We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ooty at its best”
Review of Berry Hills Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Berry Hills Resort
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I visited Berry Hills in Dec 2012 with my family and I must say it was the most momorable trip ever. Starting from the location to the view to the staff to the food, everything was just perfect. Some people may feel that the road to reach the resort is not great and the route is cumbersome, but for me it was a totally off beat path and extremely exciting. Located just on the foothills of the highest point - Doddabetta, it offers the best view of Ooty. You will enjoy the silenece and the smell of the fresh vegetation around you definitely. A must mention is the Tea Factory and Museum just above the resort which gives you a totally different perspective to tea making (apparently it is managed by the same management).
The staff are extremely polite and genuinely want ot make your stay as pleasant as possible. The food was excellent and the Prawn Pepper fry is a must try. Kudos to Karthick to manage this place so beautifully.
To sum up - If you want a true essence of Ooty - awau from the touristy hustle and bustle: Visit this place

Prasanna

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ram198100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Sir

We really thank you for the time taken in reviewing our property. It is feedback like yours which make our endeavour in giving a happy and comfortable stay to our guests possible. We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay as much as the food served in our resort. I shall definitely pass on the compliments to our entire team. We hope to see you soon on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 182 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

Here's the reality Guys,
1. Yes..its at the toppest point in OOTY...Reaching there is very cumbersome...Plus if you dont have a Cab..the hotel will charge you Rs.200 only for dropping and Picking.-No sense-So it will be you who would be paying for getting business to the ten Hotel.
2. No security-there is no fence, no internal locks, no guards, no receptionist at the night.Plus every room comes with a huge window without grill which can be easily broken.
3. Regarding service- The food is hygienic but don't expect much varieties. In breakfast you ll be given a set menu..U cant order U don't have choices. Plus they will keep hammering you with calls as soon as its 7:30 PM, as the kitchen closes soon.
4. Yes, The staff members - Arun is polite and helpful in the front. But you will have to bear for his foolishness(which definitely is expected from a person collecting payment)...If you are paying by a credit card make sure it is swiped once..
My card was swiped twice and the payment was collected twice. due to which I had to pay for the exceeding the over limit.

Final Verdict- If you can pay for a cab standing for u, If you can sleep in a hotel which doesn't have any guard or receptionist, which doesn't even have a fence and the rooms of which can be opened by anyone from outside, if you are ready to follow up day in and day out for your payment debited twice, if you are ready to pay for the over limit, if you are ready to eat food at some one Else's discretion and that too not that tasty..Go for it...
Yes you will be treated nicely with a rotten shoe wrapped in a gift paper.
Yes you will have a eyeful of a scenic view and no noise pollution.

Mr Kartikeyan if you are looking at it- Please connect at dpkptl@gmail.com

Room Tip: if you are paying this much..pay for a superior room...at least u ll be able to sleep properly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
4  Thank digital14287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for the time taken in reviewing our property.It is dissappointing to know that you have left our property with so many negatives in your mind. This gives me the responsibility to clarify all the points mentioned by you not only to you but also other guests who read this.

1. Thanks for mentioning that our property is on one of the highest points in ooty and has got a good view. I am sure any person travelling to a hill station would like to enjoy a good view and has to travel a distance to reach the property which ofcourse has a charge for transportation. I feel this is not unusual.

2. In terms of security , i am not really sure how you have mentioned there was no receptionist as there are round the clock front office staffs along with a night security in the premises. In terms of internal locks , it is just a button which has to be pushed to lock the door (our staffs would have been happy to show you if you had asked for). Ofcourse the windows are huge without grills so as to give an undisturbed view to the guest and has been appreciated by our guests . The windows cannot be accessed from outside since it faces a independent balcony.

3. In terms of service , the rooms come with a complimentary breakfast, and am sure all would agree it would come with a fixed menu. With regard to the call by 7.30 , it is only to serve dinner at the time suitable to you so that the waiting time is reduced. In case it has disturbed you I apologize for the same

4. I sincerely appologise for the double swiping done due to the fault in the swiping machine which was explained to you in your presence as your transaction was not approved and also the amount had been refunded by crediting your bank account.

With all this my special thanks to you to have given a good rating for cleanliness and service.
We value your feedback and have ensured that another latch along with the existing locking mechanism is provided from inside so that no other guest feels insecure the way you have felt sir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Dear Karthik,
It was a very happy & memorable stay in your resort. Though it is hard to reach your place without a vehicle but it is worth travelling up the hill. The rooms are clean & neat. The scenic nature of ooty from the balcony is a treat for eyes in the night as well as early morning. The hospitality was very good with every individual contributing their best. My past experiences in other Hill stations was the difficulty to find a place for good quality food or too expensive to afford for. I can assure that anyone visiting here will enjoy a homely food. thanks to Mr.Ravi who was making me comfort from the first phone call. Overall I would rate this as the best economy hotel to stay for in off season.
Regards
Venkatesh

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank venki84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Sir , Thanks a lot for taking your time and mentioning a few kind words about our resort. It was indeed a pleasure to host you in our property.Hope to see you back in your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed there during last week of Dec. We liked this property very much. Very good clean rooms with great view, especially during early morning and evening. Mr. Karthikeyan ( Managing Partner) and his staff members ( Mr. Ravi / Mr. Arun ) are extremely courteous and helpful. The boy at the restaurant ( Mr. Ramamurthy) was quick enough to subside your hunger.

Rooms: Stayed in a superior room. No dampness. Wooden floored. Spacious. Neat and clean bathrooms. Comfortable bed. The chairs provided could have been more comfortable. Nice balcony with an antique kind of small bench. I liked that...

Breakfast had a reasonably good variety. They have a very good team as well in the kitchen. Would give full marks to their kitchen staff. Loved the delicious dinner served. A plate of Onion/Aloo pakora with hot masala tea around 5.30 pm... was heavenly. They have a variety of freshly baked cakes as well ( Not to miss). The aroma of baking the cakes during the evening would be very tempting.

Hot water supply was a bit problem during second and third day, but attended to immediately. They even fixed a geiser at my room in the last day.

Well they should be knowing their weak point, i.e., the approach road.. which I hope they would be working on it and fix it soon. Self driven tourists have to be bit more careful in the 200 - 250 mtr stretch. If this is fixed soon then nothing like staying in Berry hills. Even otherwise, once you reach there, they would make your stay a nice one:)

Room Tip: We stayed in Room # 304 which had a brilliant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chanderChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear Sir, we really appreciate the time taken to write a review about your stay in our property.We also thankyou for the compliments for our team. We also apologise for the hot water issue ( as explained during your stay we had an issue due to extreme cold condition prevailed during your stay) but things are sorted out and special thanks to have mentioned in your review that the problem was sorted out.Overall it was a pleasure to have had you stay in our property and hope to see you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was my first trip to the south. Considering it's cold in December, the first thing I expect is hot water- which was a problem there. The toilets need improvement and there needs to be some hindi TV channels for people coming from the north.

Overall, the staff was good, the rooms nice- but this place needs a lot of improvement to be counted among the best.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shreya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed from 28th Dec to 1st Jan 2013 in standard room. The hotel is located right below the tea factory. (5 min Walk)

Hospitality:
I have stayed in a few hotels in Ooty including Taj Savoy and I can definitely say that this property also takes a 5 star rating when it comes to hospitality. Even the people in the restaurant (Arun) remember your name and room number and greet you when you go for breakfast or dinner. When you need something and request for it, rest assured they will arrange it for you.

Cleanliness:
This is a new hotel and hence the entire property was in good condition. The toilets were good and clean with no leakage. Every day when you get back to the room in the evening, the beds are done neatly and you get a room that was as fresh as the day you checked-in.

Amenities:
As it was December, we needed a room heater. This was provided on request at a very small charge per day. The heater was effective and worth the price. Decent size LCD TV in the room with a full range of channels so you don't get bored. A channel list in the room would have been good.

Cabs:
Unlike other hotels the cab rates here were pretty nominal. In fact cheaper to be more precise. Even the auto drivers hesitate to come here as the access road to the hotel is pretty bad. But if you walk around the hotel one evening, you will notice that there is a private road just before the tea factory leading to this hotel. Except this one small stretch of road, the rest of the route will be good. If you end up taking the bad road, I will not recommend doing doubles in a bike especially at night. (I had rented a bike during this trip).

Suggestion: The hotel could get some indoor games (TT, carom) for the guests to kill time in the evening with a cup of tea. A camp fire option on request would have been a cherry on the cake. Overall, I will definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: I stayed in the standard room in the ground floor right next to the reception. However, I would sugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jayakumarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Binita V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,073 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#16 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
556 reviews
2 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#9 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
834 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#17 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
640 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delightz Inn Resorts
Delightz Inn Resorts
#2 of 172 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berry Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berry Hills Resort

Address: 333 Old Ooty | Stone House Hill Post, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $31 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berry Hills Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berry Hills Resort Ooty is an ideal leisure destination suitably located facing the picturesque ooty town and the blue mountains of the western ghats .The Resort is craftfully designed with mordern luxury and colonial antique style.The luxury resort is affordable and scenically located though not far away from the city centre. The resort is situated on a pristine environment on one of the many slopes of Dodabetta ( the highest peak of south india).The cool and calm surroundings of the lawns of Berry hills and the variety of birds to watch for makes a stay in Berry Hills a memorable one. The wooden flooring and private balconies from the superior rooms with amazing view of the western ghats as a complement would be a dream come true for an avid vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Berry Hills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry Hills Resort India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing