We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and peaceful place to stay”
Review of Marlborough House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marlborough House
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Well maintained premises, clean rooms and a very pleasant host.
The place is close to the city and is away from the hustle and bustle, nice place to relax and unwind.
The food was good and fresh. (make sure you order ahead).
Overall a very refreshing place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItsJ0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 92 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 days. The location is very peaceful and calm. We spent some good time by sitting in the lawn. Jyothi the care taker was very friendly and had cooked some good food for us. I would like to come back here when i come next time to ooty.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shrihari_Devji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This place is for anyone who wants to spend good time in their rooms. Very Very Very Very neat and clean. The rooms are comfortable. The owner is very helpful, willing to help. The homestay is present in a very scenic location and it is round about 1KM frm the st Stephen's Church. I am sure you would want to click some photograps in front of the stay:)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VigneshMaharajaRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Spend two nights with Family here in January and had a comfortable stay at a very reasonable cost. Property is a 100 yr old bungalow with nice view. Staff was courteous and accommodating- arranged for a heater and also a taxi (for local sightseeing) at short notice.

There is a lawn and a garden for the children to play in. Property is conveniently located and is close to the main shopping area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AjayGargBanglaore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We as a group of 13 stayed here for one night and this is a WONDERFULL place to stay. Well maintained, bautiful lawn, neat and clean rooms, good bathrooms with Hot water all the time.
We stayed there first time and decided to stay here only whenever we come to ooty again. It was an excellent stay. We enjoyed alot and it is worth staying there. The care taker is also very friendly and polite. If you are looking for something very good in decent budget then don't miss it :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannuuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in MARLBOROUGH HOUSE, for 2 night and 3days.Wonderful place, well maintained property, beautiful lawns!!!our daughter enjoyed playin on the lawns and looking at the show case exhibits.jyothi the care taker was extremely friendly and made our stay comfortable.
would definitely want to come back!!!!
Dr.Meenakshi.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank nivedh-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Well, the last trip during January was our 6th trip to Ooty and 4th time stay in Marlborough House. The first time we visited the place, we decided that we will hook on to this Home Stay whenever we come to Ooty. We are frequent travellers and most of our travel campaigns are based on filming nature and its beauty, so we have seen a lot of places and MH is special to us for reasons like:

- Hospitality (10 points for the caring)
- The location, near to the town, but yet very silent, serene, the backdrop of the HomeStay is very good and one can see the high elevated mountain behind
- Food, you have an option to order what you want, unlike choosing from what is there!
- Cleanliness: What made us feel very cozy is how the HomeStay is structured, I remembered the good old England structures, very good and well maintained, very clean. Yeah, we know that the place is cold almost most of the time of the year, the bedsheets, blankets, tend to get cold, but still they are well maintained to our satisfaction
- Pricing: All I cay say is, we always felt we want to come back again!

After staying in several homestays, hotels, resorts in Ooty, we prefer MH for every visit we do to Ooty and nearby places.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panidhar_Revanur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1.9 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
853 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#12 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 13 in Coonoor
865 reviews
0.8 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#6 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,058 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Flora Amberley Resort
La Flora Amberley Resort
#15 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough House

Address: 123 Marlborough House Havelock Road | Bandisholai, Opposite Vigilance Office, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $31 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Marlborough House India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing