We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price paid”
Review of Gem Park-Ooty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gem Park-Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The rooms are large but very old. Someone forgot to tell them we live in 2012 not 1970. The fittings / electrical/ beds are all from the late 1970 era. Who care if Amitabh stayed here, what matters if value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
3  Thank JashubhaiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Mr. Jashubhai,

Greetings from Gem Park Ooty!!!

We thank you very much for your review and definitely it will help us to serve you better.

We are pleased to inform you that the hotel has be renovated with 25+ rooms and approximately 20+ rooms will very soon go under renovated with the all modern amenities.

We look forward to welcome you in future.

with best regards
Vinod
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 697 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

its my gud experience in ooty. . wre i'm d 1 who luv traveling & i was 1st tym 2 ooty. . but 2 b frank i luved ooty & i luved gem park holiday inn vry much. . specially bar service. . & d 1 named vivek who works in vally bar was vry FRIENDLY. .and help full 2 me. . in my travling experience i ave never met a person like him. .& s d room servies s k. . its my grt privilege 4 me 2 b in gem park and thanks 2 mr vivek

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karthi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Mr. Karthi,

Thank you very much for your review and comments.

We look forward to welcome you back at Gem Park Ooty .

With best regards
Vinod
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I shall say no more than this hotel was, by far, the best we have stayed in, in the Hill Stations in Tamil Nadu, service, food, facilities, perfect.
The staff were immensely helpful.
There were two restaurants which, while we were there, were not popular - but probably shgould have been since all served veg and non-veg, and as a westerner you could even get a G&T.
If there was any complaint, orders took quite a while to arrive and seemed to arrive in any sequence ... but a kind smile and a `this before that` to the waiter resolved the problems for the next sitting.

Room Tip: You will find all rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Mr. David,

Thank you very much for your review and comments.

We look forward to welcome you back at Gem Park Ooty .

With best regards
Vinod
Front office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

the service of the hotel was gud. the buffet breakfast was initially poor. when they asked for suggestions i have suggested for a better breakfast and they have arranged a gud breakfast the next day. overall worth the money and gud service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARMAAN75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Mr. Armaan,

Greetings from Gem Park Ooty!

We thank you very much for your review/comment/feedback, which is really very helpful.

We have noted the problem you have mentioned on service and the same has been rectified.

We look forward to welcome you back at Gem Park Ooty in near future and we assure you of our best services at all times.

Thank you
Vinod
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

There are no great hotels in Ooty. Ooty cries out for an Oberoi, a top-end Taj or an Ista, instead there is the Gem Park, which purports to be a Holiday Inn or the Taj (which calls itself the Savoy!) We plumped for Gem Park as it calls itself a Holiday Inn and has a pool. On both counts this would seem to be only a loose association.
The Gem Park is fine as an hotel. The room was good if tired, we paid a little more for a suite and had plenty of room and great views. Bits of the shower were falling off but the bed was clean.
The restaurant was patchy but on the whole fine, they could not poach an egg but the vegetable biriyani was very good. There is also a nice bar with an extensive and extended happy hour. Once the waiter from the adjoining Chinese restaurant had come in and taught the bartender how to mix a gin and tonic we were up and running. In fact we could not work out how the hotel would run without the Chinese waiter who seemed to be everywhere and do everything!
The main problem is the pool. DO NOT GO IN. I think it must be a health hazard. The pool has green water, a slimy green bottom and green furry steps to the ladder. There is only one ladder and it does not reach the bottom. The surrounding floor is dirty with peeling paint The plaster is coming off the walls and the roof looks suspect. The changing rooms are just old store rooms with rummage sale furniture and the showers down there did not work well. A whole tap section came off in my husband's hand! I repeat, do not go in. Best idea might be to level it and put up a marquee thing for weddings.
Yet, despite all this we had a good time and liked poor old Ooty.

Room Tip: Pay more for a suite, it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BridgetIna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Bridgetlna,

Greetings from Gem Park Ooty!!!

Thank you for your review regarding your stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Thank you
Vinod
Front office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

If there is a name to define customer maniacs in Ooty.. It has to be the team at Gem Park!

Right from check-in until you depart, its all about customer's convenience. Despite a load on both, check in and check out, I was out of the reception desk in less than 10 minutes. The awesome valley view, comfortable seating spaces, expansive lawns, climate controlled swimming pool, comfortable rooms - are what I had seen on the website while requesting the booking. But I was astonished by the level of commitment and service deliveries by each and every employee at the hotel. Responses to my email requests were prompt and crisp. All that I had requested was available when I arrived. Rooms were ready and promptly setup as desired.

Porter service is the best I have seen in recent times. Service at the restaurants was excellent too. Shekar & Magesh the two F&B managers are available all the time, you just have to look up from your plate and they are by your side to assist!! All this, while being non-intrusive and you are made to feel at home.

Highly recommended place for those who seek efficient service levels besides the great comfort and food on a holiday!!

Room Tip: The 7th floor.. any room... oversee the Ooty city valley and wake up to the sun shining from behind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dharam_mehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Mr. Mehta,

Thank you very much for your review and comments.

We look forward to welcome you back at Gem Park Ooty .

With best regards
Vinod
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel is good and has easy access to the town, we were greeted to a very refreshing cold lemon tea ( the best one i had ever tasted) and hot steam towel with sweet and friendly staff. the room was neat, clean, with all modern and essential stuffs, the room with a balcony with valley view was just great. the bed and pillows were very very soft and it felt very warm and cozy. The hotel has a discotheque ( which doesn't look like one in any angle :) ).
The lift door closes in a hurry, even the staff was clueless about it. Live music is played in the lobby and in the restaurant in the evening. The indoor swimming pool is good. parking in the basement wasn't a good experience. But overall a very clean and well maintained hotel, Good Value for money and special mention to Ms. Ranjitha for taking care of every bit of our stay.

Room Tip: valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank satishkuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Mr. Kuder,

Greetings from Gem Park Ooty!

We thank you very much for your review/comment/feedback, which is really very encouraging and helpful.

We have noted the problem you have mentioned with the elevator and the same has been rectified.

We look forward to welcome you back at Gem Park Ooty in near future and we assure you of our best services at all times.

Thank you
Vinod
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#16 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
556 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#9 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,237 reviews
1.9 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,031 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
834 reviews
1 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#13 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gem Park-Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Park-Ooty

Address: Sheddon Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India (Formerly Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#5 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $56 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gem Park-Ooty 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Nilgiri Mountains, the hotel stands tall with all elegance and style. A contemporary structure with a traditional feel, Gem Park Ooty has kept itself well with the spirit of the beautiful and picturesque city. It is located in the heart of the town, minutes away from key tourist attractions and major shopping areas. With its convenient location and fine service, the hotel has aptly gained favor of all business and leisure travelers who throng the city throughout the year. The hotel welcomes you to a stunning beautifully done up lobby with impressive Indian art on the walls. It is the spotlessly attired staff, ever ready to do the most to make you comfortable that makes the stay an experience for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Gem Park-Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Holiday Inn Ootacamund
Ootacamund Holiday Inn
Gem Park-Ooty India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing