We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Stay at RK Residency” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of RK Holiday Homes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RK Holiday Homes
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Mangalore
1 review
“My Stay at RK Residency”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed in RK Residency for 3 nights 4 days

Overall had a comfortable stay

Positive Points
- Nice room. Very clean
- Awesome view from balcony
- Good service
- Budget hotel

Negative Points
- No power backup. 1 day and 1 night there was power cut.
- No near by restaurants. Request hotel people to arrange food for you (food is not that good)
- No proper hot water supply

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Sathyendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    51
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
60
47
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

A bit ahead of the Club Mahindra resorts and next to a 2 km trek path, RK holidays is a modest accommodation, in budget without compromising on neatness/necessities.

Initial contact: After booking through cleartrip, I got 3 sms's a day before arrival from the owner, his initials are the same RK, not coincidental, I am sure :) These contained details about Hotel Landmark, welcome note and details on arrangements for pick up taxi.
I thought this was a nice and efficient way to welcome the guests.

It is just a 5 mins ride to the Main bus stand - ooty/ railway station (toy train) from the hotel. Taxi was waiting and the driver is a nice and quiet person who doubles up as the guesthouse attendant. His Hindi is a bit weak but functional.

On checkin, we were greeted by the owner. he explained the key tourist guidelines (govt ones). He used to be an IT professional before buying this property. There are 5 self contained rooms in the guesthouse. The owners stays in the property (basement I guess).

Room: decently furnished, neat and clean rooms opening up to a balcony with a grand view of the valley of OOTY. The view in the morning is really good. Curtains may be updated in future (They hang on strings at the moment and can be upgraded to panelled ones later). The hotel is simple and comfortable for family outings.

TV, Cupboard, basic furniture were all present. Bed was comfortable.

Food: The attendant (who can be called on his mobile - there being no intercom) will serve you great Tea/ coffee. He also has a few menu cards in possession (from the best restaurants) for ordering take aways which are served at your room. No extra charges for that. I found this useful as sometimes you are too tired in the night to go out for dinner and hotel kitchens are not always the best on taste. Also you have a range of cuisine to choose from and the same is easy on your pocket.

What to do while you are there:
Early morning you may like to go for a walk. There is a trekking path a bit ahead up the road (2 km long).

The Hotel offers booking into local sightseeing options ( 150 - 250 rs/person). there were three options.

All in all it is a value budget option. You may also consider it for weeklong stays.

Room Tip: Try the corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ginsnroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a good trip and though i dont rate RK Residency as a very great place, its worth value for money.
We struggled hard to find the place as there is NO board for this hotel !!
Thanks for the good service.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Pradeep K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Clean rooms, fresh bedsheets, clean toilets and great view..They also arranged for pickup from the bus stand when our bus reached at 11.30pm..They can provide you budget sightseeing options. There is no inhouse food facility but they can help you with the menucards and delivery of food...The Hotel is located close to the bus stand on a walkable distance, however walking may be a tiring option as it is located on hill slope. Overall a good hotel to stay for budget travellers.

Room Tip: We stayed in room no 1 dont know abt other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mishu_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We a family of 11 adults stayed at this place on the 12th and 13th nov 2012.Its close to main town and very serene and very homely place to stay.The proprietor of this place Mr. Ramesh is very warm and welcoming,a gentleman!looked after us along with his staff.He also helped us in planning our trip to connoor by toy train.The rooms and toilets were clean,fresh,comfortable and spacious and very well ventilated.The view from the balcony of the city was awsome as the place is located on a hieght.The staff, Sarvan was very good and was available 24hrs.always ready to help.The place is excatly the same what you see on their website.food can be arranged and tea/coffee can be prepared at very nominal rates.It was a very pleasant stay,my whole family loved it and would definetly go back next time when i visit ooty.Overall a "HOME AWAY FROM HOME".Thankyou Mr. Ramesh.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sunnykent604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

This hotel is located close to bus stop, restaurants and all sight seeing places. The staff can speak English, hindi, tamil well. We stayed for four days and our experience was spectacular.
Rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable, Friendly staff, everything spotless, good value for money, good location as a beautiful view from balcony. The hotel owner is a decent man and the staff provides good room services.

Room Tip: Best room for family visit as staff takes care of all the needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sashidhar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

had very good and plesant time in RK Residency. room and toilet are Spacious,very clean and hygienic. view of the race course and citi from the hotel room balcony is very beautiful especially night time. it's worth for money.
would definitely recommend others

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sankar Chakrava... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
0.9 mi away
Blue Hills International
0.9 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#13 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
1.0 mi away
FabHotel Khems Ooty
FabHotel Khems Ooty
#34 of 78 in Ooty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#15 of 78 in Ooty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairstay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RK Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RK Holiday Homes

Property: RK Holiday Homes
Address: 27 Welbeck Road | Near Palms Auyurvedic Massage Center, Ooty, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Ooty
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
#9 Family Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very clean and neat budget hotel near Ooty Railway and Bus station (0.9KM). Each suite consisting of 1 bedroom with double bed, dressing room, bathroom and a balcony. Sony LCD TVs and Geyser in each room (Hot water timing 7:00AM to 10:00AM, 24 hr room service. Check-in 12:00 Noon, check-out next day 11:00AM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your RK Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
RK Holiday Homes India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing