We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Club Mahindra Derby Green
Nearby Hotels
Ponmari Residencyy(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sterling Ooty Elk Hill(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$134
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$153
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Flora Amberley Resort(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$137
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sabol Holiday Resorts(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$115
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Destiny Farmstay(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$155
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fortune Retreats Resorts - Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))(Great Value!)
$118
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mount 'n' Mist(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))(Great Value!)
$50
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (731)
Filter reviews
731 results
Traveler rating
257
339
97
28
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
257
339
97
28
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrace courseheritage propertyfun zonegreen resortcm resortsrailway stationadventure activitiesstudio apartmentactivity centersofa cum bedrooms are smallbus standnice propertywelcome drinkmaintained propertyexcellent resortbuffet spread
Filter
Updating list...
506 - 511 of 731 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We checked in on 31st March & Checked out on 5th April, a relatively long stay (most people stay for 3-4 days but I think that a stay of 5 days is optimum). We had 2 rooms for a 3 member family. I had stayed for a day in another 4 star hotel before coming here. The auto that I hired to transfer myself from Fortune to Durbey Green charged me Rs 150/-. I came to know the next day that the correct fare would have been Rs80/- or at the most Rs100. Anyway, such thing is common at tourist places but not so much in Ooty. The Mahindra resort is far better than the 4 star hotel at least from a tourist pont of view. When we arrived, the courteous guards at the gate had our booking in their list and guided us to the reception which is slightly at a higher elevation. We were attended promptly. After filling up a short form and Id proof etc, we were taken to our rooms that were at a lower level. Though called "hotel type' rooms, the style is that of cottages. I like cottages very much because, for guys like me who live in apartments in a Metro City, its a boon. Rooms are rather quite small. I was explained that Club Mahindra had not constructed this 137 years ol property and that it was acquired (from Das Prakash, I learned later). The USP of this property is the location. Its just a road distance from Ooty Race Course. I think, the name "Durby Green" has come from the proximity to the race course. The Ooty main Bus Stand is just 5 minutes walk and there are several restaurants, eating joints and utility shops around the bus stand. Ooty Lake is also about quite close (Rs 50 by auto) . The railway station is also adjacent to the Bus Stand. On the first night, we were not in a mood to have a full fledged dinner. So, I could go to a restaurant at 8:30 pm and got packed dinner for my family. I could also get an Ointment from a Chemist shop. One mistake that we made was to not carrying woolens. In this regard, Information on internet could be misleading. It was showing 37 Deg C on the net. But evenings and mornings can be rather cold. Coming back to Club Mahindra Durby Green, its nice clean place. Food is excellent. The verity is good even for vegetarians. On some days, even Jain dishes were on offer. The Chef Mr Rajesh interacts with guests and tries to offer any specific request or requirement. Both South Indian and North Indian (genuine taste) food is available in buffet. The verity of salads offered with the buffet itself is enormous.We did not avail Ala Carte nor the room service. There are good number of holiday activities like Table Tennis, Movies and adventure events available. I could not use any of these for want of time. I found that most co-guests were quite relaxed and enjoying their stay. The resort staff like most persons in Ooty is quite courteous. Autos/Taxis are available just at the gate of the resort. Rooms have a tea/coffee kattle but no kitchenette in Hotel type rooms but the facility is available in Studio type of rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Race Course could be better but I don't think that its important because in a tourist place, people don't spend much time in their rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dhulev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Ooty. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the hospitality our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Derby green resort is a nice place close to the city. It is well maintained except that I had some weird smell coming from the bathroom. it was taken care by the staff promptly. The staff are very courteous and helpful. The food quality and taste was awesome. I also took the SPA and felt very refreshing post the spa session.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sachin_Shetty_Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Hi Sachin,

We are really glad to have received your feedback. Our resort team will be thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay and the dining experience. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information, please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We booked this as Club Mahindra members and stayed in a Studio room on the first floor. The room was really good, I especially love the little touches that the housekeeping staff leaves when they clean your room with the towels. It is creative and brings a smile to your face. Yes, the area of the rooms and outside is a little less, especially compared to other Mahindra resorts, but considering we are in the middle of town, the amenities make up for it. The staff was especially courteous and easy to talk to.

The restaurant was good, but expensive if you're not a member. But again, because of the location, that is also not a problem as you can just eat out if you want. We, personally preferred the in-house buffet in the mornings. The spa experience was great! Very nice and accommodating staff and they deserve a special mention.

Thank you for a very pleasant and relaxing experience!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are preferable as you have your own personal space (Balcony) for morning tea, with a great view!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Hi Anu,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We are glad you liked our accommodation, the dining experience , the hospitality and the spa our resort offered. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Dont even think of booking a hotel unit (a regular room) here. They are very very small, cant even walk without getting bumped into the furniture. Fortunately after a small argument they moved us into a studio which was a bit better. The activity center was good. restaurant was OK. Ooty, per se, has lost its charm of being a honeymooners' paradise. It is very much crowded. The toy train ride was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a studio. if you book a hotel unit you will be disappointed.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archana644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Hi Archana,

Having read your review, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our members and realize have fallen short of the same on this occasion. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. We also request you to provide any further information or feedback that you might have on our Facebook page at the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This trip was our second visit to Ooty. We stayed in Derby green last year and had a wonderful vacation. This trip was a repeat in terms of comfort, relaxation and sheer bliss. I would consider Derby green one of Club Mahindra's good resorts in terms of food(excellent especially the salads and the pasta bar)., hospitable and helpful staff and location( near the rly station and bus stand but still peaceful). We walked down to the station to take a trip in the toy train!
The evening entertainment programmes conducted are good especially the bonfire nights. Overall a good place to stay for three days.

Room Tip: Studio rooms are good and have a lovely view. Choose one on the first floor.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyceL29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Ooty. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the hospitality our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews