We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean, cool and serene” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gem Park-Ooty

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gem Park-Ooty
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, cool and serene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed in 10 hotels across India and this was one of the best. Situated in a most famous southern hill station town at 2240m in the western Ghats.From your room you look either into the mists and fog or surreal beauty of a green oasis depending on what the day brings. Beautiful local food produced in the rich volcanic soils of the area is provided plus spacious rooms most with views. The Maharaja of Mysore's summer palace is near by which also offers accommodation but best for a visit for coffee or evening drink with a return to the absolute comfort of the Inn. Maybe the freshness of the cool mountain air after the rest of our stays has skewed our thinking but the cleanliness and quality of food is still remembered. The visit was in November and any later could result in 0 degrees C.

Room Tip: Some rooms are located a distance from the dinning room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griffo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    233
    80
    35
    23
See reviews for
286
146
12
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
217 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

Arrived after 9 hour drive from Cochin. The hotel is slightly out of town- you could not walk at night as very dark. However it affords fantastic views from its high position.The staff were polite rather than friendly. Bedroom had 2 queen beds and a lounge area with good views. Bathroom was adequate. Air con did not seem easy to adjust. We chose a la carte menu for dinner which was fine and am sure the buffet option would also have been good. The was a man playing a keyboard badly whilst we ate which was rather amusing! Breakfast was buffet and good choice. The outside of hotel looks worn. We did not use the indoor pool. Overall we had a comfortable night' stay but I think next time we would seek a more traditional hotel in town.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philosIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Just back from a stay at holiday inn. The stay was memorable with corteous staff and great service. Felt at home with great attitude from all the staff. The restaurant (Toda cafe) staff are very corteous and eager to help.

The only gripe i had was that the pace of room service and house keeping started slowing down on the second day, when more people were staying in the hotel on weekends. And the car parking priority was for the cabs and buses coming in with tourists, rather than for people staying.

The food was delicious, but sometimes reptitive menu. The valley views were good, but if the main windows opened, it would have a been a splendid experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junaidnavas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Good hotel for a business meeting. The service was excellent. The hotel staff were very cordial. The facilities could do with an upgrade though.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepakd07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn in Ooty. The location high on the hill provided fabulous views. The staff were friendly and efficient. The restaurant was good and the room was spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochin, Kerala, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Just came back from Ooty after a short stay at Holiday Inn. Just writing down my thoughts.

Welcome - Good, considering that there were smiling faces all around. Right from the gatekeeper to the front office. No welcome drink was served.

Room Prices - Got a fairly good deal,being a week day. Value for money.

Room decor and view. - Room decor is of a standard 3 star hotel. The view from the room was excellent. Old style TV ( though we did not watch the TV, some would prefer a good one). and the wooden flooring has started to show the age. Bed was a little hard for us.Needs improvement. They have given a sofa near the window which is really a good thinking.

Bathrooms - Were clean and has a bath tub. A hair dryer is in place. Toiletries were good enough. Bath towels were not of Holiday Inn standards.

Food and restaurant - Could not visit all the outlets. Just visited TODA. The food prices were very nominal except rotis and nans. A fairly large portion of Roganjosh was priced at about just 250 , whereas the rotis were priced at about 80 . The liquor was relatively cheap when compared to many hotels . A 60 ml measure of Glenfiddich single malt @ 800/- was a good deal. They need to change the menu. There were very less options and that too it was a photocopy. Doesn't go down well with a "Holiday Inn" tag.

Service - Being a week day with less occupancy, we got ample attention and care. The old hands were very jovial and helpful.

Overall , it is value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sajan_Cochin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Mr. Sajan,

Greetings from Gem Park ooty!

Thank you for staying with us and your kind words about our staff. It is always nice to get a compliment.

I just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I apologize that we fell below your expectations on certain amenities which will be looked into.


We look forward to welcome you back at Gem Park Ooty in near future and we assure you of our best services at all times.

thank you
Vinod
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
158 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Let me start with a note - We travelled on Christmas weekend so that migth be the reason for exobirant prices.

Review of the property - It is a good property with great views. It is not newly constructed but have been maintained well. It has indoor swimming pool & maintained garden area.

Rooms - large, clean with a view. We chose Kingsize value view, on 7th floor. It also had a sitout place with sofa to sip a cup of tea with the breathtaking valley view.

Food - Good but not extra-ordinary.

Overall, a nice property but pricey if you compare it to other equally good hotels. It could be the season..dont know.

If you can strike a good deal then its a value for money & worth visiting.

Room Tip: Choose valley view,we stayed in 708 & it had awesome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrachetaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
1.8 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
0.8 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
0.7 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
1.0 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gem Park-Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Park-Ooty

Property: Gem Park-Ooty
Address: Sheddon Road, Ooty 643001, India (Formerly Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ooty
#2 Spa Hotel in Ooty
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gem Park-Ooty 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Nilgiri Mountains, the hotel stands tall with all elegance and style. A contemporary structure with a traditional feel, Gem Park Ooty has kept itself well with the spirit of the beautiful and picturesque city. It is located in the heart of the town, minutes away from key tourist attractions and major shopping areas. With its convenient location and fine service, the hotel has aptly gained favor of all business and leisure travelers who throng the city throughout the year. The hotel welcomes you to a stunning beautifully done up lobby with impressive Indian art on the walls. It is the spotlessly attired staff, ever ready to do the most to make you comfortable that makes the stay an experience for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Gem Park-Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Holiday Inn Ootacamund
Ootacamund Holiday Inn
Gem Park-Ooty India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing