We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Nearby Hotels
Nilgiris Inn(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Vinayaga Inn(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$179
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$168
$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hill Country Lovedale(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
OYO 3218 Park Avenue(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Sanjay Hotel(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
Blue Hills International(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Global Village Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,290)
Filter reviews
1,290 results
Traveler rating
526
506
134
50
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
526
506
134
50
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime shareholiday activitieshouse keepingroom servicemain buildinggreat resorttravel deskhuge propertymemorable holidayspecial thanksin room dininghousekeeping staffrecommend this resortfront officespecial mentionplay areadinner buffet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
971 - 976 of 1,290 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We r regular customer staying in sterling fern hill since 5 years.its really pleasant staying especially after renovated. Maintenance, infrostructure..' awesome '. One Mr. Bala- housekeeping-very special to be mentioned.-- very humble, honest, smiley and so sweet boy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajakumari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I was one of the first subscribers to the timeshare. I was unhappy with the keep and the standard of service for several years. I took a week's holiday after 5 years. Sterling has spruced up their accommodation at fernhill, ooty. The rooms are contemporary and clean. The restaurant offered a variety of cuisines. I can fully endorse the food served. There was one minor problem with the drinking water served in the rooms due to which my wife and son had diahorrea. When I complained the housekeeping helped me with first aid medicine and provided packaged drinking water. I wish they had done this in the first place. The housekeeping boy Shivalumar and trainee Sanjeev did good work in the upkeep. Their towel art along with their supervisor sent him was the highlight of our week long stay. Wifi is available only in a particular area and I would recommend in having coin operated laundry machines to make things easier for residents. Overall, I would recommend stay at this resort. Please bring your own transport since the resort is about 4 kms from town.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with balconies so that you could dry your clothes faster.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srinivasan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

A very well kept, maintained and well serviced property. Our entire family of 5 adults and 3 children lauded every thing the resort had to offer.

Very cordial reception, even at 12.30am with the newly renovated rooms given to us. The rooms were shown and approved by all of us. Valley view, with a dry kitchen and very modern. Enough amount of cutlery and crockery and the basic requirements like a microwave and electric kettle. We were instantly given extra blankets for each of the rooms without any hesitation and promptly too.

It was a weekend stay at this resort and they had a combo offer/ meal packages for guests, which was explained well to us and which we availed of. (Do check with the reception/ restaurant about ongoing promotions. They do not offer discounts for in-room dining).The food was very well laid and with many options. The menu kept changing (whatever was possible, while keeping the basics similar) and the Chef even prepared some typical south Indian (chettinad/ kerela) dishes for us on request. Very co-operative waiters/ waitresses and prompt response to any and all requests. Kids were treated with special care and attention. The dining area also has outer seating (sun and rain protected) overlooking the garden with a valley view and blooming flowers. We could play on the garden with the kids and sit around to enjoy a hot cuppa anytime of the day.

The kids activity room and the outdoor play area were always alive with recreational activities fixed as per a routine which the kids could participate in and kept them busy and occupied. The travel desk organised a trek to Cairn Hill which was fun and not too difficult. Recommended for history and a walk through the woods with good valley views from the watch tower.

The property is around 4.5 Kms from Ooty town, which isn't too bad since it is secluded and self sufficient. There is no noise pollution and the walk around the resort and outside are good. The final approach road to the resort is pretty bad, which we learn, would be repaired within a month or so.

Multi-cuisine restaurant and in-room dining is commendable. The thai curry was good!

Special mention :

(1) Joice and Bala for housekeeping.
(2) Janice the Manager who handled our booking/ reservation.
(3) Manohar and Rajendra at the restaurant.

Would definitely go back and/ or consider other Sterling properties after this visit!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jalanmayank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

THIS TRIP NOT FORGETTABLE ITS AMAZING SERVICE PROVIDED BY YOUR STAFF SPL. MR. AMIT SHEKHAWAT HOUSE KEEPING MANAGER AND HIS ASSO. I.E.ALPHONSE, NANDA, JANICE NAVEEN,&VIVEK. WE THANKFUL TO YOUR COMPANY. WE ARE EXPRESSED OUR VIEW SO FAR THAT A GREAT TRIP WITH BEST SERVICES AND SUPPORTED A LOT STAY. WE APPROACHED TO OTHER RECOMMENDATION STAY YOUR HOTEL WITH BEST REGARD STERLING FERNHILL OOTY. I never thought i could get a unforgettable and awesome stay in Sterling Resort at Fernhill ooty.Sterling Fern hill is an excellent and well maintained property with beautiful garden and loaded with amenities that can make you comfortably spend the entire day in the property itself..Unforgettable stay really awesome ( AMIT SHEKHAWAT and his team really great)”.I never thought i could get a unforgettable and awesome stay in Sterling Resort at Fernhill ooty, I really enjoyed my stay with ma Family, Excellent hospitality from the house keeping guys especially Senthil and his team really wonderful guys with great hospitality. The hotel management really lucky.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Sterling Fern hill is an excellent and well maintained property with beautiful garden and loaded with amenities that can make you comfortably spend the entire day in the property itself. The most amazing feel you get is from the staff of the resort, especially the housekeeping team supervised by Mr. Bala and humble greetings exchanged with Mr. Saravanan Kumar (Security personnel). To mention others as below -
F&B Manager - Mr. Sujit Kumar Mishra
Travel desk - Mr. Prikshit Sharma
Front desk - Ms. Janice & team
Guest Relations - Mr. Amit Kumar
They are very courteous and humble. They made our stay of 26 members non chalantly beautiful and memorable.. Kudos to the team & the resort

Room Tip: No such specific room but try the cottages in the garden area
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandeep B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews