We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best view and excellent people”
Review of RK Holiday Homes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RK Holiday Homes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

stayed in room 1 and has the best view of ooty from balcony. hotel people are very helpful. They own a cab and charge 1500 for day. It is far from city but they take orders and deliver food quickly. If we have our own car, we can go out get food according to our wish. best place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Nagakishore C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for RK Holiday Homes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 135 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

We arrived at 4pm at the RK holiday home, hotel staff was very helpful. Room was spacious and neat & clean, well maintained. Location of hotel is around 500meters from Ooty bus stand and on the hill. If you are planning to go with your car, then it is best location else you have to walk 500 metres on the hill. View from the hotel is very good, also good location of the hotel. I liked the location best for this hotel and good service by the hotel staff. We ordered tea on arrival and was of very poor quality, so we did not ordered any food items. Also, RK holiday home do not have kitchen/restaurant and they are dependent on other restaurant. According to me it is good budget hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Rajesh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We are a family of 4 persons,stayed here for couple of days. This place is situated on an elevated location. Ooty city view of Race course, Bus stand, railway station are awesome from the balcony of our room. Main entrance steps are too high, it is very hard for elderly people to climb over the steps. Very good room service. The room boys are young and energetic especially Prashanth is a nice person and helpful in all aspects. They offer good coffee/tea in a reasonable price. Accessibility to this property is a bit tough, but they will assist you to reach this place. They have parking space as well.

Room Tip: Go far deluxe rooms. They are equipped with a balcony and LCD television.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ambasoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

This property is owned and maintained by a passionate professional who lived many places is the world. RK Holiday home is a perfect choice one can get clean and neat rooms with "OOTY" styled interiors with beautiful scenic view from the balconies. The staff is polite and attends to all your needs of food and beverages. There is a WiFi connectivity to the rooms. Bathrooms are clean and neat. The Hotel is located 1.5 KM away from the bus stand on the Fernhill. Great place to stay with your family if one is not expecting 5-Star hotel experience.

Room Tip: Chose a room at first floor reception.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rajesh_International
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I stayed here from May 14th to May 16th with my husband and two kids. I had zeroed in on this place based on the earlier reviews, which spoke very highly about the cleanliness and service. Here are my views:
We were given a room which had a broken toilet seat and a seeping bathroom ceiling.
The sheets were not clean.
The immediate surroundings of this place are far from pleasant, although you do have a good view of the town.
They have a common living room into which most rooms open. The boys who help around with the upkeep of this place actually sleep in these spaces, like in the living room, under the staircase, etc.
It is a bit disconcerting, if one has to go past these to get to your room!
They have a common water filter in the living room, from which one can fill water for the room.
No towels are provided.
Hot water is available only in the mornings. If required in the evenings, (as we had checked in, in the late afternoon), you are charged Rs. 150 for one hour! This is ridiculous, for the price we paid per room, which Rs. 2000/-
We hardly used the room service, as we preferred to eat out. But tea was delivered as and when we desired.
Once we had checked out and settled our bills, we requested if one of the boys could help with cleaning the car, obviously for a payment. We were told that all the boys were busy. So much for service!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 302chits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gramesh335, Owner at RK Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Thank you for your review. But I differ from your point on view on the cleanness. We have recently painted the entire property and there is no patches in the bathroom. I have personally checked now. No broken toilet seat and all our Toilets are very clean. Please note that cleaning your car is not a room service even you are ready to pay some money to the boys. The boys have their own dignity and gently denied saying that they were busy. Keeping this in mind you have given bad review about our Home stay. Regarding the Hot water we have mentioned the timing 7:00 AM to 10:00AM and Extra Hot water is chargeable as Rs.150/Hr while you booked the room in online. It is there in your booking voucher. You have accepted it and booked the room. I am wondering how come you are saying it is ridiculous now. Please be honest and give honest reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Hotel is average and far from main city, so if you do not have your own vehicle then you are doomed.

The rooms are large with spacious balcony and cleanliness is just OK.

They do not have their own restaurant but have tieups with some restaurant. We did not taste the food after our experience with tea. Overall its expensive, better not to try.

I booked this hotel in 45 days in advance after getting reviews from tripadvisor and as the member travelling increased we have to get 1 room more. We got a better hotel on the same day and at a cheaper rate and in center of ooty where I had variety of options to eat and shop while walking in evening.

Overall average homestay and very expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SASiddiqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gramesh335, Owner at RK Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your visit and review. I would like to clarify few things. First of all the idea of Holiday Home in a Hill station is to stay away from the city traffic and pollution and to have a panoramic view of the entire City in the day time and in the night. Our rooms are spacious and very clean and have a beautiful view in a quite residential area. If you want just a hotel in the middle of city you will miss the Hill station advantage. I am talking about the fresh Air, Panoramic Hill view, City Lights in the evening etc. This is the reason all the star hotels, Cottages and Holiday Homes are away from the city traffic in Ooty. Regarding the food service we have menu cards of different hotels you could order the food from any hotel, we will deliver them with no service charges. You have visited Ooty during the Peak season time and hence you have paid the seasonal tariff. Please do not compare the hotels based on cost because each hotels has pros and cons. If you want to buy a mobile phone there is a phone in the range of Rs.2000/- and there is a phone in the range of Rs.40000/- also, Since you are not interested in the features of Rs40,000/- phone you can not say it is overpriced is not it.
Thank You
Ramesh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed in February for two nights. The room was spotlessly clean and very spacious, the bed was very comfortable. We had a large balcony with fantastic views over the town. The hotel staff were very accommodating as the hotel has no restaurant we just had to place an order for food and they would collect it for us. They also supplied us with jugs of hot water and cups for making tea and coffee. Because we were there in winter time the rooms were quite cold and there was no way of heating them.
Overall we had a good stay and would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kimberleyclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#18 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
633 reviews
1.1 mi away
FabHotel Khems Ooty
FabHotel Khems Ooty
#30 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
214 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Willow Hill
The Willow Hill
#23 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
#26 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
144 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#17 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
809 reviews
2.6 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RK Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RK Holiday Homes

Address: 27 Welbeck Road | Near Palms Auyurvedic Massage Center, Ooty (Udhagamandalam), India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#9 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $19 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very clean and neat budget hotel near Ooty Railway and Bus station (0.9KM). Each suite consisting of 1 bedroom with double bed, dressing room, bathroom and a balcony. Sony LCD TVs and Geyser in each room (Hot water timing 7:00AM to 10:00AM, 24 hr room service. Check-in 12:00 Noon, check-out next day 11:00AM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your RK Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
RK Holiday Homes India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing