We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and comfortable rooms”
Review of Gem Park-Ooty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gem Park-Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Located up on a hill close to the Mahindra Resort, this hotel combines good views (from higher floors) along with attentive service. The rooms were clean and spacious, good for business trips with twin sharing. Food was average and could get a little repetitive for long stays. Traveling to and fro from the town centre will require a taxi or an auto, although if you're in the mood the hill is good for a refreshing hike.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roshnugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 703 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

We visited Ooty in November from Singapore and enjoyed the stay in this hotel. The service was excellent and the food was exquisite. The hotel has a great view and rooms are quite clean. But what attracted us the most was the service provided by the staff and the Toda Cafe manager, Mr Sekhar. Mr Sekhar has the right attributes and the service quality of a 5 star hotel manager that made us feel so special. We have been to so many hotels around the world but we thought he was at par with the finest we have seen in this business. The house keeping can be improved but all round, it was a nice hotel. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManilaSiby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I stayed here for my Honeymoon and the stay was excellent, SIMPLY SUPERB
I Wish the management & the Front Office Manager Mr Vinod was very helpful and supportive and i really want to thank and appreciate his kindness and his passion towards his work
The hotel room and facilities were great and at the Breakfast I Forgot the manager name he was also superb and very kind and the Breakfast set was also GOOD
I really need to Mention Ashwin, Travel Desk he was really helpful and kind for assisting me the tours and tickets
OVERALL WELLDONE AND KEEP UP YOUR GOOD WORK

RAJESH KUMAR

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajeram_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

It is a nice Hotel in the mountain. The rooms in the higher floors are good. Ample parking space is there with gardens around the hotel. The hotel is having a nice swimming pool. The hotel is about three kilometeres from the Charingcross junction and in the mountain, private transport is a must.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in the higher floor which are well maintained compared to those in the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G N V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We reached the hotel on 8th early morning & booked to double bed rooms. Rooms were not clean & heater were not working. After telling multiple times somehow got the small external heater in the evening & got the room cleaned. But wasn't up to the mark. Heater was so small that couldn't heat up the room & when asking why the central heater is not working, the excuse was that we are under maintenance, That was really a lame excuse. We were charged hefty & the service was pathetic. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone with the service i got.

Room Tip: I would suggest to go for some good home stay & do read the review before booking any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AkshayJagani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahul D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this beautiful hotel.

Good view of city from Restaurant located on top floor.

ver all the entire hotel is good, food is excellent, room service is good, location is first class.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyJ167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#13 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
573 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#8 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,247 reviews
1.9 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#6 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,044 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
845 reviews
1 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#12 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gem Park-Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Park-Ooty

Address: Sheddon Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India (Formerly Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#5 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $60 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gem Park-Ooty 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Nilgiri Mountains, the hotel stands tall with all elegance and style. A contemporary structure with a traditional feel, Gem Park Ooty has kept itself well with the spirit of the beautiful and picturesque city. It is located in the heart of the town, minutes away from key tourist attractions and major shopping areas. With its convenient location and fine service, the hotel has aptly gained favor of all business and leisure travelers who throng the city throughout the year. The hotel welcomes you to a stunning beautifully done up lobby with impressive Indian art on the walls. It is the spotlessly attired staff, ever ready to do the most to make you comfortable that makes the stay an experience for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gem Park-Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Holiday Inn Ootacamund
Ootacamund Holiday Inn
Gem Park-Ooty India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing