We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MY WINTER TRIP”
Review of Palve Sugavasam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palve Sugavasam
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Warm Welcome.
Beautiful Location.
Neat and tidy room.
Honesty in their attitudes.
Best services.
I like Palve sugavasam.
Only minus is way to sugavasam is very narrow.
- Sinnamaruthu.B.Sc.,B.L.,
BHEL, Trichy-14.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sinnamaruthu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 125 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

We went Ooty to celebrate my birthday. Initially this was not planned. After reaching home at 10pm on friday night I asked my wife, lets go to ooty and celebrate there. She was very much exited and immediately started searching for hotels. She got this hotel number and called the immediately. Rooms were confirmed orally.

We started at 8 am and reached Mysore by 12 noon, hired a driver as I afraid of ghat road. Reached Ooty by 5 pm, did some shopping and reached the hotel by 7 pm

Pluses of Hotel
- Good Ambiance
- Value for Money
- Quality Food (Spicy- Full of mirchi and pepper powder)- need to be cautious while ordering

Minus

- Approachability - Not well connected with main road

Go without much expectations. You can enjoy your stay. Caution - You need to have your own transport.

Room Tip: Prefer rooms at top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shyam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We went there thinking that it was a good hotel but after we went there we got to know the true colors of the hotel.The heater which was provided was not working was not at all heating and we had to sleep in the cold weather.There was no hot water coming in the tap and we had to get the hot water in buckets from outside and they were stingy in supplying the hot water.So we decided to leave the hotel the next day itself as it was not even worth the money at all..so I would never recomment this hotel for anyone.I would advice you to stay away from this hotel...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muralidhara1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were a group of 6 friends who decided to visit Ooty last weekend. We booked Palve Sugavasam through a membership option. We had seen the reviews on trip advisor and we did not have great expectations about this place.
We reached Ooty by 6 pm on a Saturday evening and we called the resort from the Ooty bus stand. The manager gave us clear directions and there were sign boards in every corner which made it very easy for us to reach the destination.It was a cool evening, and the sun had almost set by the time we entered the place. The resort, or maybe i should call it a "holiday home" was set amidst tea gardens and was facing endless green landscape.
We had booked the diamond rooms which were interconnected . The rooms were very neat and the toilets were very clean too. They supplied fresh towels and soap for every member in the room.
The rooms had a geyser and we could use hot water for all purposes. This was a plus point as the weather was very chill when we visited.
We ordered some starters for the evening, which were sent to the room within half an hour. The portions were good and the taste was pretty good as well.
The dinner was a set menu of veg and non veg items and we had to choose from it. Tea and Coffee were also served whenever requested.
South Indian style breakfast was served in buffet style in the mornings between 7-10 am.
The rooms did not have a heater, which maybe a minus for people visiting in Winter and those who are not accustomed to cold climate. It definitely does not need a fan or AC as the room was quite chilly without them.
The place is about 2 -3 kms from the main bus stop and is quite close to the main attractions like Botanical Gardens,Boat House, Commercial Road etc. But please keep in mind that the stretch from the resort to the main road is not walkable in the evenings as it gets dark.
The weekend we chose was a rainy period and it kept raining most of the times. We did not visit Botanical Gardens and the boat house due to the huge crowds at both the places. We drove to Conoor to give our eyes a "green" treat. The drive was really worth it.
Overall it was a very good and relaxing trip and we were very satisfied with Palve Sugavasam

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JiniKart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

this hotel is 4 km away from the city. every time you want to go out you have to call taxi or auto to reach within city. food quality was also not good. view from the hotel is very scenic. it is surrounded with tea estate...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajkishor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The resort was good and it was very scenic location .The people over there were very good and acompany was good.They provides all the necessary things as and then.Room service is good .Breakfast was excellent

Room Tip: Room beside the tea trees is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amrutha12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We ( My wife and myself) had spent 3N/ 4D at Palve Sugavasam in the month of December 2011 . The hotel is located in a very scenic location with tea estate on one side and hills all around . The people there are very courteous and make you feel at home . Some of the rooms have a sit out over looking the tea plantation but unfortunately our room did not have one. The food is really good but the service is not up to the mark . If they can work on the service part , they can really take this place to new heights. The person in charge Mr Ravikumar was a very lively person giving us guidances and suggestions on places to visit and he planned out the entire sight seeing part for us. The charge for hiring the cab at Palve is slightly high when compared to what you get in the town , but its worth the money you spend as the driver (Mr Nagaraj) is trustworthy and he took the extra pain of ensuring that we get the best of everything during the trip. All in all a wonderful holiday .

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a sitout facing the tea estate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vikas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.1 mi away
Space4 Resorts
Space4 Resorts
#57 of 168 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bouganvilla
Bouganvilla
#4 of 213 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
222 reviews
7.1 mi away
Tulips Elk Hill Resort
Tulips Elk Hill Resort
#17 of 213 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Delightz Inn Resorts
Delightz Inn Resorts
#2 of 168 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holi...
#5 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
724 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mount 'n' Mist
Mount 'n' Mist
#1 of 168 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palve Sugavasam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palve Sugavasam

Address: Bishop Down Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 213 Specialty Lodging in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $36 - $988 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palve Sugavasam 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a calm and peaceful surroundings with a breathtaking views from the rooms and a well maintained garden, Palve Sugavasam is an ideal choice for honeymoon couples, small/large families eager to savor and cherish the charming and luxury cottage. By providing all the essential comforts, Palve Sugavasam is a hotel which functions like a home stay and run by a family since 2010, who till date strives to maintain the new world charm with a friendly service. The scenic splendor and the overwhelming serenity provide tourists the opportunity to relax lazily in the lap of nature and have a holiday of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Palve Sugavasam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palve Sugavasam India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing