We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taj Should Be Ashamed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I have been just appalled at the poor quality of this hotel. Everything is run-down and dirty. Sure, it is a "heritage" property, but that is no excuse for dirty floors and baseboards, mattresses that look like they came from colonial times, very poor food quality, and staff who struggle with English.

This is simply not worthy of Taj, and I am really disappointed in them as a company for putting this terrible hotel as one of their's. I had to spend two itchy, stressful nights here, and I couldn't wait to leave. Such a tragic property!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChiGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us & we do appreciate you taking time to share the feedback about your recent stay with us.

Your feedback is very important to us. It is this feedback from guest which helps us in identifying on our weaknesses & working upon them. I have shared your feedback with the housekeeping and other concerned departments. We have noted all your observations seriously and have taken appropriate actions to ensure that the same does not occur in the future. We hope you look at these incidents as a case in isolation and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

We value your patronage and we thank you once again for your feedback.

Warm Regards
P Vibhakar
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,012)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

701 - 707 of 1,012 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a Taj hotel in the Nilgiris. It is located a little away from the crowded part of the city. Yet is quite centrally located. It has an old world charm about it and yet has all modern amenities.The food is great with a lot of variety.The live music being played in the dining hall was superb where one could also request a song to be played for a loved one. There was ample parking, well planned. The service was good, informal & warm. The garden was well kept not to forget the housie programme every evening alongwith other games for children.Overall it was a pleasant and memorable stay.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms are beter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saiusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

I thank you for your time & posting a review about your stay on Trip Advisor

I am happy you found our services excellent. The entire team is happy to get such a motivating feedback from you, which I am certain, will help us to strive even further for excellence.

I thank you once again for your time & look forward to having you once again at The Savoy Hotel Ooty.

Warm Regards
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Ooty is known as Queen of Hills station and has an Aesthetics charm in her.Savoy Hotel situated in Ooty has its own history and asthetic value with excellent ambience around.Especially the second season of ooty(Sept-Nov)is a lovely period to stay and relax with your family.TAJ Hotels are always showering their hospitality in abundance and the BAR in Savoy is very unique.Really the stay in TAJ-Savoy is an experience to be cherished always.
Especially the walk in the late evening on the green lawns with a peg of scotch will be a good experience.
Stay in Savoy & enjoy the asthetic value of TAJ-Savoy for the value of money.
Best wishes
Bala

Room Tip: Prefer to stayin the cottages (South side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bala1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear MR. Bala,

We thank you for taking your time to give such a positive feedback for our hotel.

I am happy you found our services excellent. The entire team is happy to get such a motivating feedback form you, which I am certain, will help us to strive even further for excellence.

I thank you once again for your time & look forward to having you once again at The Savoy Hotel Ooty.

Warm Regards
P Vibhakar
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

When we look out for staying with family we do keep certain things in our mind like safety, environment etc.i found good property in that respect .ialso got upgrade as well.but food act as damper .they need to concentrate on food as well.

Room Tip: Rooms with valley view are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deepakdexit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Mr. Deepak,

I thank you for posting a review of your stay with Savoy Hotel Ooty on Trip Advisor.

Your feedback has been shared across the team, and they are glad to know that you found the services to your liking. Such feedback constantly motivates us on the path towards guest satisfaction. The feedback which you have given about the food has been shared with the kitchen team, and we have taken corrective steps for the same.

I thank you once again for your time & look forward to having you once again at The Savoy Hotel Ooty

P Vibhakar
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is one of gthe hotels with its own enchantic view of the Old Raj days.
The lawns are well laid out with distincitive view of the Blue hills. AS one enters this hotel , he goes back to the Raj days when India was ruled by the British.
The well laid out parking areas and the entrance to these, makes one feel he is in Britain or a town in England.
The Rooms are magnificient , and well laid out. There is a fire place and old ornaments including the rugs makes one feel he is in a Royal Palace of Ancient India.
The ambience and the crown in the Resturants, makes one feel that this Royal Place is meant for Kings for which he is a guest. The corridors and the style of the Servers/bearers/bar men, looks like a real English evening , witht he ladies staking their claim to the chairs at the bar for a drink.
The coll/chill winter makes one nostalegic of how he would face the cold.
The warmth in the room make him ease and he is with with his beloved, enchanting onthe decision he has made to spend a warm nihgt with his love.
Enjoy one stay inthis magnificent proiperty and you life dream comes true.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 557Crownprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking your out your time and posting the review of your stay at Savoy Hotel Ooty

I am happy you found our services excellent. The entire team is happy to get such a motivating feedback from you, which I am certain, will help us to strive even further for excellence. The gardening team is especially delighted to know that you liked the way the lawn was maintained

I thank you once again for your time & look forward to having you once again at The Savoy Hotel Ooty.

P Vibhakar
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Savoy Hotel part of the famous Taj Group as the name suggests is remeniscent of an era gone by. It is a quaint hotel nestled in the Nilgiri Hills in Ooty English Style Cottages with real fireplaces. The Dining Room and Bar have wood panelling and ambience of a British Pub. The food is above averge and service warm and friendly. Ideal destination for those on Honey Moon or for a lovely refreshing relaxed time.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

I thank you very much for the time taken to post your feedback regardig your stay at The Savoy Hotel Ooty

Your positive comments have been shared with the team & this will go a long way in ensuring that we meet the expectations of our guests. Guest feedback is invaluable as it helps to continually improve our guest satisfaction. I thank you very much for the positive feedback given by you and this will definitely encourage my team to perform even better.

Do come back to The Savoy hotel Ooty for your next holidays.

Warm Regards
P Vibhakar
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is the Savoy Hotel in Ooty, not a Taj copycat.
For a 150 year old building it is in remarkable condition, a clean well maintained hotel.
The staff are courteous and well trained, with some even stopping for a game of Carrom if you wish.
The restaurant has a warm feel to it and the food is very good, the service can be a bit slow though.
The high ceilings, wooden beams and open fire took me back to an era gone by with wifi, satellite tv, air con and modern bathroom.
An oasis in Ooty.

Room Tip: An exec suite has a huge living room with open fire, a big double bedroom, a dressing room the size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Mr. Gerard,

I thank you for sparing your time and posting feedback about your stay in Savoy Hotel Ooty

Your feedback has been shared among all the team, and they are delighted to know that you found the services to your liking. We constantly strive to give our guest the best of the services and such positive feedback encourages us to do even better. We have noted the feedback about the slow service & taken corrective steps for the same.

I thank you once again for your time and the feedback & look forward to having you again at The Savoy Hotel Ooty

P Vibhakar
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
2.6 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,043 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#18 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
528 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
816 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#12 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
501 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty

Address: 77 Sylks Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#3 Business Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#4 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $91 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensconced high on a rising hill, the Savoy Hotel sprawls over six acres of landscaped gardens, offering colonial style cottages that were built between 1834-1865. Colorful flowerbeds merge to form a multi-coloured quilt around the cottages, adding to their gentle refinement and old English Charm. A quiet retreat, the Savoy Hotel offers a little pocket of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Ootacamund
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing