We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but poor service”
Review of Hotel Sunpark Ooty

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sunpark Ooty
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Travelled to Ooty in 3rd week of May 2012 during the peak tourist season. Had booked Sun Park hotel at Ooty. Here are the pluses and minuses of the hotel

1. Good property - well maintained lawns, nice place with good and clean rooms once you reach it
2. Approach to the hotel is bad with narrow roads and open drains, but hotel itself is bright and airy
3. Lovely view from the hotel
4. Reasonably well located in the centre of the city...Stayed here to foray into both Ooty and Coonoor.

The negatives
1. Staff services is bad. No fully functional resturant in such a big hotel. Limited menu. Ordered food takes ages to arrive ..(1 hour and 20 minutes on a Saturday morning, delaying our sight seeing)

2. Staff need to be a little more helpful and friendly to hotel guests
3. Never take the rooms at the front, as in order to light up the hotel at night, they have powerful spotlights which distract even when curtains are covered, disturbing sleep.
4. A little bit overpriced compared to similar properties (maybe just the tourist season rip off)...

Would revisit the hotel only if they could improve staff service and start a proper restaurant

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at front as when they light the hotel up for night, turn on powerful spot lights whi...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Venky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sunpark Ooty
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 101 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

Iam a person who has travelled quite a bit and a frequent travellor to ooty.Although I have friends there who normally book my room,this time i decided to try something different and booked in sunpark hotel.The minute i entered the reception area i knew i had made a terrible mistake.The reception is only as big as a small budget washroom.The owner has spend a lot of money on the property,but the staff will see to it that it is not long before that the propert will get very bad reviews for their service and vague behaviour with guest's.They only want tourists who will never come there a second time.The attitude of the manager(an elderly man) is like"if you want you can stay"No belief in the concept of treating a client well or showing any signs of warm hospitality.No phones in the room and no running restaurant.No toiletteries in except for a tiny soap.I have seen better hotels in ooty for lesser the price these people take.Their website is totally misleading and false.

Room Tip: Meadows residency is good neat and clean with excellent service and polite staff. and also Preethi c...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank akaliskochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

The first thing that impressed me was the colour of the Hotel i.e. light green. Its very eye catching. Very well maintained garden. Rooms are spacious and superb.

Tips:
1) prefer bike than cab (if u can drive) as roads are superb and u'll enjoy the ride.
2) botanical garden and rose garden are in walkable distance.
3) If you are going with kids then only go for toy train

Pros
1) rooms are spacious
2) superb garden.
3) view from delux room is very nice.
4) reasonable price for food
5) limited options in food but quality is good
6) clean and clear.
7) very near to market still peaceful.
8) cabs and bikes are easily available.
9) Carry Good night liquid if you want to open the window.

cons:
2) Staff is not very professional. but can be avoided
3) very small kitchen and limited option for food.
4) They use low quality (Dhaba) cutlery but clean.
5) sometimes flies came to room but after informing to staff. They sprayed and it was ok.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MShaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Pros:
1. Nice location close to Charring cross (bit off the road so its quiet)
2. Rooms are large and spacious
3. Food served is reasonably priced

Cons:
1. Needs to be more professional
2. Staff needs to be proactive
3. Food served is cold

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have better view than Suites...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bajaj_tejinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Sun Park is a nice place to stay. Let me share first its strengths; clean, new infra, nice location, excellent view, pocket savvy, walkable distance from charring cross, bathrooms are fitted with seperate geyser.
Weakness; altough its a part of chain of hotel from Chennai, but overall professionalism is missing, I mean when you look at staff. (But staff is very cooperative and attentive). Kitchen is small. Rooms are although big and clean but beds are little of discomfort.


For north indian food, Pankaj Bhojnalay is excellent hotel, its opposite Nahar Hotel on Charring Cross. Although looks and staff is not attractive but you will get Rajasthani and onion/garlic less food. Parathas are good.

Room Tip: in new building, front row facing park is good, it receives good sun bath
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ashut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

First of all location was superb its so near to the main area(charring cross), its barely half a km and yet far from the hustle-bustle of the city. The views of the city area from the hotel rooms are really scenic. The rooms are really spacious and comfortable, they are bright and very well ventilated,thus very good sunshine as their name suggests.There's a well maintained lawn just outside the rooms block. there is one more block of rooms being constructed behind the main block.There"s no restaurant, only some basic items in the menu which they serve in the room.Overall the place is fantastic

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank smravindra81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carogero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.4 mi away
Ponmari Residencyy
Ponmari Residencyy
#22 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sunpark Grand
Hotel Sunpark Grand
#86 of 159 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Majestic Crown
The Majestic Crown
#26 of 159 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kumaran Resorts
Kumaran Resorts
#17 of 159 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
22 reviews
1.5 mi away
Haveli Atithi Bhavan
Haveli Atithi Bhavan
#18 of 159 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunpark Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunpark Ooty

Address: No: 150, Church Hill Lane | Charring Cross, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 634001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $27 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sunpark Ooty 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunpark Ooty India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing