We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible food”
Review of Shinkows

Shinkows
Ranked #48 of 144 Restaurants in Ooty
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Though they claim to be the best chinese restaurant in Ooty, the food they serve hardly tasted Chinese. The quality of food is really Pathetic. Try some other restaurants for good food.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank HarishMenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    85
    48
    28
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Oldest Chinese I know in India”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Really old Chinese restaurant with an Indian twist to taste.still extremely popular though and we shall be back for sure in the future. Service ambles along and food is reasonably good

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beijingheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stuck in time”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I have been to Shinkows a number of times growing up in Ooty. And i can see how the place has deteriorated over the years. The food is quite bad. I mean, if a chinese restaurant can get a Chicken noodles wrong then its really sad. This is one of those places which is part of Ooty's heritage so to speak and may be one can go there to tick it off the list but definitely not for the food although quite reasonably priced.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Abhi-Blore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A Brand called Chinese”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Shinkows at Ooty, needs no introduction. For it is a destination that all regulars come to while in Ooty. No great ambience, but the food is top of the world. Try the pork roast or the beef roast. The prices are most reasonable. We had a full meal and the price came to less than Rs 250 i.e. $5.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank VoyageurIndien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
244 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good food and location”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Been there with my family. Had American Chopsuey, fried rice, chilly beef and some chicken. There was good quantity and food was very tasty. The service was fast. The ambience is the same since so many years and gives a nostalgic feeling....feels nice to have it that way.

The washrooms require urgent renovation and hope they do something soon.

Would love to come back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shinkows also viewed

Ooty, The Nilgiris District
 
Ooty, The Nilgiris District
 
Ooty, The Nilgiris District
Ooty, The Nilgiris District
 

Been to Shinkows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing