We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont dream of boating”
Review of Ooty Lake

Ooty Lake
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“dont dream of boating”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

not @ all a good place to boating, poor maintenance, worst management they spoiled a beautiful place. we went to do boating but got terrible experience, water turned in to green they did nt gave safety equipment too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RAM4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    597
    516
    133
    58
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A good place to spend some time”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Well, it isn't great; but you have variety of choice. The lake itself is large and you have a choice of 2 and 4 seater paddle boats, attended row boats and motor boats for larger groups of 8+. Didn't find any bad odour, so I guess they must have done some housekeeping since the earlier comments. You also get a choice of some rides and Games, Arcade, Shopping and Eateries, so you can spend the whole day if you want to. If you get bored, you can try some Hike biking across the street or a Kart track next door. Considering you have nothing else to see in Ooty, you may like to spend a day at the lake.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KaushikBasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Ooty Lake: Great place for boating and amusement”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Just opposite by the road side, there is an Ooty lake Boat House and Children’s amusement park. We skipped boating as we had already done one at Pykara lake. We just enjoyed the lake watching people indulging in boating and fun activities. We shopped for the famous homemade chocolates available inside the Boat House. The chocolates were yummy and as good as it can be. Ooty lake is always throbbing with tourists and locals alike. a happening place to hang around.

Anil Bisht
anilbisht@rediffmail.com

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yekaterinburg, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“just a lake”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

It was a waste of time to go there, it's just a lake with nothing special to see, although indians seems to enjoy boating there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank daizy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Romantic place”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We visited in Feb of 2013. We hired a boat for two, it comes with a guy who does the rowing. Was about 150 rupees in total for a 30 to 45 min boat ride. Its a bit busy but then it adds to the atmosphere, so its all god, there's a small train ride. It was cheap so we thought, what the hell, might as well go on that. We did do the horse riding and it was 700 rupees since we wanted to go a bit further away. I think I may have been milked for my money haha. Oh well.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank love_travelling1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ooty Lake also viewed

Ooty (Udhagamandalam), The Nilgiris District
Ooty (Udhagamandalam), The Nilgiris District
 
Ooty (Udhagamandalam), The Nilgiris District
Ooty (Udhagamandalam), The Nilgiris District
 

Been to Ooty Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing