We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a memorable stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ratan Tata Officers Holiday Home (RTOHH)
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Mr. Ratan Tata and his good lady, shall live on in the hearts of ex - servicemen for eons to come, for bequeathing this "wonderland" to us.
I went back to stay in this exquisite property in February 2013, - after a gap of 40 years.
In 1972, we were paying Rs 12(twelve) as board and lodging!!! It was a steal then!
This time, we were paying Rs 600 odd for the upper end accommodation!!! Unbelievable low price- for whats on offer. A real "steal" now!.
And there is no better location in all of Ooty!!
The en -suite baths are spanking new - but - a suggestion - not criticism - the beds could do with upgradation!
Was deeply impressed by the upkeep of this property, the renovations, the service and ofcourse, the staff.!!!

The quality of food - especially the lunch and dinner - could do with substantial improvement.
An upward revision of prices of the food would be welcomed if the fare is improved..
Also suggest withdrawal of the "north Indian" menu - it is bad and request that the continental fare of yore be reintroduced.
suggest that additional staff be hired for prompt-er room service
would love to go back - again ...and again..were we not living so far away- in Gurgaon!

Room Tip: the rooms in the front are better - easier access to the landscaped front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank harishkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 42 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

Comfortable and pocket friendly stay. Good ambiance, reasonably good food at affordable price, easy approach AND CENTRALLY LOCATED.
One can use solar hot water round the clock. Good room service. One can also indulge in walking since they have proper walking track. Also, a small children park with Burma bridge. The officer in-charge and the staff are all very helpful..

Room Tip: room no 3 &4 are interconnected for a family with grown up children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shankarchakde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have stayed in RTOHH on Aug 18 night with my wife and 2 sons of 5 years and 2 years at Room no 8. We planned for 2 days. But my younger son who was already having fever and cough while starting from chennai, developed more intense cough at night and I don’t want to risk the next day also.(I think he cannot tolerate the ooty temperate of 11 C).
We decided to return back to Chennai next day. I was so fortunate to book this heavenly place that we just spend few hours around the 8 arcs surrounding of this property. And my wife felt this is sufficient and not much missing feeling(But we really missed ooty…). Only drawback is , room service is poor. We asked for a room heater and couldn’t get. I have to go the service boy at midnight to get one . Food was ok. But you need to order in advance and wait for it(military style I guess). Rooms are ok with tv and neat attached bathroom.(We never got a chance to view tv!!)The best part of it is the ambience and the charming colonial entrance with fire place(guess not working now), drawing room with huge portrait of Sri Ratan Tata and grand dining hall. We were the only civilian guest on this day and majority of guests are Armed force service people, we got a chance to feel their gentleman behavior.This is how its is ,after checking in and going to the room, my son found the Pool table and he said it’s the same he has seen in Tom&Terry cartoon. While going out he again found 2 officer gentleman playing it. He just paused for a minute and followed me. Suddenly I could hear a voice from the room ,pls join us baby. He was so thrilled and just ran to the officer. That officer gentleman helped him to hold the stick and put a ball. Again next day at breakfast hall, its almost pin drop silence. My elder son was playing with spoon and fork and as usual making lot of noise. He was surprised and asked why nobody was making any noise ? and I said service people are gentleman(My father is an ex army CAPT, and I know what is discipline in their standard).
If you are looking for no frill holiday in a peaceful environment at economical rate (1500/- all inclusive with breakfast)and If you are fortunate to get a room at your requested date , just go ahead.

Jossy
Chennai.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jossyjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Firstly , the accommodation was comfortable with room heater facility (Rs 75 per day) , LCD TV with tata sky connection , room service and wooden flooring. The bathrooms are spacious with temperature control geysers. The geysers are provided with a separate meter. Intercom facility is available and all basic f&b services such as coffee/tea/water/juice/wafers are available on call.

The locale is unique , ROHH is located in a lavish 2 acre land with hundreds of trees. This gives a feel of staying away from the city yet u are closer to all important tourist places of interest. A petrol bunk and a Hyderabadi Briyani restaurant are located at less than 300 meters. A small walkers path is available within the hotel premises. Just perfect for a lonely morning walk for couples.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank senthilkumar1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

an excellent stay. south indian break fast was very good. dinner and lunch to improve commensurating the cost(kindly don't compare ooty hotel rates). availability of cooks need to improve to cater to the requirements of guests. since Army is resourceful establishment it will not be big issue for MRC to manage with more and and more services.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank nagarajan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I had stayed here in 1998 with my wife and now again with our daughter. it's not he money that matters it's the ambience. situated in a silent, cool place with plenty of pine trees to make u bit romantic, this could be the best place for an Army Officer with excellent support staff, good food and service, good,spacious,clean rooms with clean bathrooms, gives u a rich feel. It is ideally located, away from the crowded town, i have very high regards for this place. The forst time we were here (1998) we were invited by the officer in charge Late Lt Col Connor and his wife for a drink in their house where we were joined by their Fauji friends who narrated their intresting WORLD WAR stories. WONDERFUL PLACE!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Just ask for a room !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank tkrajesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

wow is the word....
a wonderful place. Thanks to Sir Ratan Tata for gifting such a beautiful place to army officers.

beautiful location uphill and beautiful well maintained garden.

wooden flooring and gives a typical ambience of a good old army mess.

food was excellent with great hospitality. its a great value for the little money that we spend there. only problem is the bookings which are not very easy to get.

it would be great if something can be done about improvements in bathrooms.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank madhulsinghal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.3 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#6 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,046 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
845 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
#54 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Flora Amberley Resort
La Flora Amberley Resort
#19 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bouganvilla
Bouganvilla
#4 of 224 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
226 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sanctuary Boutique Hotel Ooty
Sanctuary Boutique Hotel Ooty
#11 of 224 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratan Tata Officers Holiday Home (RTOHH)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratan Tata Officers Holiday Home (RTOHH)

Address: Near Ooty Bus Stand, Ooty (Udhagamandalam), India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 224 Specialty Lodging in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Ratan Tata Officers Holiday Home (Rtohh) Hotel Ootacamund
Ratan Tata Officers Holiday Home (RTOHH) India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing