We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream that was spoiled”

Nilgiri Mountain Railway
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
England
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A dream that was spoiled”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We booked for this during an Indian tour and thought it would be pretty and exciting, be warned, if If this is your dream steam train ride it could be spoiled. Our seats meant we travelled backwards all the way, not pleasant for me. Seats are very tight even in first class. Some excitable lads had the compartment behind and were noisy and giggly all the way. One chap in our section stood selfishly at the train window all the way thus blocking the view for everyone else, we asked politely and begged but he was silly and gripped with his own wishes. There are some good views but a lot is obscured overgrown trees. The monkeys at the stations are funny. Its good to order a chai when you stop to change engines, Be warned, there are hazards if you think this is going to be the trip of a lifetime.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    384
    134
    24
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No clarity”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We reached early in morning and were also luck to get our tickets but still we could not get on the train because most ppl do not know that travellers are required to book tickets well in advance from Indian Railway directly. Now you will think why we're we and many like us were sold tickets... The explanation given to us was if you get a chance you will be lucky. Disappointed we and many like us filled complaint register at station master cabin but till date no revert.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kdhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“AN ENTERTAINMENT NOT ONLY FOR CHILDREN BUT FOR ELDERS ALSO!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

While climbing down Nilgiri hills, is suggested must that you can take a ride of meter gauge train operates from Ooty to Metupalayam. Since seats are limited it is better to book tickets on line to avoid last minute disappointment. This train is called as 'Nilagiri Passenger' train covers a distance of 26 mi (41.8 km), travels through 208 curves, 16 tunnels, and 250 bridges. The uphill journey takes around 290 minutes (4.8 hours), and the downhill journey takes 215 minutes (3.6 hours) It has the steepest track in Asia. You can see lovely tiny (gudia) stations like ketti, Lovedale etc. Southern Railway replaced the coal-fired locomotives. The work was entrusted to Golden Rock Workshop of Southern Railway at Tiruchirapalli. Each of the new engines weighs a little over 50 tonnes and cost Rs.10 crore.The new engine has been provided with pilot and primary burners with separate tanks to hold about 850 litres of diesel and 2,250 litres of furnace oil. The hauling capacity of this new engine is 97.6 tonnes and it can run at a speed of 30 km an hour in plains and at 15 km an hour on a gradient

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank INDIAROYALE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nostalgic”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I ook a ride rom Udhagamandalam to Coonoor in this staem engine train with familyin October, 20013. It offers a panoramic view of the rolling Nilgiiri mountains. Goes through stations of Lovedale, Aaravankadu and Ketty etc. One fels the aua of British Raj. A must in OOTY.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shyam33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Narrow gauge railway”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Nice experience. Children enjoyed the rail trip, Passed thru the Lovedale station, which we only heard of before. Started at Coonor and continued until Udagamandalam. Enjoyable trip ever.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AVS_Raju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nilgiri Mountain Railway also viewed

Ooty (Udhagamandalam), The Nilgiris District
Ooty (Udhagamandalam), The Nilgiris District
 
Ooty (Udhagamandalam), The Nilgiris District
Ooty (Udhagamandalam), The Nilgiris District
 

Been to Nilgiri Mountain Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing