We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gem Park-Ooty

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gem Park-Ooty
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

I got a good discount at cleartrip and the hotel was really a good stay for that cost. Rooms are very neat.prompt room service and you get hot water round the clock.Food menu was very expensive so didn't even try any food. Tea or milk cost Rs.130 but 100% worth, because they give four full cups for 1 portion tea or milk and its very good. Kids play options not so great. Gym average. Need to have car to commute to main bazaar.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Rajesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    233
    80
    35
    23
See reviews for
286
146
12
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

The hotel is very well located, with a great view from the rooms. It feels a bit outdated, as if it used to be great ten years ago. The restaurant is ok, but nothing special. The pool was closed for maintenance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasperwognum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

hotel is located perfectly with good valley view (from my room). Service was extremely good and food is also good with good options in veg as well as non-veg.
Hotel has lots of in-house activities like kids zone, table tennis, pool and other games. Has a small gym as well as a parlour/spa center. However, the swimming pool was under maintenance the time we were there but it was quite big.
Hotel has a well maintained park and open sitting area. Room was also very maintained with perfect lighting options and sitting area, one thing you expect at such a good hotel. Bathroom was also very good with nice fittings.
I found Gem Park satisfying keeping in view the prices charged.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the top (7th) floor with valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ankuritpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

This has been my regular place.Excellent hospitality and very calm place.good .i will still continue going to Gempark every time i am in ooty. This is a good chioce. Can spaek to Managers by Name Mr. Pradeep or Mr. Vinod WHO CAN BE OF ALL TIME HELP FOR YOU.

Room Tip: Higher Floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keshav28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

gem park ooty staff were really helpful. buffet was tasty and representative of indian local delicacies. I went during DIWALI and I enjoyed the fireworks immensely. rooms were a bit exposed; but all in all, good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the_ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed in Gem Park ooty in December and overall i liked the hotel. The only issue i faced was the delay during checkout and the bathroom leakage during my stay. The ambiance of the hotel is good and the sights from hotel is awesome....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SonySebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Ms. Sebastian,

Greetings from Gem Park Ooty!!!

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. I am pleased you liked the location. I was disappointed to read that some aspects did not meet your expectations. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.


Sincerely,

Vinod
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

My parents, Mr & Mrs Hasham stayed there for three nights, celebrated christmas eve and had one of their best time! Kudos to Mr. Vinod and his team for making their stay memorable. Great food, great ambience, great staff! WORTH IT!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mevarvany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Mr. Mohamed,

Greetings from Gem Park Ooty!!

Thank you for choosing and sending your parents to staying with us during X-Mas and your kind words about our staff. It is always nice to get a compliment.

I just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of cleanliness,service, food, and quality of its product.

We look forward to welcome you back at Gem Park Ooty in near future and we assure you of our best services at all times

Thank you
Vinod
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
1.8 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
0.8 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
0.7 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
1.0 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gem Park-Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Park-Ooty

Property: Gem Park-Ooty
Address: Sheddon Road, Ooty 643001, India (Formerly Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ooty
#2 Business Hotel in Ooty
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gem Park-Ooty 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Nilgiri Mountains, the hotel stands tall with all elegance and style. A contemporary structure with a traditional feel, Gem Park Ooty has kept itself well with the spirit of the beautiful and picturesque city. It is located in the heart of the town, minutes away from key tourist attractions and major shopping areas. With its convenient location and fine service, the hotel has aptly gained favor of all business and leisure travelers who throng the city throughout the year. The hotel welcomes you to a stunning beautifully done up lobby with impressive Indian art on the walls. It is the spotlessly attired staff, ever ready to do the most to make you comfortable that makes the stay an experience for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Gem Park-Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Holiday Inn Ootacamund
Ootacamund Holiday Inn
Gem Park-Ooty India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing