser does not have enough capacity. It cannot cater to 2 people 1 after another. The 2nd guy will have to wait a while for the water to get hot.The breakfast was included in the package it had good Indian breakfast items with coffee/tea and some fruits. However, when I requested some eggs to be made I was told that it would be charged separately. I think eggs are quite an integral part of breakfast and should be free of charge, but anyways.

The staff was very hospitable and took care of us. However, I think it’s a little overpriced for what I experienced. It’s a good 3.5 star resort.

Room Tip: Take rooms 304 or the one adjacent (305 or 306 not sure). It offers good views of the ooty city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amardeep D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Sir

Greetings from Berry Hills Resort

Many thanks for taking your time to review your stay in Berry Hills. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the view , cleanliness and service in our resort. With respect to the access , it is 900 metres from the main state highway (Dodabetta Road) and the steep climb is only 150 metres and we are in talks with the local authorities to do up the road which they have promised but would take some time. Your suggestion about the breakfast is considered. With regard to geyser, it takes 20 minutes to warm because of the weather. It is good to know that you enjoyed the food served. Looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The place is a must visit,the view is breathtaking,the service is great,food was ok,overall a good experience.The approach road was a bit bumpy .The rooms are clean & neat.The only negative feedback is about the food,it was just about ok,nothing much to rave about.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Rajeev R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Firstly my thanks to you for taking your time in reviewing your stay in Berry Hills. It is a oleasure to know that you enjoyed the facilities in our property .Thanks for your kind words about the cleanliness and service. Our appologies to you if the food served did not meet your expectation.if you had informed us during your stay we could have catered to your taste. Looking forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is a blessing for people who likes a serene surrounding.
- The view from the hotel is amazingly beautiful.
- Rooms are above expectation.
- Food is Excellent
- Staffs are friendly and responsive.

Would highly recommend this place.




  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Sanat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Berry Hills resort ooty.

Many thanks for your review about our property in trip Advisor. It makes us feel really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our property . We are also elated to know that our quality and service met your expectation. Looking forward for your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had visited the resort in the month of March. The temperature was around 12 degrees and the atmosphere was quite breezy and pleasant. The resort was peaceful and the location is very good. The rooms are spacious and well done up. with so much greenery around and beautiful night view, would want to visit again. The staff is very courteous and helpful. With benches placed around the resort, one can sit and enjoy a hot cup of coffee overlooking the beautiful city of ooty


Kiran & Leela

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiranS251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Sir

Greetings from Berry Hills resort Ooty

Firstly my thanks for reviewing our property in Trip Advisor.Also our compliments to you for giving a wonderful description of our resort. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in Berry Hills. We are eager to welcome you on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

18 Degrees to 38 Degrees, freezing water to hot sweat !! This sums up my experience in being Ooty and back to Bangalore. We stayed at Berry Hills Resort, Hmmm Resort would not be a right name, but who cares as long as you have a good time right ? And we did have a good time.

This is a new property, so expect to see a nice chic looking building. We stayed here for 2 Nights & 3 Days with Wife and In-Laws. We had a tough time finding the place, called the hotel and within next 10 mins we had the manager escorting us to the hotel. As described in the earlier post by other, the road to the hotel is not great, but manageable. The rooms are clean and nice. Courteous staff, they make you feel comfortable. The Food is good. Another best part of this hotel is the proximity to the tourist attractions. Most the places in the town are like 10-20 mins away, Botanical Garden, Rose Garden, Boat House, Wax Museum. Over all its Value for money.

Tip: Take Superior Room, Good View of Ooty.

Pros: Courteous Staff, Good Food, Proximity to tourist place, New Property, Nice View.

Cons : Approach Road (More of “Needs improvement”)

Room Tip: Rooms on the Top Floor have good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indian_Ink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Sir

Greetings from Berry Hills Resort Ooty

Many thanks for reviewing our property in trip advisor. It is feedback like yours that help us in improving our standards to our future guests. We have now placed a few more direction boards for guests to drive to our property. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay along with our food and service. Hope to see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.6 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
768 reviews
0.9 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
994 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#14 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
498 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,175 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Flora Amberley Resort
La Flora Amberley Resort
#61 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berry Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berry Hills Resort

Property: Berry Hills Resort
Address: 333 Old Ooty | Stone House Hill Post, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berry Hills Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berry Hills Resort Ooty is an ideal leisure destination suitably located facing the picturesque ooty town and the blue mountains of the western ghats .The Resort is craftfully designed with mordern luxury and colonial antique style.The luxury resort is affordable and scenically located though not far away from the city centre. The resort is situated on a pristine environment on one of the many slopes of Dodabetta ( the highest peak of south india).The cool and calm surroundings of the lawns of Berry hills and the variety of birds to watch for makes a stay in Berry Hills a memorable one. The wooden flooring and private balconies from the superior rooms with amazing view of the western ghats as a complement would be a dream come true for an avid vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Berry Hills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry Hills Resort India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing