We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Family Trip with Kids to ooty - Gem Park Good with Remarks.”
Review of Gem Park-Ooty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gem Park-Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Location = Very Good
Price = Bit High
Food Price = Very Very High.
Include Brakefast = Good
View from My room = Very Good
Language English = Good
Location Near to Market = 1.5 km from Commercial Ooty Road.

When i asked them in such chilled / Cold that we are 6 people please lit up the fire camp which is kept at Garden , they asked me 1500 Rs More..i was surprised that it should be default available as its cold and just woods to lit up..

But i must agreed Location and View is amazing...!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Shailesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Mr. Shailesh,

Greetings from Gem Park Ooty!

We thank you very much for your feedback and encouraging comments, which really encourages us to do better in days to come.

We look forward to welcome you back to Gem Park Ooty in near future and we assure you of our best services at all times.

with best regards
Vinod
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 697 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

Here's the ordeal: Checked in at this crappy place with my parents after travelling to Munnar and on way back to Bangalore thought of staying at ooty to cut down the long journey. Booked a room on a travel portal, and checked in at 6PM. At around 7PM ordered for some ice cubes and was told that their ice machine is not functioning, well then how the hell was the ice being served at the in house bar?

After a few minutes though of checking out the Ooty town along with my folks so went to the parking and as soon as I entered my car realized that somebody has tried to pick up my car stereo. Thought of first taking the car out from the parking lot, and since I was tensed about the could be theft while reversing I hit the small pond they have on the drive way. The car got damaged and the tiles from the pond came off. One of the Night duty manager was called to inform him about the stereo and the damage toour properties. This guy Deepak in an inhabited state asked the security to close the gates. The hotel management then started harrasing my parents and myself! We told them that we will be going to the town while our luggage is in the hotel itself, they did not let us leave at all. While arguing with them, they said we cab leave after paying them 25,000 for the damage my car has caused to the pond. My father being an property evaluator himself concluded the damage to be not more than 4,000/- INR. But the duty manager DEEPAK and the GM of the hotel Khan, did not let us leave the premises. Next day we called upon an advocate and on seeing the attorney Khan started threatening us that he knows the DM and the police very well and he can also do a lot of things. We ended up paying Khan 15,000 bucks and they were not ready to listen to our story of the stereo being tried to be pulled of from inside the car.

To all the visitors: Please do check out other places in ooty before deciding on this one, as this place it seems is being run by Goons who threaten , extort and bully visitors. Only if you know Tamil language try this place, else these people will lech you at every given moment. Stay at your own RISK. BAD management , Worst Manager and one drunken Duty manager is not a good cocktail.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank aditbelw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I booked this hotel because I thought this is of The Holiday Inn group as told to me by my Travel agent. I am very disappointed by the service and the quality of rooms and food of the hotel. Also the staff not very polite. Visit at your own risk.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prashants123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Mr. Prashant,

Greetings from Gem Park Ooty!!

Thank you for your review regarding your stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the accommodations and service you received. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Thank you
vinod
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Staying at Gem Park was a nightmare. The staff was so unfriendly and disrespectful. Service is slow and they literally make you beg for things, make you feel like you are at their mercy. It was originally run by holiday inn, there must be a reason they pulled out of this property. I would say, try out other options before you even think of settling for this one.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Prachi M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Mr. Prachi,

Greetings from Gem park ooty!!!


Thank you for your review regarding your stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the accommodations you received. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.


Thank you
Vinod
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

It was overall good experience !This was a holiday inn earlier not now, but still I would recommend it for family travellers. The location is good, the view is good from almost all rooms. rooms are spacious, though the decor is old. The travel desk is really helpful,

Room Tip: All rooms face Vally hence good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hariom73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Mr. Hariom,

Greetings from Gem Park Ooty!!!

We thank you very much for your review and definitely it will help us to serve you better.

We are pleased to inform you that the hotel has be renovated with 20+ rooms and approximately 30+ rooms will very soon go under renovated with the all modern amenities.

We look forward to welcome you in future.

with best regards
Vinod Kumar
Front Office Mangaer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Let me start the positive! The view from the hotel is simply amazing! the garden area is lovely and indeed a great time pass.Food is good! Location is good!
The front desk needs to be more active. they take lot of time indeed!
The housekeeping team did not do the room when we returned back to the room! When I called up and enquirer about it, they had a lame excuse which was beyond my understating.
The bell desk took was called three times to take my luggage down at the reception area. Finally I did it on my own.
At the restaurant, the guys roaming around were little lost and I am not sure if they managed the guests properly.
The kind of money charged by these guys dos not match with the service indeed.

Room Tip: Take the room at level 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shubhrarahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Mr. Rahul,

Greetings from Gem Park ooty!!!

Thank you for your review regarding your stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the accommodations you received. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Thank you
Vinod
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This hotel probably was a holiday inn earlier. Now its not, but still I would recommend it for family travellers. The location is good, the view is nice from almost all rooms. The travel desk is really helpful, they helped me planning my trip to connoor and back in the toy train. The lunch/dinner buffet is okay of sorts nothing great about it. There is one chinese restaurant (I forgot the name) downstairs which is good.
It could be difficult to find the road to this hotel so you may need to call the hotel once to get it right, a few more sign boards could definitely help.
The rooms are big enough and comfortable. The sit out arrangement just besides the window is nice!!

Room Tip: I think all rooms are valley facing, but it will be good to confirm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vichavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Mr. Vichavan,

Thank you very much for your review and comments.

We look forward to welcome you back at Gem Park Ooty .

With best regards
Vinod
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#16 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
556 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#9 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,237 reviews
1.9 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,031 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
834 reviews
1 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#13 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gem Park-Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Park-Ooty

Address: Sheddon Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India (Formerly Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#5 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $56 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gem Park-Ooty 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Nilgiri Mountains, the hotel stands tall with all elegance and style. A contemporary structure with a traditional feel, Gem Park Ooty has kept itself well with the spirit of the beautiful and picturesque city. It is located in the heart of the town, minutes away from key tourist attractions and major shopping areas. With its convenient location and fine service, the hotel has aptly gained favor of all business and leisure travelers who throng the city throughout the year. The hotel welcomes you to a stunning beautifully done up lobby with impressive Indian art on the walls. It is the spotlessly attired staff, ever ready to do the most to make you comfortable that makes the stay an experience for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Gem Park-Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Holiday Inn Ootacamund
Ootacamund Holiday Inn
Gem Park-Ooty India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing