We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the view of the misty mountains and tea factory from the hotel terrace” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gem Park-Ooty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gem Park-Ooty
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved the view of the misty mountains and tea factory from the hotel terrace”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

gem park ooty staff were really helpful. buffet was tasty and representative of indian local delicacies. I went during DIWALI and I enjoyed the fireworks immensely. rooms were a bit exposed; but all in all, good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the_ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    244
    82
    35
    24
See reviews for
302
161
12
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed in Gem Park ooty in December and overall i liked the hotel. The only issue i faced was the delay during checkout and the bathroom leakage during my stay. The ambiance of the hotel is good and the sights from hotel is awesome....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SonySebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Ms. Sebastian,

Greetings from Gem Park Ooty!!!

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. I am pleased you liked the location. I was disappointed to read that some aspects did not meet your expectations. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.


Sincerely,

Vinod
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

My parents, Mr & Mrs Hasham stayed there for three nights, celebrated christmas eve and had one of their best time! Kudos to Mr. Vinod and his team for making their stay memorable. Great food, great ambience, great staff! WORTH IT!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mevarvany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Mr. Mohamed,

Greetings from Gem Park Ooty!!

Thank you for choosing and sending your parents to staying with us during X-Mas and your kind words about our staff. It is always nice to get a compliment.

I just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of cleanliness,service, food, and quality of its product.

We look forward to welcome you back at Gem Park Ooty in near future and we assure you of our best services at all times

Thank you
Vinod
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I must say a very good hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. I stayed between 16 and 19 Dec. My check inn was pretty smooth. Also very good spread out of food, good choice for both veg and non veg. All staff ready to help you to the best of their ability.
Couple of things I would suggest to Hotel management is:
1) Look into swimming pool to be temperature controlled on regular basis instead of only on Fridays
2) Since this Resort is a bit away from center of Ooty, would advice for some sort of transportation to be organized for in house guest on regular basis to town
3) A couple of more options for play area for children will be quite good
Over all, I am very pleased to stay at Gem Park and would highly recommend for anybody visiting Ooty.

Room Tip: All rooms have good view, but would recommend higher floor (preferably on 7th Floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank napar1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Napra,

Greetings from Gem Park Ooty!!

we thank you very much for staying with us and your kind words about our staff, which really encourages us to do better in days to come.

We have noted the suggestion you have mentioned about.

We look forward to welcome you back at Gem Park Ooty in near future and we assure you of our best services at all times.

Thank you
Vinod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

During our recent stay in Ooty, we thoroughly enjoyed at the Gem park very hospitable staff, good service , awesome food. The only improvement required is the games area and spa. Overall we had a lovely three days special mention to Mr Pradeep and Mr Vinod. Also Chandan the chef!

Room Tip: Deluxe suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhattjoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Mr. Joshi,

Greetings from Gem Park Ooty!

We thank you very much for your review/comment/feedback, which is really very encouraging and helpful.

We have noted the areas of improvement you have mentioned.

We look forward to welcome you back at Gem Park Ooty in near future and we assure you of our best services at all times.

Thank you
Vinod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalandhar, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Awesome food. After spending 10 days in tamilnadu I finaly got some north indian food as I was sick of sambar...
Very nice and comfortable rooms ..
Nice scenic beauty in and around property.
Staff was also very good and helpful.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ashishjalandhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Mr. Jalandhar,

Greetings from Gem Park Ooty

We thank you very much for your review and we are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you in future.

with best regards
Vinod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

I stayed in Gem Park from Dec 16 - Dec 19.
It is a perfect place to be in a holiday. The rooms were very good, better than expected and the service is also excellent.
The view of the mountains, greenery from room is amazing. Whole valley looks so surreal.
We got complimentary dessert in our room.
About the restaurant (Toda Cafe), it has all varieties of food and quality being good.
But the serving of bread is a lil bit late, so I advise you to order bread before you start your buffet.
There are starters, juices,milk, fruits, cakes adding to the food.
They can start a bon fire in the lawn but its a bit expensive.

Overall A very good experience for couple. A must go place for honeymoon/couples.

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the valley, on the top most floor. It gets very cold in the night, better h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skybvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Gem Park Ooty!

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on the service. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you very much for your review and comments.

We look forward to welcome you back at Gem Park Ooty .

With best regards
vinod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
0.8 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
1.8 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
1.0 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
2.0 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gem Park-Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Park-Ooty

Property: Gem Park-Ooty
Address: Sheddon Road, Ooty 643001, India (Formerly Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ooty
#3 Spa Hotel in Ooty
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gem Park-Ooty 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Nilgiri Mountains, the hotel stands tall with all elegance and style. A contemporary structure with a traditional feel, Gem Park Ooty has kept itself well with the spirit of the beautiful and picturesque city. It is located in the heart of the town, minutes away from key tourist attractions and major shopping areas. With its convenient location and fine service, the hotel has aptly gained favor of all business and leisure travelers who throng the city throughout the year. The hotel welcomes you to a stunning beautifully done up lobby with impressive Indian art on the walls. It is the spotlessly attired staff, ever ready to do the most to make you comfortable that makes the stay an experience for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Gem Park-Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Holiday Inn Ootacamund
Ootacamund Holiday Inn
Gem Park-Ooty India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing