We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd prefer pay a little more for superior room rather than standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have stayed two nights at Savoy. The first nite is superior room and second nite is standard room. The price of superior room and standard is not that big different but the room condition of superior, particularly the washroom, is much better than standard room. And the garden of superior room is definetely the highlight - we enjoyed sunlight an outdoor breakfast on the lovely grasses. It is a very nice place to get rid of hustle and bustle daily life. The worst about the hotel... wifi is not free and the price is really high! It doesn't worth to pay such a high inernet fee for that poor connection.

Room Tip: Superior room and the garden is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,025)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

795 - 801 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

We went to this hotel on the reccomendation by my friend, the first impression about this hotel is wow, very big lawn, beautiful landscape and large sized rooms with all amenities, and a very good service also. But what's the downer about this hotel is its food.... It's not upto the standard or very much below par, it's not the "TAJ" way. It was horrible bad in taste and quality, even service in dining area was not good.
Though there food and beverages manager Mr. Amit did his best to give us the best menu possible but still food was bad and not in good taste. Don't take meal plan with this hotel, there are lots of good options available in ooty like kings cliff and others for food. Take in CP plan

Room Tip: Room no 110 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zukenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Excellent property with huge rooms and very clean beds and bathrooms. We chose the garden view rooms which was nice since the gardens were well maintained. They had cycles throughout the property that the guests can use to go between the rooms and the dining rooms etc. There was a guy who was standing with a pony that we got to ride on..

The room service was good. They had staffs to help us with our luggage; they served fruits in the room and somebody came by to make sure we are okay. They lit up the fire place at night which was good since it was cold in the night even in July!

The reception was okay.. I have been to other 5 star properties where they give you a grand welcome and make you feel special from the time you enter.. I didn’t get that feel here. They welcomed us with a hot herbal tea; but the service could have been better.. The food in the dining room was good.

Price wise – the room price and dining room price - I thought was reasonable for the five star hotel.. The one thing I thought was overpriced – water in the dining room. Aquafina was Rs.75 when you get the same bottle for around 20 outside.. After the first bottle, we bought our bottles from outside.

Unfortunately, We didn’t enjoy any other service from the hotel since we were out most of the time sightseeing. The second day, we took a day trip to Pykara and Mudumalai. Just in case we wouldn’t find any food, We packed some curd rice for lunch through the hotel. They immediately packed some rice and some pickles and extra curd just in case in a nice bag. It was great since we didn’t get any good food on our way.

So I would highly recommend packing proper food from the hotel itself if you are taking a day trip. I would have packed full lunch had I known this before.

Overall, I liked the clean room, bed and the bathroom and for that I will consider visiting this place again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelloWorldTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I did chose this hotel for the trip for the reasons 1) tag of TAJ, 2) 200+ reviews and 3) to enjoy the stay @ a heritage place.

The property is very well maintained. Savoy made it very well in providing the heritage stay feeling and Taj made it sure the guests do not face the bad part of a heritage stay.

Taj Savoy got few great lawns and gardens which made us hang around the hotel instead of going out for sight seeings.

The services during check in, check out and room services are bit slow.

The in-restaurant service was very good.

Machinery in GYN were in good condition but a small place.

Kids play area / room / facilities need improvement.

But its worth a visit...

Room Tip: Look for a lawn facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gkvinodnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The introduction was ominous. The price we committed to pay was higher than what was advertised on the hotel website. Next, while checking us in, the staff at the reception tried to palm-off rooms that were in a tier lower than what we had booked (Superior Garden-facing Rooms). Probably the first and the second are interconnected, and both were settled satisfactorily. But after these two hiccups the rest of the stay was smooth and relaxing. The hotel is 180 years old but our room (with bathroom and anteroom) was modern, well appointed and spacious. And the lawns – the hotel lawns are just fabulous. These are huge and very well maintained. The equipments in the lawn kept children busy. Adults could read a book and bask in the sun (when it is not drizzling). The food, however, needs significant improvement, especially since there are no decent alternatives in the vicinity of the hotel. Except breakfast (it is too early in the morning) avoid all meals.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in 300-series.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aalochak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The resort is well maintained with beautiful landscaping. The positives include well trained staff with a very friendly attitude and sheer professionalism in every aspect. We travelled with a 15 months old kid and staff did everything possible to make us confortable, from high chairs,baby cots, custom made rotis for the kid and so on. They even offered to make custom baby food. We took the executive suite room and they are really huge. Ooty city was very crowded and we didnot go out much. It was worth staying inside the resort and it was really worth the long 300kms journey.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lijosusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Taj Savoy Hotel, is an Heritage hotel in Ooty. The hotel has great landscape gardens. Nice place to relax in Ooty. The bonfire in the evening is was extremely good. The rooms are also really nice. The food was excellent, the service was good. The staff was very friendly. I would like to visit the place with my family next time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Akshay-Baviskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
2.6 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,065 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
547 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
828 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#12 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
506 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty

Address: 77 Sylks Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#3 Business Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#4 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $94 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensconced high on a rising hill, the Savoy Hotel sprawls over six acres of landscaped gardens, offering colonial style cottages that were built between 1834-1865. Colorful flowerbeds merge to form a multi-coloured quilt around the cottages, adding to their gentle refinement and old English Charm. A quiet retreat, the Savoy Hotel offers a little pocket of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Ootacamund
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing