We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Mahindra Derby Green
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Absolute Bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

I got my booking done in a instant way with the online booking system which is so user friendly. We reached the resort on the 13th March and got ourselves checked in. I had written to the team earlier requesting if I could get a room with a good view and I was very happy they had accommodated my request and gave me one of the rooms with the best view. So my check in process was absolutely smooth.

Few things about this resort:
Very nice location and in spite of the crowded noisy area little ahead, you do not hear anything the moment you close your doors
Beautifully and artistically designed rooms with careful attention to every minute detail possible
Well furnished room with all amenities including a well made kitchenette
Nice lawn area across the resort
Restaurant was equally designed creatively and well maintained

I also have to mention that all the staff were very courteous (Whoever we interacted with). We did choose the fun dining option for one day and opted to have al a carte once. Food, I should say has been fabulous. I was firstly impressed with the variety on the al a carte menu and the food was very delicious.

The most spectacular part was the buffet spread. We enjoyed both the breakfast and the dinner. I have to make a special mention here about the salad bar and pasta counter. In spite of that huge spread I literally made my dinner that day with just salad and pasta. Sujeet (I guess I have got his name correct) made such awesome salad and I could keep eating them. It was well made, perfect combination, perfectly done. He was kind enough to make sure I enjoyed the salad by checking with me time and again. It was very different spread compared to the other places I have had fun dining. Overall delicious food and I cannot think of anything that could have gone wrong there.

I do not have anything to say on the activity center as I was not too keen about it, however I did see some interesting things happening.

Overall, my experience was astounding and I definitely would go back again to Ooty Derby Green. This resort had everything that I had looked out for when I booked Club Mahindra. It was just perfect in every way.

Room Tip: You can ask for good view rooms and apparently I noticed only few rooms have the city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radhika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Ooty resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience and the activities our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. We also request you to provide any further information or feedback that you might have on our Facebook page at the “Listening Post” tab. Please continue to provide us feedback regarding your visits to our resorts as it enable us to serve our members better. Thanks once again and looking forward to welcoming you at our other resorts soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    290
    83
    23
    8
See reviews for
392
143
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Going over to Mahindra’s this Race Course Facing Resort is like that of your going to your own family home or parents’ home sort. We left our home in the morning at 10am and by the time we reached it was late evening, thus, straight after resting and cleaning up, went over to the Dinning Hall. You are being warmly greeted and received by very fine young man Mr. Arun Kumar Rajhans – the Senior Executive – F&B services there. You can never ever dislike him or any of his team members there in this resort. Earlier we had mentioned that it is like “Like going to your own family home or parents home sort”. That happens because of this gentleman and team. Who pamper you with such a widest choice of food/buffet, you will not even dare to venture any hotel in the entire Ooty either for breakfast or lunch or dinner. Incase you want to share your special recipe, you could share and they will make it accordingly or will arrange for your demo…with their help..and everyone there could enjoy too. More than anything, if we say that this Mr. Arun Kumar Rajhans attends to every member/guest walks into the dinning hall and sees that they are made comfortable, attended and even served with their required food – without any delay. Watching him and his team attending to every table, makes you wonder from where they get Non-stop Energy, but, do admit the Top Class food which is being served by them, keeps their Service also above Top Class. Whether it is a South Indian Dish or North Indian Dish or varieties of Deserts, Hats off to the Chef. Khemraj, Chef Rajeev, Nimal put together made, equivalent to any 5-star hotel food. Under ever smiling Mr. Arun’s steering we were taken care by such a wonderful staff.
Next day morning, from this resort, you are seeing the biggest Derby Horse Race Track under preparation for the Ooty’s popular Season fast approaching in weeks. Members could sit in different levels of this Wonderfully located resort to watch the horse races. You will never get another resort with so much facilities, so well located seeing the OOty town and hills at the back drop.

Then do not forget to visit their Recreation Centre…You will not feel like going out to sight seeing.. They have such a Pool Table, which has marble beneth and approach one Mr. Ravi there. He will guide you.

Then you have a Lord Krishna’s oldest temple inside the Resort but, very beautifully located all above the entire resort.

It struck us on the second day of our stay that this property is the one of the Ooty’s most popular and 100 and odd years approximagely old with superb maintenance. Club Mahindra has done wonders by refurbishing and retaining the Old touch of class. Earlier Mysore based famous Dasaprakash owned this prime beautiful properly, which changed to better and the Best hands of Club Mahindra. We both remembered that we have stayed in this very place when it was Dasaprakash may be 27 years ago?

ONE OF THE FINEST LOCATED HOLIDAY "IN PLACE IN OOTY"

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hari550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. Our resort staff will be absolutely thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the ambience but also the dining experience and the activities at our resort. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments.Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed as a couple. Excellent rooms, good service, Good food. A very small fitness centre.
Pick up the food package (as I didn't find any quality food outside the hotel due to its locality), it works out better. They have a recreational area to keep you occupied & some games. Daily activities to keep you occupied. You should miss this, it's fun.
Weather is perfect. The only drawback is the location. Not a great locality around. In general I didn't find Ooty a destination to visit at all unless it's a business travel. I would rather visit Wellington which is far better than Ooty.
Recommend a stay at this site for a day or 2 max.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saji_inasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Ooty. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience and the activities our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

A hotel situated at the central place with a beautiful surroundings. We enjoyed our holidays by relaxing at the hotel and their evening activities. The facilities at the hotel are excellent and they do have self cooking facility.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vks62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Ooty. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Our trip to this hotel was for the annivesary,It was a surprise trip for my wife,She knew about the stay but not about the surprise..The room was well located facing the race course and the ooty town.The staff from the housekeeping helpfull to decorate the room,friendly front office team and also F&B team.
The room was well decorated and also a pre ordered cake.,A reasonable amount to be paid.
Restaurant had theme dinner,
A special thanx to (Mr.Suresh kallan) and team.F&B.
- No alcohol served as they dont have licence**
-Room service reasonable.
-There is a convenience store.
-Mostly a time share property

Room Tip: Just ask for the reservation assistance,Not much tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cukoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Ooty resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience and hope you liked the activities our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We got 2 nights as a gift at this place. Excellent view from their open restraunt. And the best thing about this resort is the service. You can feel it from the time you reach their. We ordered food in the room and they packed in hot boxes and delivered us which gave us the flexibility to eat it later. They organized lots of event in their resort all evenings which was very nice. Food was awesome again but a little expensive- but that's according to club mahindra standards and worth the service and quality that they provide. Very close to the railway station and bus stop. The resort also offers full day sight seeing facilities in their vehicle which would be a bliss for people not travelling in their own cars. They have a gaming zone , pool table and actually a lot of other things which you can enjoy if you are in the resort. They organized a fire dance, a local dance in the resort which was so nice to spend the evening. I would stay their again :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mini G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Ooty resort. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. Our resort staff will be absolutely thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the ambience but also the dining experience and the evening activities at our resort. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Furthermore, your points regarding the food [rices at the resort have been duly noted and will be shared with the resort management on priority. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

One of the excellent property of Club Mahindra, Unlike other properties of Club Mahindra which are mostly located far from city, this property is very well located just at walking distance from railway station and main road.
It's a heritage property, rooms are specious and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ushass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Ooty. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked our accommodation and enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
2.6 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
0.8 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.0 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
1.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
0.9 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Derby Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Derby Green

Property: Club Mahindra Derby Green
Address: 29 - 49 Baikey Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ooty
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ooty
#6 Family Hotel in Ooty
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Mahindra Derby Green 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Mahindra Derby Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Derby Green India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing