We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort with a View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Mahindra Derby Green
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Club Mahindra is located at a very good location having excellent view of entire OOTY. Rooms are very good, very comfortable. Service is par excellence. Activities in the evening are fun to participate in. Rooms are very neat and clean and service is prompt and very courteous.

Room Tip: Rooms 1028 to 1035 are having best view of the race course and OOTY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhuvnesh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Hi Bhuvnesh,

Thank you for providing us feedback and wonderful to know you enjoyed your vacation. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. Our resort staff will be absolutely thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed your stay, but also the activities our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be delighted to receive your compliments. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better. Looking forward to welcoming you at our other resorts soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 678 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed at Club Mahindra Derby Green for two nights and just loved everything about it. Its a vast heritage property maintained perfectly.Lots of activities for kids(though chargeable and quite nominal). Our room was a bit cranked as i was given a executive one but the view of the race course right from the outside of our room was splendid. Cleanliness was A1,courteous staff and tasty breakfast added to a wonderful holiday.Play area is good. OVERALL a very pleasant stay and would recommend to fellow travellers who visit the Queen of Hills...:-)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ekta_A_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Hi Ekta,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Ooty resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the ambience, but also the dining experience and the various activities our resort offered. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had stayed at ooty on 10th & 11th of April, 2014 in studio.... The room was very neat & clean. Their housekeeping is excellent.. Though bathrooms were tiny and disappointing but can not blame the club since it's a bought over property. Their USP is food. All chefs are so good and serve finger licking, lip smacking food, be it at breakfast, lunch or dinner. We must thank chef Jaidev, Sujeet, and their restaurant staff for taking excellent care..The property is small but facing the race course .. In the city but away from the hustle bustle.... Overall it was an excellent stay comparable to any 5 star hotel...

Room Tip: Studio and 1 br rooms are batter....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NGandhiMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for the feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you holidayed at the Club Mahindra resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience, but also the hospitality our resort offered. We're certain our chef Jaidev and Sujeet will be thrilled to receive your appreciation. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Located in the heart of the city, the hotel has certain advantages for sure. However if you are in Ooty to enjoy nature, this isn't the best place for you. The hotel is a refurbished old property situated that overlooks the crowded town on one side and a poorly-kept race course on the other - unfortunately, can't say the views are great.
We were a group of 3 families and had booked in advance via Cleartrip (we are not Club Mahindra members). The deal was decent but there were several things that left us underwhelmed:
1. One of the 3 rooms we got was extremely tiny and with absolutely no view at all.
2. The property is not very well maintained.(Or maybe our standards are high :-|)
3. The service (check-in, check-out, housekeeping) was slow and clumsy - we had to remind them of our booking terms again and again. We needed an extra bed for which we had paid in advance, but the bed was placed after the 6th request.
4. Breakfast was included only for the first morning. Strange package design!

What we liked:
1. The food though expensive tasted great! Congratulations to the chefs and the restaurant service staff for doing a great job there. Keep up the good work.
2. The ayurvedic centre/spa is a good addition - the doctor is friendly and caring.

Room Tip: The rooms meant for members are probably better. The ones at the back are tiny - if you are claustro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avonnov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Hi,

Having read your review, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our members and realize have fallen short of the same on this occasion. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. We also request you to provide any further information or feedback that you might have on our Facebook page at the “Listening Post” tab. Additionally, we also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Nice place near the race course. Beautiful location. Panaromic view of the hotel and the city. Awesome dinner and very good service of the staff members. Lot of activity for the family. Adventure activities. Get together for all the people staying there. Overall value for money.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank JalanSaket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Hi,

Thanks so much for writing in and we are absolutely glad to have received your feedback regarding your stay at our resort. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. Our resort staff will be absolutely thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the hospitality but also the dining experience at our resort. We'll certainly pass along your compliments to them. Please continue to provide us feedback regarding your visits to our resorts as it enable us to serve our members better. Thanks once again and looking forward to welcoming you at our other resorts soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Like all club mahindra resorts, this too is a place with character. The rooms were well-kept and large. We had a huge bay window( bourbon block) that could easily pass off as a bed as well as a convertible sofa in our room.Being a family of four, that was quite comfortable! The staff was friendly and warm. The adventure acitvities need a special mention. The guided trip to Cairn hills was also arranged by the hotel.The view from the topmost point was breathtakingly beautiful! The daily activities can be quite entertaining, Though they were not keeping time, once you approach them, they would do it right away! There was a slight foul smell from the bathroom. But the house-keeping staff were prompt.They were innovative too with their craft with the bath towels! You can while away time playing croquet,learning salsa, jive and a lot more!
Being an eighteen year old,I would say club mahindra derby green has lived upto the standards! The friendly, motivated staff and the ambience make it a cherishable experience!it is one that lives upto the term 'family holiday'

Room Tip: We stayed at the bourbon block with the studio apartment. I would recommend that over the the one-be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annievinod_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Hi,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience and the activities, but also the hospitality our resort offered. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We checked in on 31st March & Checked out on 5th April, a relatively long stay (most people stay for 3-4 days but I think that a stay of 5 days is optimum). We had 2 rooms for a 3 member family. I had stayed for a day in another 4 star hotel before coming here. The auto that I hired to transfer myself from Fortune to Durbey Green charged me Rs 150/-. I came to know the next day that the correct fare would have been Rs80/- or at the most Rs100. Anyway, such thing is common at tourist places but not so much in Ooty. The Mahindra resort is far better than the 4 star hotel at least from a tourist pont of view. When we arrived, the courteous guards at the gate had our booking in their list and guided us to the reception which is slightly at a higher elevation. We were attended promptly. After filling up a short form and Id proof etc, we were taken to our rooms that were at a lower level. Though called "hotel type' rooms, the style is that of cottages. I like cottages very much because, for guys like me who live in apartments in a Metro City, its a boon. Rooms are rather quite small. I was explained that Club Mahindra had not constructed this 137 years ol property and that it was acquired (from Das Prakash, I learned later). The USP of this property is the location. Its just a road distance from Ooty Race Course. I think, the name "Durby Green" has come from the proximity to the race course. The Ooty main Bus Stand is just 5 minutes walk and there are several restaurants, eating joints and utility shops around the bus stand. Ooty Lake is also about quite close (Rs 50 by auto) . The railway station is also adjacent to the Bus Stand. On the first night, we were not in a mood to have a full fledged dinner. So, I could go to a restaurant at 8:30 pm and got packed dinner for my family. I could also get an Ointment from a Chemist shop. One mistake that we made was to not carrying woolens. In this regard, Information on internet could be misleading. It was showing 37 Deg C on the net. But evenings and mornings can be rather cold. Coming back to Club Mahindra Durby Green, its nice clean place. Food is excellent. The verity is good even for vegetarians. On some days, even Jain dishes were on offer. The Chef Mr Rajesh interacts with guests and tries to offer any specific request or requirement. Both South Indian and North Indian (genuine taste) food is available in buffet. The verity of salads offered with the buffet itself is enormous.We did not avail Ala Carte nor the room service. There are good number of holiday activities like Table Tennis, Movies and adventure events available. I could not use any of these for want of time. I found that most co-guests were quite relaxed and enjoying their stay. The resort staff like most persons in Ooty is quite courteous. Autos/Taxis are available just at the gate of the resort. Rooms have a tea/coffee kattle but no kitchenette in Hotel type rooms but the facility is available in Studio type of rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Race Course could be better but I don't think that its important because in a touri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dhulev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Ooty. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the hospitality our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.8 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#9 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,236 reviews
2.6 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,071 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,030 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
833 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#13 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Derby Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Derby Green

Address: 29 - 49 Baikey Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#6 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $61 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Mahindra Derby Green 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Club Mahindra Derby Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Derby Green India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing