We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent rooms, great view, good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of RK Holiday Homes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RK Holiday Homes
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent rooms, great view, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

The view from the room was great. The rooms are decent and the service is good. This place is close to the bus stand but difficult to locate; however, the "room boy" guided us from the bus stand and made it easy for us. Our two days stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shreevardhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    51
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
60
47
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Narsapur, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Excellent accommodation.And the view from this Holiday Home was amazing. We had better go in off season. It will be less crowded. Since it was located close to the bus stand and other traffic infeccted areas the rattling noises of vehicle disturb us a little bit.Apart from that ,it was simply fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OSURI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

RK Holiday Home & RK Residency really very comfortable, convenient and suitable place for us. Between, it’s near to Ooty bus Station. There have facilities to rent vehicles. I and my husband really happy and enjoy the cool environment by ride motor or two wheeler. No worries due not familiar the ways. All the places to visit are near RK Residency only.

Belong this, I and my husband feels very great to stay RK Residency and special thanks to RK Residency Owner, in-charge person and the small boy.

My suggestion for all, if can book or grab while promotion season from RK Residency. Its really very cheap and can save more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thiyagu_Neela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Although we were not the biggest fans of Ooty itself -somewhere along the way ‘Snooty Ooty’ (Once a posh retreat for distinguished officers) should now be renamed ‘Poopy Ooty’ to prevent further misinterpretation. Our trip, however, was really saved by the RK residency owner.

We were only there for 1 full day an so decided to walk around Ooty by foot- very easy from RK residency. This was a mistake. The small town and the man made lake are nothing to write home about. The main attractions, we later learnt, are in the surrounding areas and the hotel manager, Ramesh, can organize a tour for you for a very reasonable price. I wish we had taken him up on this offer!

Do also take him up on his offer to pick you up from the bus/train station. He did not charge us for this and it was very convenient. They also will go down to town to pick up food for you from local restaurants for no charge and provide cutlery so you can eat it in your room!

The room was basic but very clean and comfortable and great value for money. Ramesh even offered to switch on the hot water when we arrived outside the allotted time so we could freshen up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojofair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed in RK Residency for 3 nights 4 days

Overall had a comfortable stay

Positive Points
- Nice room. Very clean
- Awesome view from balcony
- Good service
- Budget hotel

Negative Points
- No power backup. 1 day and 1 night there was power cut.
- No near by restaurants. Request hotel people to arrange food for you (food is not that good)
- No proper hot water supply

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Sathyendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

A bit ahead of the Club Mahindra resorts and next to a 2 km trek path, RK holidays is a modest accommodation, in budget without compromising on neatness/necessities.

Initial contact: After booking through cleartrip, I got 3 sms's a day before arrival from the owner, his initials are the same RK, not coincidental, I am sure :) These contained details about Hotel Landmark, welcome note and details on arrangements for pick up taxi.
I thought this was a nice and efficient way to welcome the guests.

It is just a 5 mins ride to the Main bus stand - ooty/ railway station (toy train) from the hotel. Taxi was waiting and the driver is a nice and quiet person who doubles up as the guesthouse attendant. His Hindi is a bit weak but functional.

On checkin, we were greeted by the owner. he explained the key tourist guidelines (govt ones). He used to be an IT professional before buying this property. There are 5 self contained rooms in the guesthouse. The owners stays in the property (basement I guess).

Room: decently furnished, neat and clean rooms opening up to a balcony with a grand view of the valley of OOTY. The view in the morning is really good. Curtains may be updated in future (They hang on strings at the moment and can be upgraded to panelled ones later). The hotel is simple and comfortable for family outings.

TV, Cupboard, basic furniture were all present. Bed was comfortable.

Food: The attendant (who can be called on his mobile - there being no intercom) will serve you great Tea/ coffee. He also has a few menu cards in possession (from the best restaurants) for ordering take aways which are served at your room. No extra charges for that. I found this useful as sometimes you are too tired in the night to go out for dinner and hotel kitchens are not always the best on taste. Also you have a range of cuisine to choose from and the same is easy on your pocket.

What to do while you are there:
Early morning you may like to go for a walk. There is a trekking path a bit ahead up the road (2 km long).

The Hotel offers booking into local sightseeing options ( 150 - 250 rs/person). there were three options.

All in all it is a value budget option. You may also consider it for weeklong stays.

Room Tip: Try the corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ginsnroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a good trip and though i dont rate RK Residency as a very great place, its worth value for money.
We struggled hard to find the place as there is NO board for this hotel !!
Thanks for the good service.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Pradeep K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
0.9 mi away
Blue Hills International
0.9 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#13 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
1.0 mi away
FabHotel Khems Ooty
FabHotel Khems Ooty
#34 of 78 in Ooty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Astoria Residency
Astoria Residency
#12 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#16 of 78 in Ooty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RK Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RK Holiday Homes

Property: RK Holiday Homes
Address: 27 Welbeck Road | Near Palms Auyurvedic Massage Center, Ooty, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Ooty
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
#9 Family Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very clean and neat budget hotel near Ooty Railway and Bus station (0.9KM). Each suite consisting of 1 bedroom with double bed, dressing room, bathroom and a balcony. Sony LCD TVs and Geyser in each room (Hot water timing 7:00AM to 10:00AM, 24 hr room service. Check-in 12:00 Noon, check-out next day 11:00AM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your RK Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
RK Holiday Homes India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing