We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel, with great views”
Review of Gem Park-Ooty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gem Park-Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here in March 2012 on a tour of Southern India. Check in was quite slow even though we were the only ones there (I always feel nervous about leaving my passport in anyone's possession and they insisted on it here.)

Room service was okay and food was fine (both room service and breakfast) but not top notch. Rooms are functional and clean, if not the best. The views from the rooms at the front of the hotel are spectacular, looking across the valley of Ooty.

Internet was an extra charge and was somewhat flakey and low speed! I complained at performance and was given another hour free of charge.

We had some minor issues with noise; there was very loud music coming from somewhere in the morning. We're early risers so it didn't wake us but it was annoying. I couldn't work out where it was coming from. It could have been another guest, somewhere in the hotel or even a house in the valley.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Mr. Neil,

Greetings from Gem Park Ooty!!!!


Thank you for your stay, and providing feedback. It is Gem Park's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip!

Thanking you,
Vinod
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (680)
There are newer reviews for Gem Park-Ooty
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 680 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our room was old and outdated. Luckily they changed but the toilet door was creaking and disturbing at night. No mini bar nor fridge in the room. No air conditioning nor heater in the room and had to request a heater on the first night. Toilet amenities were poor too, there were no hand towels or floor mats.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Pervin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Mr. Pervin,

Greetings from Gem Park ooty!!!!


Thank you for your recent stay, and providing feedback. It is Gem Park's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip!

thanking you,
vinod
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Upon arrival, we were warmly received. Our Room was ready, but on entrying, it had a old dusky smell. We booked the top of the range room, and this was not what I expected after that long drive from Mysore. I asked to be moved to something better - via the management and this was done immediately. Our second placement of the room was much better and cleaner. To my amazement, the suite next door was occupied by Tollywood Actor Surya and team.
My suite was clean, serviced daily with a change of linnen and towels. My stay was then amazing.
The food and restuarants was great, the staff was obliging and ready to help. They also suggested sightseeing points.
The location of the hotel is also great and central. The views are breath-taking. My stay in Ooty was amazing and will be remembered fondly, for years to come.
The Train trip up the mountain is a must. Ask your driver to leave you at the station, and pick you up at the station at the top, or take a return train back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharmsZn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Ms Charmaine,

Greetings from Gem Park Ooty!

We thank you very much for your feedback and encouraging comments, which really encourages us to do better in days to come.

We look forward to welcome you back in Ooty in near future and we assure you of our best services at all times.

with best regards
Vinod
Front Office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

After having experienced hospitality par excellence at Salem's "GRT hotel", Munnar's "Ambady Resort" and Coimbatore's "The Residency" we reached Ooty's "Hotel Gem Park" little knowing that we were about to experience our worst nightmare. We checked in at around 5:30 p.m. on the 10th January 2013. A little later we decided to go down to town, but were shocked to see that someone in the parking lot had tried to pull out our stereo system - they did not succeed but it left us shaken. Then on reversing, our car accidently hit their little fountain pond, and a few granite tiles fell out. This became an excellent opportunity for the hotel staff led by their devious duty manager Deepak 'to show their muscles'. They ordered their gates locked - surrounded us and did their best to make us feel like criminals, prey surrounded by hungry wolves, each determined to extract their pound of flesh. The damage to their property was not more than 3 or 4 thousand at the most. Many of the tiles were already broken and glued and joint at several places - but with us, nothing less than a full (intact) granite piece would do, so the extortionists demanded Rs.25,000/- from us. We are from Uttarakhand and they knew we were a long way from home, so the crooks did their best to intimidate us with their contacts local and state. They were not even a wee bit concerned that we went without dinner that night and without breakfast the next morning. All they cared was to extract as much from us as they possibly could. The next day we hired an advocate and were allowed to leave only after we had been cheated out of Rs.15,000/-. We finally left at 11 a.m. hungry and traumatized, hating Hotel Gem Park forever and hoping that their manager and duty manager rot in hell!
This is a warning to anyone reading this review and considering Gem Park for their stay at Ooty.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Gem Park's location, ambiance & food are good but the main aspect of a stay the room was terrible. Bed was hard, room had a rag which was smelly, broken plug points, rough flow of water in the match and just warm water in the shower were things which convinced us never to come back again. Wi-Fi can be detected but does not connect and TV also has limited channels mostly Tamil. Their speciality Chinese restaurant is worth a try

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Varun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Mr. Varun,

Greetings from Gem Park ooty!!!

Thank you for your review regarding your stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the accommodations you received. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Thank you
Vinod
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very old and rooms are stinky.
Offered wifi and it never worked.
IT guy came and changed many settings and it worked for 5 minutes and damn slow.
Bath rooms are leaky and terrible.
Good restaurants and good food.I stayed in this hotel around 10 years back and it was excellent that time.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank my fly trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Gem Park Ooty!!

Thank you for your review regarding your stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the accommodations you received. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Thank you
vinod
Front office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Gempark is located just outside the ooty town and that makes it an ideal place to stay...away but close......the cost though is not justified and many would book assuming its Holiday Inn group..but i guess when holiday inn sold the property ...the place stood frozen in time. Would have been a great maintained place at some point of time..but everything is just crumbling - be it furnitures, fixtures or doors.
Food and service is just okay. If one gets the place at a decent rate and if the place is only to sleep in the night...then worth checking .
Else there are better places to go....

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriyaIyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Priyaler,

Greetings from Gem Park Ooty!!!!

Thank you for your review regarding your stay . It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the accommodations you received. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Thank you
Vinod
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.9 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,030 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
519 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,003 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
802 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#12 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gem Park-Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Park-Ooty

Address: Sheddon Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India (Formerly Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#5 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $69 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gem Park-Ooty 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Nilgiri Mountains, the hotel stands tall with all elegance and style. A contemporary structure with a traditional feel, Gem Park Ooty has kept itself well with the spirit of the beautiful and picturesque city. It is located in the heart of the town, minutes away from key tourist attractions and major shopping areas. With its convenient location and fine service, the hotel has aptly gained favor of all business and leisure travelers who throng the city throughout the year. The hotel welcomes you to a stunning beautifully done up lobby with impressive Indian art on the walls. It is the spotlessly attired staff, ever ready to do the most to make you comfortable that makes the stay an experience for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gem Park-Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Holiday Inn Ootacamund
Ootacamund Holiday Inn
Gem Park-Ooty India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing