We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice colors, nice hotel, awesome view”
Review of RK Holiday Homes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RK Holiday Homes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

(Well, except that the Ooty climate mostly deprived us of the view). The hotel is in a calm part of the city with a direct view on the whole terraced Ooty. It is a bit away from downtown (and the path is quite steep) but the staff will pick you up and drop you at the train/bus station. The hotel is freshly painted in bright colors and the rooms are spacious. The hotel staff is helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 137 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Best budget hotel to stay at ooty.its a home away from home.many luxury hotels should train under the propreitor and his staff regarding hospitality..hats off to their service.the only concern getting hot water for a fixed time.if he could provide hot water for 24hrs it would be great

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Prabhuhmutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Based on the reviews on Tripadvisor we had booked this homestay and we did not get an opportunity to regret our decision. Online booking process was very simple and easy. The moment you make the payment you would receive a confirmation text along with the number of a driver who would pick you up from the bus/train station, as well as the car no! The location was perfect, services amazing. They can also organize cab from coimbatore as well as local sightseeing packages which are very reasonably priced. Most importantly, we were a group of 4 girls and we found it very very safe. Perfect for solo female travelers also.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sreemoyee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

RK Homes is located up the hill close to the bus station but quite a long way from any restaurants or shops. They can provide tea and coffee and help you order food from outside. The employees were very helpful with food, organised a taxi for us for a day and were very prompt with any requests we had.
Our room was a corner room, very spacious with a balcony and a great view. It had tv and hot water but no wifi (Ooty doesn't seem to do wifi yet). It was fairly clean with some mould in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronaele_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed in R K Homes for 4 days during Dec 2013. Owner Mr Ramesh Kumar is very nice person and staff is also very good and cooperative. R K Homes is around 1.5 Km away from Bus Stand. They provided pick and drop facility free of cost to us. The room was clean, well maintained, comfortable and equiped with basic facilities. Hot water is available from 7am to 10am. The food will be provided by external resturants, menus are available and you can order food of your choice, staff will bring the food without any service charge. Best point which I noticed that Mr Kumar will not give you any wrong information.

Room Tip: Book in advance and choose the rooms no 3, it will give you the beautiful view of the Ooty town.

Room Tip: Book in advance and choose the rooms no 3, it will give you the beautiful view of the Ooty town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shatark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had visited this place is August 2013. Probably the best tyme to visit Ooty. We were looking for a budget hotel on tripadvisor, and came across R K Holiday Home. After seeing the photos n the reviews we didn't doubt that it would be good. But when we reached I must say it was better. Mr R K was very courteous and helpful. They even arranged for a free pickup and drop to the bus stop. The room was spacious with very clean bathroom, LCD TV and a nice cosy bed. Rooms had all the amenities required.The view from the balcony was breathtaking. Enjoying a hot cup of coffee sitting in the balcony with my partner was picture perfect. The service boys were also very friendly and helpful. Food is not available but they would make arrangement from a nearby place and it is good. Both veg n non veg options were available. They even helped us in guiding for tour arrangement and helped us to get discounts too. They also made arrangment for a bike on our request. Our overall experience was great, and we would love to go back to this place.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, we had the room five, which is a single room at the ground floor. Very calm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mishti2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night during November 2013. Booked 2 rooms, The rooms are well ventilated and clean. Cleaner Toilets and Bathrooms are plus. Value for Money and Free tips for the sight seeing. It is located at very good location on the Ooty mountain, above the club Mahindra resort.Owner Ramesh Kumar is very nice person who has made us feel at home. The food will be provided by external resturants which is no so great and not a standard one.

Room Tip: Tip: Book in advance and call Ramesh and inform just before reaching Ooty. All Rooms are Excellent h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rajesh_International
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gramesh335, Owner at RK Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your review about our RK Holiday Homes. I really appreciate your valuable feedback. I inquired my room service people, about the quality of the food delivered by us from outside restaurant. You stayed with us on Deepawali festival day. On that day most of the restaurants were closed and only Preethi Palace was opened. Our people brought food from them. I talked to the Preethi Hotel Management also regarding your feedback they said that they were bombarded with huge crowd on that day which is beyond their capacity. I am really sorry if the food was not upto your expectation. But I hope you will understand that this is an exception case. More over we do not have our own restaurant we are providing free services to our customer and we do take most care in choosing the restaurant. On that day we have no choice, but even then we did not deny free room services, we tried our best and brought the food to your room from the only one available restaurant.

Regards
Ramesh Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
#27 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#17 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
640 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue Hills International
Blue Hills International
#36 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sanjay Hotel
Sanjay Hotel
#40 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
114 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Willow Hill
The Willow Hill
#25 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
158 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Preethi Classic Towers
Hotel Preethi Classic Towers
#58 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RK Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RK Holiday Homes

Address: 27 Welbeck Road | Near Nizzam British International School, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#5 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $15 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very clean and neat budget hotel near Ooty Railway and Bus station (0.9KM). Each suite consisting of 1 bedroom with double bed, dressing room, bathroom and a balcony. Sony LCD TVs and Geyser in each room (Hot water timing 7:00AM to 10:00AM, 24 hr room service. Check-in 12:00 Noon, check-out next day 11:00AM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your RK Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
RK Holiday Homes India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing