We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
RK Holiday Homes
Nearby Hotels
Ponmari Residencyy(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sterling Ooty Elk Hill(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$96
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Flora Amberley Resort(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))(Great Value!)
$22
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$154
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$81
$65
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lakeview(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$122
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$81
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Gem Park-Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$89
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meadows Residency - Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
76
56
8
1
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
56
8
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsramesh kumarbus standnice personhot watersight seeingtea and coffeeroom servicepolite personguest houseview from the balconylanguage problemservice boyspositive pointsbudget placeplace to staysmall hotelfirst floor
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 146 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Although we were not the biggest fans of Ooty itself -somewhere along the way ‘Snooty Ooty’ (Once a posh retreat for distinguished officers) should now be renamed ‘Poopy Ooty’ to prevent further misinterpretation. Our trip, however, was really saved by the RK residency owner.

We were only there for 1 full day an so decided to walk around Ooty by foot- very easy from RK residency. This was a mistake. The small town and the man made lake are nothing to write home about. The main attractions, we later learnt, are in the surrounding areas and the hotel manager, Ramesh, can organize a tour for you for a very reasonable price. I wish we had taken him up on this offer!

Do also take him up on his offer to pick you up from the bus/train station. He did not charge us for this and it was very convenient. They also will go down to town to pick up food for you from local restaurants for no charge and provide cutlery so you can eat it in your room!

The room was basic but very clean and comfortable and great value for money. Ramesh even offered to switch on the hot water when we arrived outside the allotted time so we could freshen up.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jojofair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed in RK Residency for 3 nights 4 days

Overall had a comfortable stay

Positive Points
- Nice room. Very clean
- Awesome view from balcony
- Good service
- Budget hotel

Negative Points
- No power backup. 1 day and 1 night there was power cut.
- No near by restaurants. Request hotel people to arrange food for you (food is not that good)
- No proper hot water supply

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Sathyendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

A bit ahead of the Club Mahindra resorts and next to a 2 km trek path, RK holidays is a modest accommodation, in budget without compromising on neatness/necessities.

Initial contact: After booking through cleartrip, I got 3 sms's a day before arrival from the owner, his initials are the same RK, not coincidental, I am sure :) These contained details about Hotel Landmark, welcome note and details on arrangements for pick up taxi.
I thought this was a nice and efficient way to welcome the guests.

It is just a 5 mins ride to the Main bus stand - ooty/ railway station (toy train) from the hotel. Taxi was waiting and the driver is a nice and quiet person who doubles up as the guesthouse attendant. His Hindi is a bit weak but functional.

On checkin, we were greeted by the owner. he explained the key tourist guidelines (govt ones). He used to be an IT professional before buying this property. There are 5 self contained rooms in the guesthouse. The owners stays in the property (basement I guess).

Room: decently furnished, neat and clean rooms opening up to a balcony with a grand view of the valley of OOTY. The view in the morning is really good. Curtains may be updated in future (They hang on strings at the moment and can be upgraded to panelled ones later). The hotel is simple and comfortable for family outings.

TV, Cupboard, basic furniture were all present. Bed was comfortable.

Food: The attendant (who can be called on his mobile - there being no intercom) will serve you great Tea/ coffee. He also has a few menu cards in possession (from the best restaurants) for ordering take aways which are served at your room. No extra charges for that. I found this useful as sometimes you are too tired in the night to go out for dinner and hotel kitchens are not always the best on taste. Also you have a range of cuisine to choose from and the same is easy on your pocket.

What to do while you are there:
Early morning you may like to go for a walk. There is a trekking path a bit ahead up the road (2 km long).

The Hotel offers booking into local sightseeing options ( 150 - 250 rs/person). there were three options.

All in all it is a value budget option. You may also consider it for weeklong stays.

Room Tip: Try the corner rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ginsnroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a good trip and though i dont rate RK Residency as a very great place, its worth value for money.
We struggled hard to find the place as there is NO board for this hotel !!
Thanks for the good service.....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Pradeep K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Clean rooms, fresh bedsheets, clean toilets and great view..They also arranged for pickup from the bus stand when our bus reached at 11.30pm..They can provide you budget sightseeing options. There is no inhouse food facility but they can help you with the menucards and delivery of food...The Hotel is located close to the bus stand on a walkable distance, however walking may be a tiring option as it is located on hill slope. Overall a good hotel to stay for budget travellers.

Room Tip: We stayed in room no 1 dont know abt other rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mishu_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews