We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I am not sure....”
Review of Shinkows

Shinkows
Ranked #48 of 144 Restaurants in Ooty
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bangalore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“I am not sure....”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I am not sure why this restaurant is rated so high, as I found the food to be strictly average, compared to the Chinese restaurants in Bangalore I have eaten from. Service is non-existent except that they bring and keep your food on the table - no offer to even serve it.

I wanted to order a dry pork item and told the waiter that I do not need batter fried preparation. There were none and finally ended up ordering a gravy dish. Surprise, the meat in the gravy dish was batter fried.

When the bill is presented, the waiter mentions that service charge is not levied (implicit hint for adding a tip).

Parking can be challenging considering it is located right by the side of the main road.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Binu_Mohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    85
    48
    28
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great quaint place”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Such a cute place in the middle of ooty with authentic Chinese Indian food. Great value for money with interesting items on the menu like Cashewnut chicken. Great service. Little grubby but that's ok. We went there twice in 3 days and would go back again for sure. The rice and dry items are yummy. Must visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank archanaachal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palakkad, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stomach Upset”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Me & Wife had stomach upset after dinner @ Shinkows.
Chicken pieces used in fried rice and noodles was not fresh and not properly mixed.
Rice used for fried rice was of poor quality and not properly fried.
We didn't like the chilly chicken also. Batter used for it was of bad taste.
In short the FOOD@Shinkows is terrible.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank nkratheesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Old memories renewed”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

chicken in hot garlic sauce is still as mouthwatering as 4 years ago. if you go in for early lunch the service is faster. old world charm. good quantity of food per serving.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mobilefeet5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chinese in India - YES!”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Who knew some of the best chinese food I've ever had would be in India? It felt kind of weird to travel all the way to India, for our driver to drop us off here when we told him it was lunchtime.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2010uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shinkows also viewed

Ooty, The Nilgiris District
 
Ooty, The Nilgiris District
 

Been to Shinkows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing