We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even think of boating there..”
Review of Ooty Lake

Ooty Lake
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't even think of boating there..”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Ooty lake is still a good place to see but, my advice is not to go for boating and even if you go, dont touch the water. Its polluted by the ooty drainage waters..

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wonderlust_121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    590
    509
    132
    57
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“nice place for kids and Bolywood fans”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This lake feature in most of the Bolywood movies known to me and it's always nice to go and see it in a calm and cool afternoon. The place is nice and kids enjoy it a lot.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jawaher6784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A place for average Tourist”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Ooty lake is in the heart of the city. Unfortunately water is not clean. It seems to be contaminated with city sewerage flows. Tourist department has created some infrastructure for the tourists like boat rides. Out side one can also do ashore Horse back riding

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharatchandrahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to visit!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

One of the highlights of our Ooty trip. The lake is artificial but large and there a lot of tourists out here. They also have food outlets, a couple of rides, a small lawn to relax in, shops making it a wholesome experience.
There are many comfortable benches in front of the lake from which you can just relax and view the lake and boats - spent more than a hour just there!
You can either opt for a pedal boat, row boat or motor boat. We got the row boat and it was a ~20 minute ride across the lake (they provide a rower) and at the end, we tried our hands at rowing too!
Great views all around and the chilly weather adds to the fun.
I read a lot of reviews here about the lake being dirty, but I didn't really notice it (maybe in some corners, not sure). I personally prefer this to Pykara lake because there are more activities here and pedal/rowboats as well.
Highly recommend going here!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ganzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is one place no one would miss. But i would prefer to visit Pykara first and then spend the rest of time here if you have time constraints. Out of my 7 trips to ooty this was the first time I liked being in this lake as they have cleaned it. Good to see the lake neat and clean. Lot of games for kids and some horror show(didnt try it).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brijesh108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ooty Lake also viewed

Ooty (Udhagamandalam), The Nilgiris District
Ooty (Udhagamandalam), The Nilgiris District
 
Ooty (Udhagamandalam), The Nilgiris District
Ooty (Udhagamandalam), The Nilgiris District
 

Been to Ooty Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing