We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Mahindra Derby Green
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Experience...”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Awesome experience in a beautiful place called ooty...thanks to derby green our vacation and much needed break turned out to be one to be remembered forever..excellent hospitality..very tasty food which was worth every penny spent...staff was very good n very helpful...all and all an excellent experience...

Room Tip: Try for the rooms in front and top view of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashwal20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Ooty resort. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but the activities our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    296
    87
    24
    10
See reviews for
415
145
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Male
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

It’s a late review but I am sure that this property deserves appreciation for its hard work . Staff in reception, housekeeping and restaurant has always pleasant and helpful . Hotel is located in an excellent location and landscaping as well which is a major addition to this property . Rooms are in two floors in old fashion British bungalow style , so ladders are the only option . Bathroom very spacious and well maintained . Room heaters in the room are very helpful . I would highly recommend this property for families .
The only disadvantage I faced during this trip was my return ticket to Bangalore was fraud ( there is no Volvo services from Ooty to Bangalore – only Volvos are from Govt which you cannot pre-book , so if an agent is offering you ticket back or forth to Bangalore in Volvo it’s an Monkey business . BEWARE !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DADDYCOOL89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Ooty. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked our accommodation and hope you enjoyed the various activities at the resort and our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This resort is not upto Club Mahinrda standards; Location is very good, walkable from the main bus stand & other attractions. Rooms are neat & tidy, with good bathrooms but the room in which we stayed was little cramped, with hardly any moving space; food is quite expensive, as in any other Club Mahindra property; at the time we stayed there, most of the outdoor activities seemed unused for a long time & very badly maintained. There is a store within the premises, but not very big & limited stocks & the walk from the reception area to our room which was at the far corner, was quite dark, not well lit. Overall, it was just another resort, highly overpriced in the name of Club Mahindra.

Room Tip: Choose a room closer to the reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malavika_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Malavika,

Thank you for your appreciation and the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. We work hard to ensure that all our members have a pleasant experience. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My trip to Ooty Derby greens was very good. The rooms are very good and the food also is very nice. They have all types of cusine in there hotel. The staff is very helpful, dooing their best to make our vacation even more comfortable.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Race course have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siddharthmehta2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi Siddharth,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Ooty resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the accommodation and hope you enjoyed the activities our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a heritage properly refurbished and well maintained. It is on a hillock overlooking the racecourse. The bus stand, railway station and commercial street are just a short walk away. Most of the tourist attractions are within 2-3 km radius. For those who love to trek, there are many peaks around and the approach roads are good.

The studio units are spacious, but hotel units are a bit cramped. Toilets are clean. Beds are comfortable. There are no air conditioners, but are not really required as weather is pleasant all year round. Ceiling fans are provided and room heaters are provided on request.

Buffet meals in restaurant have wide variety and cater to different tastes. Food is sumptuous, but a bit expensive. Room service food is even more expensive.

Activity centre and spa are other facilities available. Internet wi-fi is available only in the reception lobby. Hotel arranges tours to nearby places of tourist interest. But one can avail services of tour operators located near the railway station and who charge little less.

Overall it is a very good property to stay in.

Room Tip: Ask for Racecourse facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssenceMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your appreciation and the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. We work hard to ensure that all our members have a pleasant experience. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in the month of September . When I saw the rooms I was very happy.the rooms are furnished very well ... everything was ok until we checked in .. but later there was no electricity ,no water , no dental kit ( was provided with a used toothpaste after repeatedly asking them ) no connectivity to the reception .. the phone s not in working conditions. . When we complained regarding this the response was saying tht the rooms are under maintenance .... why are the rooms provided when the room s under maintenance ????? Waste of money ...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krishna2367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi Krishna,

We are really sorry for the unpleasant experiences you have faced. Having read your comments, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our members and realize have fallen short of the same on this occasion. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. We also request you to provide any further information or feedback that you might have on our Facebook page at the “Listening Post” tab. Additionally, we also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandigarh
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

About the hotel:- I have stay there for two nights with my family, location is very nice you can see the view of city, rooms /bathroom are very good & maintained, staff is very nice, customer care is very good, room service food is good but not up to the quality as they have the resort & room service price is very high aprox 5* hotel like veg biryani aprox 370+ tax.
Palace to see:- there is no one good north indian restaurant, ooty lake, botanical garden, bodabetta peak is very good view & in returning there is tea factory, toy train (Ooty - conoor), tea gardens & see view point aprox 12 km ahead from there in conoor.
Must have to visit steering circle market & there is small local tea stall (mid of market) which is selling wada, samosa, masala tea I have wada & tea is very nice & tasty in quality.
Do small shopping near to botanical garden market you will be find some good rates.
Must stay 1 night in bandipur sanctuary, there is a govt hotel which can provide you jungle safari also (they have deep jungle track which is only use by govt safari vehicle)

Room Tip: Food is very expensive compared to any 4* hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NishiChandigarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hi Nishi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Ooty. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked our accommodation and enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Our staff will be extremely delighted to receive your appreciation. Additionally, your points regarding the food have been duly noted and will be shared with the resort management on priority. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
2.6 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,007 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,185 reviews
1.0 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
782 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#16 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
508 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#12 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Derby Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Derby Green

Property: Club Mahindra Derby Green
Address: 29 - 49 Baikey Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#6 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Mahindra Derby Green 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Club Mahindra Derby Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Derby Green India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing