We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the stay”
Review of Maruthi Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maruthi Cottages
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Maruthi cottages, Ooty is a good place to stay when you go with your family. You get kitchen, utensils etc. I stayed their for three days and two nights. I felt the facility their was great. We got good guide from Mr. Ravi the Managing Director and planned our site seeing accordingly. It is also well connected to the ooty town. The cost is also nominal. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay over there. I will choose this hotels in my future visits too.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raghav_sri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 64 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2011

I came to Know about this cottage thru the review. I was initially very sceptical of this place initially because of one very negative review, then I called the M,D of the cottage Named Mr.Ravi, he his very good and had enough patience to reply to my questions. He promised that his resort would fulfill our expectations if not he promised to pay the money back.
We have asked for a single room cottage and cab to pick us from coimbatore and also asked him to arrange for sight seeing, but he has provided us a double bedroom cottage and not charged extra for that. From day 1 till we reached bangalore we enjoyed a lot in the cottage and the service provided was very good. The ambience in the rooms are too good. The interior decorations are done with great artistic taste. Rooms and toilets are very clean.
* I have heard that people in Ooty are known for their hospitality and I experienced the same in this cottage and especially Mr.Ravi was too good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nirmala_devi_baskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I was initially very sceptical of this place initially because of one very negative review. I then called the owner(Mr Ravi) and asked him about it. he assured me that I need not pay if I did not like the place.
We were a family of 8 people and stayed here for 4 days in the 3 bedroom cottage. It was a pretty good cottage and located fairly conveniently. We also paid extra to get vessels so that we could cook and carry food.
There were some minor inconveniences(listed in cons) but overall we were pretty happy with the service provided
Pros:
1. Location -> very close to the center of the city, botanical gardens is a short walk
2. Price -> Very reasonable for the 4 days stay for 8 people
3. Quality of the rooms -> Rooms were nicely maintained
4. Knowledgeable and Friendly staff -> The staff were very helpful about the places to go and stay, and provided us reliable driver services. The staff were very friendly and made us feel at home.
Cons:
1. Hot water early morning was unreliable on one of the days of stay
2. Vessels provided with the kitchen were old

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bhaskar_bharath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

I and my 60 HIV postive children between the age group from 5 to 16 had a wonderful time at Maruthi Cottages. The services and food were excellent. Mr. Ravi & his brother Madhu are dynamic people who took care of us since the day we reached. Children felt like home. People who plan their trvael to Ooty kindly make this your spot to stay and feel the difference.

Room Tip: Unconditional Love & Acceptance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sanjivavileli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Even though the reservation was booked and confirmed by email our rooms were given away. We were fobbed off with a series of lies and excuses. Do not book here unless you are willing to gamble on whether they will give your rooms away before you arrive.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank Throcmorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I booked this hotel and sent an email to confirm as requested. I also explained that we would not arrive until 6.30 -7pm. When we arrived we were told there was no booking for us. We were told first that they didn't have email. Secondly that they did and had sent us an email which they had not, amd thirdly that I had told them that we would be arriving at 4pm. The owner had obviously given our rooms to someone else. He did try to find us alternative accommodation but it was not acceptable. So risk at your peril.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lour123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

I came know about this cottages thru the reviews. We were around 10 and stayed in a 3 bedroom cottage. The rooms were very good with all required facilities for a family. The rates were also nominal. The cottage is located in a very prime place in the heart of the town. Can improve a little more on room service.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinky_lal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0 mi away
The Surya Village
The Surya Village
#23 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
67 reviews
0 mi away
Blue Hills International
Blue Hills International
#36 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
153 reviews
0 mi away
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
#52 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ponmari Residencyy
Ponmari Residencyy
#28 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
320 reviews
0 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
834 reviews
0 mi away
Anmol's Cottage
Anmol's Cottage
#87 of 172 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maruthi Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maruthi Cottages

Address: 167A Cornation Avenue,, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $27 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Maruthi Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Maruthi Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maruthi Cottages India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing