We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised to see such high ratings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The service is really poor, nobody picks up phone ever. Breakfast had variety but service was poor and they were not even refillling the stuff. Rooms are just ok but no where close to 3/4 star. Location is off too so i am really surprised to see such high ratings on tripadvisor

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raj_Singhal_In
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays! We are concerned about the experience you have undergone during your visit to Ooty – Fern Hill.

We have taken note of the issues highlighted by you and have taken corrective measures.

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. It helps us in our constant endeavour to deliver the best service to all our guests. We sincerely hope that you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to showcase that such service inefficiency is an aberration and not the norm at Sterling. .

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,017 - 1,023 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Lovely property on Fern Hill. There are different kinds of accommodation available, two bedroom units as well as single bedrooms units. Large spacious rooms with verandahs. Our rooms overlooked the valley. Unfortunately we were there in September and it rained on four of the five days we were there, also there was extensive renovation work going on and some of the facilities had closed down. But the hospitality was amazing, especially the food, each meal was a buffet, but any item not on the table would be made especially for you. Ooty town has become too commercial, like most hill stations in India, so it is best to stay in a resort hotel that offers everything, cutting down on the need to go to the market place. There is nothing to shop for in Ooty, except for delicious chocolates!

Room Tip: Avoid Ooty in the rainy season. Go for the stand alone room units, that offer a view, not one that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaya30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

we had a great holiday,The hospitality was excellent,the staff was very helpful Special thanks to the Front Desk Manager Ms Janice who really is true to her designation. Always helpful .The view from the resort were awesome and there was so much to do within the resort itself the food was luxurious .Fern Hill is undoubtedly the best Property in OOTY to enjoy. Well Spread Lawns, Wonderful scenic view, Normally an Awesome Blessed Weather. I went with my Family and honestly this was one of our Best Stay in India. .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasdhingra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed from 20th June till 23rd June 2013

Going There:

Reaching Fern Hill, Ooty, is a pleasant experience all through except for the last 1 km or so. The last 1 km public road is horrible and as it is on a very narrow steep incline it makes it even worse. Once you enter the hotel premises it is another steep climb of a few hundred metres on a paverblocked path. Any loaded vehicle has to shift to first gear to get through. The Hotel is situated about 6-7 kms away from the main bus stand/railway station which will cost you about 120/- by an auto which will give you a fair idea of the distance. All the way from the bus stand to the hotel there are markers put up by the hotel at key points which lead us to them easily.

Hotel Location:

As one can easily guess by now, the hotel is located on a hill top, which makes the view awesome, from almost any area of the hotel. The hotel is neat and clean when it comes to the front desk and surrounding area and maintains the 3 star standard.

Room and Amenities:

Moving to the superior room, those are neat and well maintained too and have all the modern amenities like your LCD TV (without a DTH connection - I'll get to that later), the tea-coffee maker, hair dryer and the bathroom has Kohler fittings all through which makes it really classy.

One strange thing about the room we stayed in was that, it had a balcony with no access door to it. I mean why would you have a balcony in the first place, if you do not plan to give access to it? On inquiring about it with the front desk, I was given a rather sedate reply that only few of our superior rooms have balconies with access to it and the room that we had got , unfortunately wasn't one of them. No logic in there. We did not order any room service so no comments there. Overall housekeeping experience was decent.

Coming to the LCD TV, as promised earlier, well, the reception was decent but there were frequent blackouts with umpteeen South Indian channels, many of which you havent ever heard of or seen, and for tourists from other regions, this is not good news. There were your regular Star, Sony, Zee Hindi Channels alongwith the movie channels however the other irritating fact was that even Discovery, NGC and Nat Geo Wild were on with a Tamil audio as it was through cable obviously we dont have a choice/option to change it.

Food and Dining:

Unfortunately, our trip timing had matched with their restaurant renovation plans so we had a limited menu on offer and the restaurant sitting area was shifted to a (still to be renovated) conference hall of the hotel. There was a wide ranging buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. and they were also offering a-la carte options through the day. The menu was very limited, restricted to a single laminated A4 size paper with both veg and non veg options. We had a mixed experience with the quality of the food. So I would rate it 3 out of 5.

Travel Desk:
We received good and in detailed information on sight seeing and packages available from the travel desk person. He was very courteous and suggested packages as per our preference. The hotel also has a range of daily activities with a timetable and a dedicated activity area. We did not participate in any of the activities so no review comments there. I am sure though, that a big family on a vacation would enjoy these activities.

Checkout:

Check out was smooth and fast and had no problems there.

Overall: A very nice and pleasant stay and I wish they open up those balconies in the superior room to make it absolutely value for money experience. The on-going renovation work needs to be completed soon to reduce the amount of dust and noise in the staying area of the main building of the hotel. And ofcourse the work on the approach road has to be taken up on priority.

Room Tip: If booking a superior room, ask for a room with ACCESS to balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HemantKMumbai_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

It is located on top of a hill . U can see a beautiful mountain range from your room .... The hotel Staff was very helpful & courteous. The check in was gud where room was given on arrival & was well maintained & renovated. The travel arrangements was really good.
The towel arrangement made in my room was so delightful. However at times I found the food was a little expensive.THANKS FOT STERLING TEAM,KEEP ROCKING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go for renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunilking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

OOTY - The Queen of Hill Stations is undoubtedly the Best Place for Recreation in South India.
Fern Hill is undoubtedly the best Property in OOTY to enjoy. Well Spread Lawns, Wonderful scenic view, Normally an Awesome Blessed Weather. I went with my Family and honestly this aws one of our Best Stay in India. One remains with the nature.

Resort Manager Mr Dilawar Singh offers a very Friendly & Hospitable environment.
Special thanks to the Front Desk Manager Ms Jenett who really is true to her designation. Always helpful

Room Tip: Stay in Rooms with Lawns and experience a LIFE TIME PLASURE
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

excellent resort- we had booked a cottage- proper drawing room with dining room and kitchen and a spacious bed room- view from cottage was very good- resort arranges lot of holiday activities and games for the guests and kids- really enjoyable- food was very good- room service was also good

Room Tip: go for deluxe suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anil_sahani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
2.0 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#18 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
546 reviews
3.0 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,065 reviews
1.7 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
828 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#16 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
639 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#12 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: 73 Kundah House Road | Fern Hill, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643 004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#7 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $56 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched at one of the highest points in Ooty, this resort has an amazing view of the Nilgiris. Sterling Holidays Fern Hill is set in an alluring scenic location, surrounded on all sides by the ethereal beauty of the Nilgiri Hills. The resort’s sloping roofs and terracotta tiles are reminiscent of the quaint charm of a bygone era. With a heady mix of comfort and tranquility, spending time within the resort is as attractive an option as venturing into the idyllic mountainside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Fernhill Hotel Ootacamund
Sterling Resorts Ooty
Days Inn Fernhill
Days Inn Ootacamund
Sterling Resort Ooty
Ootacamund Days Inn
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing