We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury hotel”
Review of Gem Park-Ooty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gem Park-Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Its a little away from the market area so is nice and quite.
Rooms are appropriate with all modern amenities. They are clean and house keeping if required is very prompt. We stayed in a deluxe room facing the valley.
Food is good. They have buffets as well as ala-carte. Buffet has got a wide spread.
Overall a lovely place to stay in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bageshree2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 707 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

A Very lovely place to stay with the beautifull and well maintained garden surrounding the hotel . The heated swimming pool is a added advantage for the people who love to swim on a hill station but the heated pool is funtioning only on saturdays

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Overall a lovely place to stay with the view outstanding. Also an apt place for photography.
Food is good but can come up with little more variety. Rooms were clean and well maintained with the staff being very welcoming. Would love to visit the place again and stay here mainly for the location of the gem park.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank 392nishantm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were a family group consisting of 10 adults and 4 children and not to mention that the kids were noisy through out the stay. The hotel staff very graciously served all our needs and put up with our various requests that the three nights we stayed there. Our Check In and Check out was efficiently handled. On all days the Front Office Manager Mr Vinod Kumar would enquire about our comfort levels and the staff at the Toda Café was just brilliant in serving our food and beverage needs. The housekeeping staff too took special care of our needs. The hotel being one of the earliest entrants into Ooty is well maintained, the rooms are neat and clean, the lawns are manicured and flowers were in full bloom while we were there. In spite of the heavy rush that the hotel was witnessing on account of the Ooty Flower Show the hotel coped very well during this period. While all was good, however I would have to mention that a little more planning and innovation should go into the buffet meals being served there and the food could have been a notch better. Overall experience was fairly good and we would be using the hotel again when next in Ooty.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing Ooty town for a good view, make sure the view is not obstructed by temporary si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Upendra Singh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Wonderfully large rooms with wooden floorings. The restaurant is good with typically Indian and Continental food. Room service is fast and good. The swimming pool is temperature controlled and a beautiful place to chill out. The flowers in the lawn on the approach road to the swimming pool adds beauty to the property.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VIMII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We were a family of four senior citizens of ages ranging from 61 to 90 years among many guests with children and toddlers. You would expect that this would be a huge challenge to the staff and services but they were brilliant. Very helpful, very courteous and very efficient. The hotel facilities and food are top-notch and we came away satiated and satisfied.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RudyEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I checked in at Gempark on May 6, 2014. We were welcomed with a beautiful weather and an extremely mouth-watering Welcome drink. The infrastructure and the greenery amidst which the hotel stands is what sweeps you off your feet. The staff is courteous and helpful.

We stayed at room number 509 that was facing the outside lawn of the hotel, and I must say that the view was what made this stay worth the effort and the money.

The only thing that disappointed me a bit is the lethargy of the House-Keeping Department. If you order anything, please be ready to wait for a good length of time with many reminders.
The food is good, well prepared and delicious. Both the Toda Cafe as well as The Jade Garden offer panoramic views of the Valley.

All in all, this was the best hotel of my entire South India trip. Kudos and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashima05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#13 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
574 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#9 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,249 reviews
1.9 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#6 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,046 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
845 reviews
1 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#12 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gem Park-Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Park-Ooty

Address: Sheddon Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India (Formerly Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#5 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $60 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gem Park-Ooty 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Nilgiri Mountains, the hotel stands tall with all elegance and style. A contemporary structure with a traditional feel, Gem Park Ooty has kept itself well with the spirit of the beautiful and picturesque city. It is located in the heart of the town, minutes away from key tourist attractions and major shopping areas. With its convenient location and fine service, the hotel has aptly gained favor of all business and leisure travelers who throng the city throughout the year. The hotel welcomes you to a stunning beautifully done up lobby with impressive Indian art on the walls. It is the spotlessly attired staff, ever ready to do the most to make you comfortable that makes the stay an experience for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gem Park-Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Holiday Inn Ootacamund
Ootacamund Holiday Inn
Gem Park-Ooty India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing