We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place to stay in Ooty”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marlborough House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ooty
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marlborough House
Ranked #7 of 134 Ooty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pune
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay in Ooty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at Marlborough House for 2 nights in May 2013. It was indeed a very pleasurable experience to stay in the house. The property is over 100 years old and has the typical British architecture and well maintained till date! The location is too good - very scenic, calm, quiet and yet very close to the city. The small garden, stream and entire premises are well maintained and clean. The spacious and clean rooms with wooden flooring and big windows have a very beautiful view. The owners, Mrs. and Mr. Prakash Rao,are truly great hosts. They make guests feel at home with their caring nature and friendly talks. Even the caretaker, Jyothi, is very good and friendly. She takes good care of the guests as well as the property. The food she cooked was delicious and we were very satisfied on eating home made food after a week long trip. We loved the place very much and would recommend to everyone who likes to stay in calm and quiet place with sound of nature - birds chirping, winds and the leaves rustling - it's just wonderful!!

Room Tip: The rooms on top have a very good view. Nevertheless, all rooms are spacious and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_Talegaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    30
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here a couple of days with my family and we liked it much. Very friendly and helpful people. Scenic location and spacious rooms and reasonably priced. A very good garden with a small stream. You can hear the chirping of the birds in the garden. This is located away from the hustle and bustle of the city and yet it is very close to Charing cross.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoelWinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Well maintained premises, clean rooms and a very pleasant host.
The place is close to the city and is away from the hustle and bustle, nice place to relax and unwind.
The food was good and fresh. (make sure you order ahead).
Overall a very refreshing place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItsJ0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 days. The location is very peaceful and calm. We spent some good time by sitting in the lawn. Jyothi the care taker was very friendly and had cooked some good food for us. I would like to come back here when i come next time to ooty.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shrihari_Devji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysuru (Mysore), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

This place is for anyone who wants to spend good time in their rooms. Very Very Very Very neat and clean. The rooms are comfortable. The owner is very helpful, willing to help. The homestay is present in a very scenic location and it is round about 1KM frm the st Stephen's Church. I am sure you would want to click some photograps in front of the stay:)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VigneshMaharajaRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banglaore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Spend two nights with Family here in January and had a comfortable stay at a very reasonable cost. Property is a 100 yr old bungalow with nice view. Staff was courteous and accommodating- arranged for a heater and also a taxi (for local sightseeing) at short notice.

There is a lawn and a garden for the children to play in. Property is conveniently located and is close to the main shopping area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AjayGargBanglaore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysuru (Mysore), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We as a group of 13 stayed here for one night and this is a WONDERFULL place to stay. Well maintained, bautiful lawn, neat and clean rooms, good bathrooms with Hot water all the time.
We stayed there first time and decided to stay here only whenever we come to ooty again. It was an excellent stay. We enjoyed alot and it is worth staying there. The care taker is also very friendly and polite. If you are looking for something very good in decent budget then don't miss it :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannuuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ooty
1.9 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
7.2 mi away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 10 in Coonoor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#15 of 79 in Ooty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
0.4 mi away
Woodberry Residency
Woodberry Residency
#1 of 79 in Ooty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough House

Property: Marlborough House
Address: 123 Marlborough House Havelock Road | Bandisholai, Opposite Vigilance Office, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Marlborough House India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing