We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live from Club Mahindra Ooty,Small Rooms + BAD Service = Big Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Club Mahindra Derby Green
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

LIVE FROM OOTY : Instead of booking any other property I booked Club Mahindra just because this was the only known brand available.

I checked in at 8:30 pm (right now it is 11 pm) & in just less than 3 hours of my stay I could sense how the rest of stay would be.

Room is 8 ft. by 11 ft. & we have to fit 1 extra beds here.

On asking for extra bed I was told that it is chargeable extra & finally I had to call up 3 times before I could get ONE (yes ! only one in spite of paying INR 2000 extra for 2 beds for 2 kids).

I was asked to take out blanket ( without even a cover ) from the cupboard. when i asked for quilt (similar to the one on main bed ) I was suggested to request for this separately .

That's it for now folks ..let me go through my suffering completely & then I will write another detailed review . The only thing I would recommend you guys is to don't book this property if u are not a member of Mahindra Resorts ,as by becoming a member you have already lost all the other options :)

Room Tip: All rooms are really small :( decide only if you are ok staying in a 8 by 11 room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Hi Sunil,

We are really sorry for the unpleasant experiences you have faced and can assure you this is not typical of our staff. Having read your comments, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our members and realize have fallen short of the same on this occasion. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. We also request you to provide any further information or feedback that you might have on our Facebook page at the “Listening Post” tab. Additionally, we also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 691 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

we stayed here for 3 days , and it was good , the food was excellent and so was the service and property , though its a heritage property they have maintained it really well , the food was excellent and staff is very good . basically nothing to complaint ,

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Ooty resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience and hope you enjoyed the activities our resort offered. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We made a quick short 2 days trip to Ooty and booked our stay at Club Mahindra Derby Green, our check in was smooth, but 1 bedroom allotted to us was pretty small compared to other Club Mahindra resorts I have visited. Unlike other resorts it's closer to bus depot and easily accessible for people coming by bus or car. The resort is well maintained with lot of greenery, but still misses to deliver typical Club Mahindra experience we had at other CM resorts.

The food quality we had at the resort was ok and nothing much to write about, major attraction was activity centre, it was complete entertainment. Special thanks to all the staff at the activity centre for making our short holiday complete and fun filled.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Hi Rajesh,

Thank you for your appreciation and our staff will extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Additionally, the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. We work hard to ensure that all our members have a pleasant experience. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I visited derby green heritage in april 13 it was very pleasent while in pune it was very hot,hotel premises was very beautiful neat & clean, lots of folwers & greenery the cottages were very beautiful, staff & hospitality was good. I wish if i get a chance i will definitely visit derby green again

Dr Bharat Raut
Chakan, PUNE

Room Tip: Prefer the cottages facing the valley / stud farm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhagawatinetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Hi,

Ooty is indeed a wonderful place to visit and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Ooty. It is wonderful to know that you liked our resort and hope you enjoyed the various activities at our resort. Our staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments.Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experiences with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Club Mahindra has converted the old Dasaprakash hotel in Ooty to its Derby Green property. However it shows that they've tried to refurbish an old hotel in the rooms. Although the exterior looks good on the inside the rooms still look very ill maintained and the bathroom refurbishment is shoddy. Expected better quality from Club Mahindra since we have stayed in many of their properties. We did not visit the restaurant, since the hotel is very close to the town and all the tourist attractions are accessible easily. However this may also be a disadvantage for those looking for a getaway. Lots of activities are organised inside the hotel for children to keep them busy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayanth13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Hi Jayanth,

Thank you for your appreciation and the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. We work hard to ensure that all our members have a pleasant experience. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed in this CMH property in Summer and it was well maintained, staff was kind and food at the restaurant was lip smacking. It was in close vicinity of the town, so the shopping and sight seeing was possible even with public transport.

Room Tip: Look for a room facing the Derby to get a view. Ask for thin blanket in summer as the temperature do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raghuram P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Hi Pragram,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Ooty resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the resort and hope you enjoyed the activities our resort offered. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a Heritage property and the rooms do have a cottage feel to it, especially since we took a ground floor studio with a small garden in front. But the downside is that the rooms are quite small compared to other Club Mahindra resorts.
Another big disappointment was that there is no wi-fi in the rooms, the only place they have it is in the lobby. Although this might be a blessing for those who don't like their spouse/kids on the net all the time.
One great value addition I found was that we could order free breakfast for our kids, although basic, it did keep them happy.
I would not recommend taking the services of their travel desk, since they are outsourced and not very professional.
In case you wish to eat outside there are not many restaurants nearby, just some food carts near the bus stop.The Fire Wood Pizza at Nahar,Charing cross is way too overrated, we did'nt enjoy it at all.
There are some great views from the resort and some temples, churches and mosques nearby for those who don't forget God while on vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saif2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your appreciation and the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. We work hard to ensure that all our members have a pleasant experience. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.8 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#9 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,247 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#12 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
573 reviews
2.6 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#6 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,044 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
845 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#14 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Derby Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Derby Green

Address: 29 - 49 Baikey Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#2 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $61 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Mahindra Derby Green 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Club Mahindra Derby Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Derby Green India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing