We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Hi , I was at Fernhill for 3 nights 25th may to 27th may. My experience was pure awesome, my wife and kid loved it.Beautiful location. Supportive staff. It rained one evening and it was like icing on the cake. I would like to mention Mr. Dominic who helped us in every way he could. Mr karthik was supportive too and Mr. Bala from the room service. I would also like to mention my good friend Mr Anil without whom this trip would have been impossible. Love you Anil.
My phone no. 0988 179 05 06

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osprashant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    468
    128
    47
    66
See reviews for
712
244
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We a group of 30 family members visited this resort from 25th june to 29th and Mr Dominic gave us wonderful service the resort is very good nice rooms nice cousine at the fern restaurant and a great place for relaxation a place away from hectic busy city traffic it's calm quite and very picturesque.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Satish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2014

hi,am Anil from bangalore.i stayed in fern hill for 3 nights i.e. from 25th may to 28th may..my voucher number being 003 284480.i stayed there with my family and my friend from pune.To be honest i would say i stayed there for best days of my life...amazing experience..thanx to mr.DOMINIC..This guy was amazing....truly..very friendly,very honest..The ambience was extra ordinary,,very beautiful cleaned and spacious rooms and most importantly clean rooms.their service was worth being applauded..beautiful sceinc views...food is bit expensive,but worth trying ..Thanx to MR.DOMINIC,i would surely suggest this resort to all,,Any quiries pls call me on 9845289600..cheers..ANIL JAIN..

Room Tip: ROOM NOS 1709....amazing view...its 1 BR..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aniljain2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2014

It was pleasant and memorable trip. We stayed for three days and we felt as if we are at home. First day in reception Mr.Vinoth and Mrs.Malini, who received us with humble greetings. Mr.Senthil Bellan sir was very gentle who allocated the best room, which was perfect, excellant,neat , clean and equiped with microwave,coffee maker,room heater. We didn't had any discomfort during our stay,because Resort was quiet ,very good lawns,well maintained garden ,kids zone and tasty food . Especially Mr.Balakumar (emp code:050094) house keeping incharge has showed perfect hospitality,he has rendered his best service at all time, he has very good quality of servicing the guest with ever smiling face and pleasing them with his creative ideas ( like idol making with towels, goodnight message in leaf and flower).At all time,we had very good services in sterling resort. Good team and excellant service and well maintainence. Try to maintain the same for ever.
Regards
K.Bhuvaneswari

Room Tip: Rooms near the generator rooms are covering the locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhuvanamadhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
292 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Was pleasant ... somewhat far from the town ... on a hilly area ... good atmosphere ... pleasant and cool ... really enjoyed to be there as was silent and created a good mood ... room service is ok ... dont expect hi-fi facilities ... good to stay can recommend ...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHNAIR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The only thing going for this place was the splendid climate in Ooty. Everything else about this hotel has left me scarred for life. On the second day of our stay at Sterling Fern Hill, as far as I know, around FIFTY people suffered from varying levels of food poisoning and atleast forty of them had to be rushed to the hospital for emergency medical attention. This incident marred the rest of my holiday and we were unable to enjoy sight seeing due to falling ill and were too afraid to consume food at our next stop which was another Sterling property in Kodai.
The quality of rooms in the old wing are awful and it shouldn't even be given out to anybody. The premises smell of sewage water. Housekeeping staff were very rude. Room service is awfully slow and they refused to serve tea in room service before 7.30 am. The battery operated car service is useless.
Please be very careful if you have a holiday booked here. It ruined my entire summer vacation and my entire experience of Ooty, which otherwise is a magnificent town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Alisha1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

When we checked in the room assigned was bad, we had requested for change the room. Once the room was shifted entire experience was good and enjoyed the stay. Rooms are big and good to stay with Family. All the rooms has Kitchen, Dining Table, Mini Fridge, Microwave oven, Coffee Maker, Big bathrooms with Hair Drier. Enjoyed the buffet breakfast which has multiple items and options. Food is excellent and tasty.

Room Tip: Good Location, supportive staff and services. Upper rooms has good City view and Lower Rooms are coo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karthikus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
3.0 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
997 reviews
1.7 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
973 reviews
1.7 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
500 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#12 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holi...
#4 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: 73 Kundah House Road | Fern Hill, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643 004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched at one of the highest points in Ooty, this resort has an amazing view of the Nilgiris. Sterling Holidays Fern Hill is set in an alluring scenic location, surrounded on all sides by the ethereal beauty of the Nilgiri Hills. The resort’s sloping roofs and terracotta tiles are reminiscent of the quaint charm of a bygone era. With a heady mix of comfort and tranquility, spending time within the resort is as attractive an option as venturing into the idyllic mountainside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Fernhill Hotel Ootacamund
Sterling Resorts Ooty
Days Inn Fernhill
Days Inn Ootacamund
Sterling Resort Ooty
Ootacamund Days Inn
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing