We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHO CERTIFIED THIS UNDER RESORT ??”
Review of Doddabetta Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Doddabetta Resort
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Travelling to Ooty, everyone one of us have a lot of expectations, however when you check-in to a “so called resort” like DODDABETTA you are going to be utterly disappointed!! The location of the resort is wonderful, but that's not all one looks for!! After all you haven't travelled all the way to Ooty, just to witness the scenic beauty. It's a very small property to start off with, it has around 16 double room, which apparently have been again categorised under different classes (god knows how, they look the same from interior as well as exterior). Getting there is a pain if you don't have your personal vehicle, hiring a cab would cost you no less than 200 INR, where as an auto rickshaw would cost you around 150 INR, that too if you are a 'good negotiator'. Its 6 kms up-hill journey form the Ooty Bus stand or Railway station. Coming back to the city centre would cost you around 100 INR (without luggage) 150-200 INR (with luggage). In addition to that the local state road bus service is fairly regular, costs 5 INR for the same distance; however the buses will either be crowded or over crowded on most occasions. Resort looks okay from outside, the horror strikes once you get in! And you suddenly start feeling, is it worth the bucks I have spent, let me tell you it’s just the beginning. All hell is going to cut loose now:
* Rooms are not clean.
* Bed sheets-pillow covers are not changed daily.
* Hand or bath towels are not offered.
* No bathroom amenities like soap, shampoo, shower-cap, etc.
* The food quality is not acceptable n highly over-priced.
* Don’t offer you extra bed; instead they give extra mattress to sleep on the floor.

All in all you don't feel the actual vibe of a tourist destination like Ooty, except for the view the resort offers, courtesy its location.

So please look out other options, preferably in the city centre, unless otherwise you have fascination of staying on a hill top, when already at a hill station, if so there a few other options and a few new properties coming up.

The tourist peak season is just round the corner, don’t get disappointed, have a wonderful time with your friends and family!! Cheers....

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
3  Thank ishansp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2011

Please dont go by the pictures they have posted. No proper maintainance, the hotel surrounding is full of garbage disposed and is smelling badly. the water supply in the rooms which was alloted as a suite to us were not there.On asking we were told that they are waiting for plumber. the towels which they supplied was very dirty and stained. Bed sheets were stained and dirty. For 4 people they gave 2 towels and water and glasses were provided after repeated asking. Food was very horrible. Its total Wastage of Money to land here

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Payel_Swarup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Hi, This is one of the worst resort in my life. I had seen the review comment here but I did not believe that. Please avoid booking in this resort. Do not have room service, toilet horrible. no bed sheet and pillow.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jiten011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

One of the most horrible places to stay. Please dont go by the pictures, the place is not even close to anywhere near to what is shown. All i could do was to stay for one day and it was hell. The basic facilities like clean bathroom, working taps and clean water are not there in this place. For every thing u need to go to the reception where nobody will be there to assist you. They supply some smelly, dirty brown coloured water and say this i what they get to supply. Food...i dont think even animals will eat it. We ordered for vegatable fried rice, chappathi and dal. The fried rice had only salt .. no vegatables in it and dal had only turmeric. My whole trip got screwed bcoz of this stupid place and staff. I would strongly and highly recommend not to stay at this place. Its ok even u dont have a booking, but dont stay at this place

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly and negotiate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank satish_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

I went with family in April 2011 (peak season time) to Ooty. Since no other hotel was available, we had to book this hotel. We booked it through hotelpushpak.com as this hotel does not have a reservation desk of its own. The room charges : Rs. 1800 per day. Extra bed : Rs. 300.

Disappointing points :
1. Water that is supplied to this hotel is from the panchayat, so it is absolutely muddy. We had to buy and use bottled water for brushing our teeth and other important tasks.
2. The hotel does not have a cook of its own. A cook comes at a particular time, makes only a couple of items (limited item variety and quantity) and leaves. It took us 2.5 hours to get soup!!! Masala omlette and idlis were uncooked and mushy from the inside. The hotel does have a menu card but its of no use.
3. Bedroom and Bathroom were not cleaned regularly unless told to.
4. On the first day, we had no TV in our room due to a short circuit with the cable box.
5. The rooms have the sockets for 4 bulbs but we were given only 1/2 bulbs in the room which did not brighten up the room enough
6. Channels in TV are all basic ones - In Hindi : Colors, DD National, Star Utsav and MTV only
7. The hotel was understaffed with only 2 people working in the throughout hotel. Because of this, service was late and sometimes food was denied because of too many guests in the hotel.
8. If you order a chicken dish like butter chicken : you will get only 1 leg piece and watery gravy
9. Over the phone we were told that the hotel will arrange for a car to pick us up from the airport at the cost of Rs. 1500 but when we arrived at the hotel, we were charged Rs. 1600.
10. The location of the hotel is very far away from the main ooty market. You will not be able to walk to and from the market. You will need to hire a vehicle. The vehicle costs Rs. 150 - 200 for one way to the market.
11. There was a telephone in the room but was not working. So we had to go out to the balcony and shout out the hotel's workers name to get anything.
Overall, not the most convinient place to stay in! It was understaffed and understocked

Upsides :
1. Staff was veryyy gentle, polite and helpful. They tried their level best to make all possible arrangements for us. Did not complain
2. Each room has a sitout / balcony which is really nice to have in a hill station like ooty.
3. Room size is fine : Not too small and not too big. We were 3 people in 1 room and could adjust very comfortably.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor for good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank leo_pgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0 mi away
La Flora Amberley Resort
La Flora Amberley Resort
#15 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
421 reviews
0 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,101 reviews
0 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#8 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Treebo Yantra Leisures
Treebo Yantra Leisures
#13 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
249 reviews
0 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#6 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,058 reviews
0 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#12 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doddabetta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doddabetta Resort

Address: Near Dodabetta Junction, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643002, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $25 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Doddabetta Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Doddabetta Resort India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing