We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An affordable Five Star Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #9 of 79 Hotels in Ooty
chennai
1 review
“An affordable Five Star Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

My stay in OOty could never had been amazing if I would have taken some other resort to stay.
the rooms were good, house keeping, facilities were excellent. Restaurent was good, nice aroma and the best part was it had 5 star standards. hotel staff is very cooperating.
the unique feature whihc makes it "Perfect Book now" is the guest engagement events the resort organizes every day increases the fun. overall, I can assure you, not to give a second thought , just go for it..

PS - I have stayed in many 5 star hotels, in Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, USA.

Room Tip: if possible try to book the excetive cottage, it is little bit expensive, but the valley view and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irohitkapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    444
    124
    42
    61
See reviews for
672
238
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Had done the booking online thru another hotel booking website that I would normally use, without knowing about the property or recommendation. This was purely based on the pictures available on the website and the rating.

So I arrive at Coimbatore airport and the taxi counter ask for Rs2200 for A/c taxi to Ooty and upon hearing the Hotel name promptly adds another Rs100 to it. We were going on this nice hill road when suddenly the driver takes this dirt track sort of road and informed that it was the road to our hotel. This gets me quite worried as to what the hell have I booked, and then again suggenly takes a left and we are going up the entrance of the property.

The property looked really good although some renovation work had been going on just before the main porch. The staff was very friendly and we were offered lemon tea on arrival. Although the check out time is 10:00 AM which I found is a bit off the track, the explaination to the same was that to ensure there is no inconvience to the people who have to check in as the check in time is 12:00PM the same was important. However I would like to mention that I had arrived at past 3:00 PM and the room was not ready, had to waid a good 1 hour to get the room (an area which requires improvement).

The stay was very comfortable and later after visiting otty I realised this was the best place to stay as the scenery was beautiful all around the property. Food was reasonalble and tasted very good. Breakfast layout was extensive and had choices that would take care of almost anyone.

Overall I would not mind coming back to the place and would definetly recommend the same to friends and family.

The pictures I am including do not have the main building as that you can see pretty much on each website including the hotels own. These are around the property and suites laid out on the property.

Room Tip: If you book a guest room, you will be higher from ground having a better view, but as of date there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandix69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our first time away from the coast in India, we reached this hotel high in the Niligri Hills in late evening after a very long journey up the winding mountain road, beautiful scenery, hotel on hill about 4km outside Ooty. Staff were welcoming & extremely efficient. Our room was immaculate and very comfortable. In the morning our large private balcony gave us panoramic views of the hills & mountains, really nice quiet space to relax and sunbath, The indoor dining room and outside eating area were very clean and pleasant. Chefs were very accommodating and food service was excellent, although they catered more for Indian guests and, coming from the UK, the menu was not always to our liking. But then this is real India which is why we came! Small town of Ooty short taxi ride down the hill - not at all touristy - interesting local market, there is a boating lake which we found a bit disappointing, an excellent botanical gardens and a trip we took in local taxi to the highest point was worth the effort stoppiing off at a tea factory which proved interesting. We also took the local mountain train which runs daily from Ooty to Coonoor and down the mountains to the nearest large town. We got off at Coonoor, visited the park there and took taxi to visit the many tea plantations in this area and to stop off at various view points - a really memorable day trip out.
Altogether a very pleasant week's stay in a friendly 5-star hotel in a beautiful area. Good value for money, praise to the staff for their efforts and well worth the journey. We would use this hotel again and try to incorporate it in our travels around India.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I visited the place for my honeymoon which happened to be a sudden plan. This is a beautiful property and being there was worth every penny. Beautiful location with valley view, very supportive staff who upgraded my room on request. It added to the wonderful experience of visiting Ooty.

Visiting the property again sometime would be a pleasure.

Br,
Shubham Agarwal

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShubhamDaruka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Excellent memories, had a very good time..Thanks to the staff, great team @ work....gr8 food...good housekeeping and a pleasant location...Stayed there for 3 nights from 13th mar to 15th mar 2013....Very clean rooms, great food and very good complimentary break fast...Good travel desk, they can arrange for local sight seeing at your request quiet economical...restaurant staff are so friendly and take the utter most care in food service..a real 5 star category restaurant and thanks to the management for employing great team...

Room Tip: Try to get rooms with Balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingchennai_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have stayed in this resort several times. We had a decent stay. But this time it was a pleasant surprise.

They have completely renovated the entire infrastructure and added many new suites.

Secondly, the staff has been very polite and displayed an attitude of high degree of hospitality. Remarkable change.

Thirdly, the breakfast and dinner spread is huge. They have a Great chef 'Suman'. He personally goes around to take feedback.

Fourthly, their Gift Shop has all genuine Ooty items with reasonable market prices.

Lastly, the resort is slightly away 3 to 4 kms from the town, since it is a huge property. So, one needs to have a vehicle.

It is worth the stay - value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash_rishikesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Browsing through the hotels in ooty on tripadvisor one won't choose a #10th ranked hotel easily. That's what I went through, but based on the attractive offer that I got and knowing about Sterling's revamp plans I decided to give this one a try. And I am so happy I tried this!
The resort is really good and the rooms are amazing after renovation. The staff is very polite and always smiling. We had our parents along with us and we booked a deluxe room, they upgraded us to rooms which were near the reception requiring less walk. So kind of them!
The best part about the resort was their food. Having stayed at many of the high-end properties around, I can say the food is one of the best I have ever had in a hotel. The buffet spread was huge, be it for breakfast or dinner. With senior citizens with us, they offered customization for food with a wide smile on their face.
The rooms are neatly done with all amenities, and suites have kitchenettes with enough utensils/cutlery.
The staff is very proactive and polite.
The only two things I would say would make it even better is a safety locker in rooms and a complete layout map of the property.
If you are opting for suites, you can opt for a suite in 15## series which are nearer to reception and restaurant.
If its value for money that matters to you, then be prepared for a pleasant surprise.
Its rated 3.5 right now on Tripadvisor, keep monitoring, I am sure the ratings would go up... :)

Room Tip: Suites near reception are a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank combobox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
3.0 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
1.7 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
1.7 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
1.3 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
2.0 mi away
Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: 73 Kundah House Road | Fern Hill, Ooty 643 004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ooty
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched at one of the highest points in Ooty, this resort has an amazing view of the Nilgiris. Sterling Holidays Fern Hill is set in an alluring scenic location, surrounded on all sides by the ethereal beauty of the Nilgiri Hills. The resort’s sloping roofs and terracotta tiles are reminiscent of the quaint charm of a bygone era. With a heady mix of comfort and tranquility, spending time within the resort is as attractive an option as venturing into the idyllic mountainside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Fernhill Hotel Ootacamund
Sterling Resorts Ooty
Days Inn Fernhill
Days Inn Ootacamund
Sterling Resort Ooty
Ootacamund Days Inn
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing