We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience yet again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Awesome experience yet again”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

If you want to stay in a room built in 1849, visit this place. The peace , charm , heritage added with Hospitality of Taj makes it an awesome place.
Each room feels like you are living the old 1800-1900's time's feeling. My room had a fireplace. Ooty gets very cold at night and the fireplace provided enough fire to keep the heat in my room. If I had enough money, I could have stayed there forever ;).
You could be disappointed though. The rooms are very small and not very impressive in the first look. After all it is 100 + years property and the standards of hotel were different in those time.
A nice bar with English name is located in the middle. You can try some spicy rum cocktail and nice food in cold weather. The garden view is great because the garden is quite big and there are many rabbits in a cage nearby to watch doing silly stuff.
The food is quite good. Try traditional stuff rather than international.
The only point I disliked is that the bar tender was pretty inexperienced. We paid a good money for a cocktail that he did not make that well. Not his fault though, he was just a trainee. I ask Taj to employ more experienced people to make it a better place. The employees are friendly and willing to help as ever.
If you love old world, be there. Don't worry about small issues.

Room Tip: Choose the room with Fireplace built in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooldude_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings for the day 

I thank you very much for your time to give a feedback about our hotel.

I am happy that you found our services to your liking including peace , charm , heritage added with Hospitality ,also the food . Also We also note that your experience in our bar is not up-to the expectations.We constantly strive to give our guest the best of the services . We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused in this regard.

I thank you once again for your time and the feedback & look forward to having you again at The Savoy Hotel Ooty

Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    353
    112
    30
    15
See reviews for
444
320
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

A very lovely place without much crowd. I happen to stay in this property on my trip with my friends to Ooty. Even though the reception and the restaurant/bar is smaller compared to the other Taj hotels I have stayed, the staffs still had that professional touch in them. We stayed for a night and I was amazed to find the cottage which was allotted to us. It was HUGE. In one corner there was a double bed and a coutch and on the other corner there was a fire place and a table. The rooms were having wooden floorings and was also neat and clean. Our cottage had a small open sitting lawn with a couple of chairs and surrounded with beautiful flowering plants. We really enjoyed the stay and the service we got was up to the standard of Taj. In the evening we were a little discomfortable with the small bar when the service person said he will serve our drinks in the restaurant. We had steak and wine which was so delicious that we called up the Chef to convey our gratitudes. While we were about to retire to our beds, an elderly housekeeping person came to our room to help us with lighting the fire place. We had a very amazing stay. The things I noted was even though the receptions and bar was small, they really maintained it well. And the staffs were very friendly and also had a professional way of doing things. Keep it up guys!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joejoshua1442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for the positive feedback which you have given.

Your positive comments have been shared with the team & this will go a long way in ensuring that we meet the expectations of our guests. Guest feedback is invaluable as it helps to continually improve our guest satisfaction. I thank you very much for the positive feedback given by you and this will definitely encourage my team to perform even better.

Do come back to The Savoy hotel Ooty for your next holidays. Looking forward to see you soon.

Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I must say that I had lots of expectations from Savoy. So on the first day I was disappointed because the rooms weren't as great as I pictured it to be. But then everything got better as I stayed. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I've ever had. Must thank the chef. I forgot his name. I remember he is from Kerala and he was very friendly. He made sure that we got crispy dosa after we complained. But then the dinner is horrible. We had pasta and pizza. It was very stale. So it's better to visit other places for dinner. The hotel service is pretty good but the only downfall is that there is no free wifi. I mean I felt that was a necessity for the guests. Coming to the rooms, well I can't say it was great. We stayed in the superior rooms. It was a very normal room, nothing special. The only problem was that the flooring made a lot of noise upon being walked. So it was very disturbing. Other than all this, the hotel is pretty good. The Ayurvedic massage is amazing. There is also a well equipped gym. Overall, the experience was good.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naseeha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time and posting your detailed review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We have noticed your positive feed back regarding the dining hall B/Fast & Ayurvedic experience. We had shared this message with our chef Mr.Joseph and he will be duly recognized for his services.

Also I regret to note about the inconvenience caused to you with regards to your expectations are not met in the rooms also in the Pizza. Your feedback is really important for us and I have personally shared the same with my team to ensure corrective action.

It is feedback from esteemed guests like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

Please do let us know whenever you travel to Ooty next, it will be my pleasure to have you back again. I request you to please give us another opportunity to serve you. The team and I shall ensure that your experience will be vastly different. Please write to us at savoy.ooty@tajhotels.com if you visit Ooty again.

We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to The Savoy Hotel Ooty.

Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Dating back to the 1830s, this is one hotel you must experience for the colonial charm and the exquisite landscaped gardens! Spend your evenings reading by the fireplace or laze away your afternoons in the sun and eat heavenly meals in the old dining hall.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samra1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Samra,


I thank you very much for the positive feedback which you have given.

We are happy to note that you have enjoyed our colonial charm exquisite landscaped gardens! Your positive comments have been shared with the team & this will go a long way in ensuring that we meet the expectations of our guests. Guest feedback is invaluable as it helps to continually improve our guest satisfaction. I thank you very much for the positive feedback given by you and this will definitely encourage my team to perform even better.

Do come back to The Savoy hotel Ooty for your next holidays. Looking forward to see you soon.


Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

i stayed there in jan 2014 wit my wife n its the most beautiful property in ooty i hv seen ,,,staff is very good wit good nature ,always ready to help,,,bbf was excellent ,,hygene is maintained n the best part of the room is the fire place in the room...just loved it..thanx for beautiful experience on my honeymoon trip

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linusrodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Rodrigues,

Greetings for the day !!!!

I thank you very much for your time to give a positive feedback about our hotel.

I am happy that you found our services to your liking especially our hotel fire places. We constantly strive to give our guest the best of the services and such positive feedback encourages us to do even better.

I thank you once again for your time and the feedback & look forward to having you again at The Savoy Hotel Ooty.

Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed in the 2-bedroom suite (Sunnyside 308) which has 1 bathroom only (slightly tricky in the mornings). Ooty was wet through out our stay but we bared the weather and ventured out.

Positives -
1. Taj property - so you can expect decent class in it.
2. Away from the madness of the Ooty town - quite in the nights.
3. Colonial style - though a bit rundown
4. Fireplace was a great idea .. kept the rooms warm. Complemented the electric heaters well.
5. Decent sleep quality in the twin bed room (kids used it)
6. Great breakfast spread - good mix of continental and Indian breakfast.
7. Pony ride inside the campus - my son loved it and went on the horse all 3 days. 100 rupees per long ride - worth it.

Negatives -
1. A bit rundown rooms - can be better maintained. The sofas & chairs look old & I could feel the springs in the double bed. I had to sleep in the twin bed one night due to my backache from the double bed
2. Lunch & dinner in the restaurant are not great. If you are a foodie like me, you won't appreciate the food here. Quite unlike Taj but I guess this is a perennial problem as you see from other reviews here.
3. We ordered pasta for the kids and told them to make it bland. They made it spicy & kids could not eat it. They took it back and did not return for 20 minutes. They brought it to the room later but spicy still. I complained to the reception & the F&B manager (Avinash) called me immediately to apologize. He came across as a service oriented person & reversed the charges for this item - good gesture.
4. 1 bathroom for 2 bedrooms is not sufficient. A bathtub would have added more glamour ... @10,000 INR a night, this is something that would make guests feel good. Shower area needs a good scrub - we could see black mold buildup in the corners.
5. Room service bit slow for everything - ask them for anything & they needed 1 more reminder on most occasions
6 Wifi is not free - INR 660 per day. Taj should look at providing this free to the guests.

Rating - 3.5 / 5

Visit again ? I don't mind if they fix the rooms a bit more and change the kitchen staff :-)

Room Tip: Lawn facing rooms are a better option
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sriluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings for the day IIII

Thank you very much for posting your experience at The Savoy Hotel Ooty on Trip Advisor and for appreciating our hotel

The team and I are delighted to read your positive review of our product, colonial style, Fire place, B/Fast and facilities like pony ride in our hotel.

Also I regret to note about the inconvenience caused to you with regards to your stay as the sofas and the chairs are very old. Food and pastas were not up to your expectations also black mold buildup in the corners of the bathroom in the corners . Your feedback is really important for us and I have personally shared the same with my team to ensure corrective action

Thank you once again for your recognition and we hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel. Please feel free to write to us as savoy.ooty@tajhotels.com if you visit Ooty again. We will be glad to have you once again with us

Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, Assam, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Heritage property no doubt, but sadly has seen its best days. For people sentimental about colonial style this property is apt. The service and food lived up to the Taj expectations. Do not expect the spic n span of newer Taj properties.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikramrajkonwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Mr.Konwar,

Greetings for the day !!!!

Thank you very much for posting your experience at The Savoy Hotel Ooty on Trip Advisor and for appreciating our hotel

The team and I are delighted to read your positive review of our product, food and facilities.

Thank you once again for your recognition and we hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel. Please feel free to write to us as savoy.ooty@tajhotels.com if you visit Ooty again. We will be glad to have you once again with us.

Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
2.6 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
1.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
1.7 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
1.9 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
0.8 mi away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 82 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty

Property: Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Address: 77 Sylks Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ooty
#3 Business Hotel in Ooty
#4 Family Hotel in Ooty
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensconced high on a rising hill, the Savoy Hotel sprawls over six acres of landscaped gardens, offering colonial style cottages that were built between 1834-1865. Colorful flowerbeds merge to form a multi-coloured quilt around the cottages, adding to their gentle refinement and old English Charm. A quiet retreat, the Savoy Hotel offers a little pocket of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Ootacamund
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing