We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed here for 3 days

It was south zone meeting with 90 + group

the property is beat away from central Point but have beautiful landscape garden

food is awsome and testy

service and rooms are Okay as resorts have common

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ngururwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

797 - 803 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

Gorgeous and beautiful hotel cum resort located 5 km from main town of OOty on a wonderful location the Fern hill. Extremely polite and courteous staff to welcome and guide us. They were very helpful, The superior room was no less luxurious than the 5 start marvel at mumbai Rennaissance but actually bigger and with a large balcony overlooking the front side. . Sterling has tried to cut on toiletries although other amenities like a coffee maker a Fridge and a locker are available. The linen is just clean and crisp. Breakfast is great and sumptuous with a South Indian bias (We liked the Idlis Vadas, Dosas and ....every thing)
We had all our lunches in the ;city on all days and had light food at night in the hotel which was alright.
ONly drawback is that the travel desk is not offering off season tour options. auto rickshaws charge Rs 120/- to ply from OOty bus stand to the hotel resort throughthe difficult hilly road. Those witha penchant for waliking can take a not so frequesnt bus from near the Market to the fernhill cross , a point abour 700 mtrs from the hotel.
Over all it was a memorable experience thanks to Travelguru with one of the best ever discount package.

Room Tip: 1. ask for a first floor room - they have a balcony and a good view too 2. take your vehicle to ply...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jairama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

My wife and I were looking for a good option for a honeymoon to use a week long RCI certificate gifted to us. It was the good reviews about Fern Hill that drew our attention to it. We got in touch with the resort and were connected to Janet. From the first conversation with her, we assured of a very good stay. Taking confidence in her words we booked this resort.
The moment we reached the resort we were welcomed warmly. As per Janice's promise to us we a given a cosy villa in a quiet corner of the property, with an excellent view of the beauty of the surrounding hills. The room was clean, with a mini equipped kitchen and was very well maintained. We were amazed by the staff's hospitality and readiness to help us at any moment, particularly Alphonso, Bala and Punita from housekeeping who surprised us with decorating our rooms on many occasions. The travel desk was helpful in planning our excursions. The food cost was reasonable, and the ambience of the restaurant was good, with friendly and helpful staff like Karthick and Sridhar. However the options of non veg dishes in the buffet were very limited. Nonetheless their desserts and cakes were very nice.
Overall we had an amazing experience and would certainly recommend this property for anyone looking for a quiet, peaceful place to stay, with friendly staff in the midst of beautiful misty hills.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank NishanMathias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed here as a family for 5 days. Our stay was really nice.
Housekeeping was just excellent, thanks to L Mary and Bala.
The restaurant gives a neat and elegant look. He staff is very friendly and courteous. Food still can be improved as far as the taste is concerned. Variety is good on the buffet. In room dining menu is quite limited and can be enhanced.
Reception staff is also quite friendly and helpful.
Holiday activity centre is well equipped, only thing is that they don't get many guests to join in the activities. They will need to actively call each room and invite guests like other resorts. All in all a very good resort, clean and classy look.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dipviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had 3 days accommodation at fern hill resort. The stay was amazing and my family had wonderful experience at fern hill. The staff was so polite and very processional. Apartment was cleaned and neat . Dinning hall was spacious and well maintained.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom app. are really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NILESH_AYU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I was on a family vacation to Ooty and was at this resort for 2 days. The experience was amazing and our family had a wonderful stay at Fern Hill. The hotel staff were very professional and courteous. The rooms and restaurant were well maintained. View from the rooms was also excellent. Overall would recommend people to stay here when they are visiting Ooty.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrNaveenKumar1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Sterling has done considerable improvement in its resorts. Have been to other resorts as well. Must say that this time the holiday was a memorable one. The rooms, bathrooms were clean, with a dry kitchen. The staff was attentive and room service was splendid.

We felt taken care of very well.

We had elderly parents and two little kids. Staff did their best to make all of us have a great time.

Room Tip: Take a room with sunshine and valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoojaMangharam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
2.0 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#18 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
546 reviews
3.0 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,065 reviews
1.7 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
828 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#16 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
639 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#12 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: 73 Kundah House Road | Fern Hill, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643 004, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#7 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $56 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched at one of the highest points in Ooty, this resort has an amazing view of the Nilgiris. Sterling Holidays Fern Hill is set in an alluring scenic location, surrounded on all sides by the ethereal beauty of the Nilgiri Hills. The resort’s sloping roofs and terracotta tiles are reminiscent of the quaint charm of a bygone era. With a heady mix of comfort and tranquility, spending time within the resort is as attractive an option as venturing into the idyllic mountainside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Fernhill Hotel Ootacamund
Sterling Resorts Ooty
Days Inn Fernhill
Days Inn Ootacamund
Sterling Resort Ooty
Ootacamund Days Inn
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing