We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque Stay !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This was our first visit to Ooty as a couple, we wanted to make it memorable and after doing a bit of research zeroed in on Taj- Savoy. The hotel stands up to its 'TAJ' tag-line, the room was very neat, pretty large, clean bath rooms, excellent service, great food and very secure. Its not far from city and provides a perfect environment for you to relax and get some peace of mind from the hustle bustle of our city life. Hotel provides nice scenery and an ambiance for some captivating memories. We arrived here at 07:00 AM on Saturday, though the check in time is at 12:00 Noon we had requested for an early check-in, they agreed to provide us as per availability, luckily for us the hotel manager was very polite and give us a room so early. We were in a package with complimentary breakfast and it was very lavish, they arranged a cab for us for Ooty sight seeing and the price was a few hundreds more than outsiders, the car was also clean and driver was very good, he know english very well and was very friendly. Lastly they also arranged for an Auto rickshaw for our way back to the bus stand. Overall it was a fantastic experience in Taj -Savoy, we stayed there for 2 nights and throughly enjoyed our trip.. am sure we will return back soon ..:))

Room Tip: Ask for room with garden view or on the front side. The cab service for sight seeing are well priced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bari_Kokani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,025)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

865 - 871 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2011

If you like thick stone walls, cosy fireplace, tiled roof, gardens when you step out of the room, this place is it. Very charming hotel, stayed many times here before. When making a reservation, ask them for room is the front of the hotel, the rooms in the back are not great. The food is ok, not very good, manageable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank k79_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Location slightly secluded and overlooking the city. It is good as it ensures some quiet time at the property. Cottages are well maintained and are a treat to stay in. The construction is colonial style, dating back to the 1840s, but reasonably well maintained. Had a fireplace lit up in the room in the evening. Was a good experience as it was cool and rainy outside.
Breakfast is good. Had some good samplings of variants of Dosa there. Chefs took personal care during breakfast.
Overall very good place and lovely experience.

Room Tip: Book a taxi to go around the city in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ode_to_Joy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I had travelled to Ooty with family (wife and one daughter) on 15.08.2011 and stayed at Savoy Hotel, Ooty from 15.08.2011 to 18.08.2011 Room No 305, called Superior Room.
My impressions:
Terrific place to stay with gardens and sit-outs in front of the cottages.
Provision for lighting fire in the rooms itself along with room heater.
Good housekeeping.
Okay food, though we had food only on the day of our landing there (15.08.2011). The taste of the food was not to our liking, and we adjourned to Nahar Heritage Hotel at Commercial Street (near Charing Cross) which has a excellent vegetarian dining room (though parking is a problem at times) for all our food needs.
The Savoy is said to be of Taj Group, but the evidence is too little. Bathroom does not even have a tooth brush, shaving cream or shampoo, or a hair drier.
Facilities for drivers is too little and too congested. Parking facilities appear to be short.
Still, on the whole, a good hotel to put up our feet for a few days and relax.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vselvarajfca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

This is an absolute gem of a hotel tucked away in the hill fort town of Ooty (a few hours drive from Bangalore).

We arrivede in Ooty late one evening and didn't have a hotel arranged. Having gone round a few which would put the Bates Motel to shame, we finally decided to Google the poshest hotel in town, which turned out to be the Savoy.

Much to our surprise the prices were very reasonable, especially if you booked the Deluxe Suite (which can fit four people in two bedrooms, both with en-suite, plus a separate lounge area). The rooms are plush and luxurious with thick carpet and real fires which the staff will light for you on request. The building itself is an old Colonial mansion built in about 1830 and simply oozes character.

The restaurant served some of the nicest food I've had on this trip so far - it's the first place where I would have felt comfortable ordering absolutely anything on the menu. Service was pretty quick and all the staff were really friendly and helpful, especially given the late hour we showed up.

All in all I'd love to go back and spend more than a single night there!

Room Tip: Consider the deluxe suite if there are three or four of you - it's great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

A wonderfully cozy place with good food in a lovely old dining room and very comfrtable rooms complete with fireplace. The best thing about the hotel is the staff who are very helpful at assisting with travel arrangements. Rather wet in July but that's not their fault!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OxonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

The Savoy Ooty is a well known address in this famous hill station. While Ooty tends to get over crowded during season time, the Savoy has maintained its charm. I went there with family in May 2011 and was overrall satisfied by the experience. The staff are excellent and the facilities more than adequate. I enjoyed dining in the old dining room which has maintained its charm over the years.

Room Tip: Try getting a room near the dining area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KD_loves_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
2.6 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,065 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#18 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
546 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
828 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#12 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
506 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty

Address: 77 Sylks Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#3 Business Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#4 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $94 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensconced high on a rising hill, the Savoy Hotel sprawls over six acres of landscaped gardens, offering colonial style cottages that were built between 1834-1865. Colorful flowerbeds merge to form a multi-coloured quilt around the cottages, adding to their gentle refinement and old English Charm. A quiet retreat, the Savoy Hotel offers a little pocket of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Ootacamund
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing