We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Ooty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Mahindra Derby Green
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Checked in with my family (parents, spouse and son) for a 4 night stay. The resort has all the amenities for a comfortable stay. Food is top class, though slightly pricey. We were allocated hotel units facing the derby/bus stand. Good light and well ventilated. The staff are very courteous. Over all a great experience.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the derby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikupot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Ooty. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked our accommodation and enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at Club Mahindra Resort soon. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 681 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at this Club Mahindra for 3 days in March. We had taken two studio rooms - these are larger than the regular hotel rooms and have a kitchenette and a seating area with a sofa-bed. The rooms were great and we had absolutely nothing to complain about, bathrooms were fine too.

It's very well maintained for being such an old property and has been suitably modernized. Our rooms had a heater as well.

Some reviewers mentioned that the property doesn't have a view other than that of the race course which is true - but I found that this did not in any way take-away from the charm and beauty of the place. I found that although it is inside town, it is almost self-contained and secluded in itself.

We ate their buffet meals in the restaurant, almost every meal during our stay there - the food, both in variety and taste was quite decent.

But more than anything else, where the property shines is in its wonderful and ever-friendly staff. This makes all the difference and what earns this hotel my five-stars! Kudos to all the staff members of this hotel.

Besides activities like air hockey, table tennis, and a basketball hoop, they have a separate adventure activities area within the hotel. This has various rope-related adventures like climbing, walking in mid-air, etc. It's professionally run by an external agency. We spent a great afternoon trying out their different adventures, even my six-year old son tried three of them and it was definitely the highlight of the trip for him!

During our stay we didn't feel the need or desire to step out of the resort to visit the town at all, even though it was just outside.

All in all, I rate this place quite highly and we had a great time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PreviouslyUnknown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Ooty. We work hard to ensure that all our members have a pleasant experience and glad that our staff were able to ensure the same. We are glad you liked our accommodation and enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Our staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Ooty weather is top attraction.. I stayed for 7days too long to stay in ooty as u have very minimum choices of attraction over there. Resort has most of the thing and relaxing itself in the weather of ooty is quite enjoyqble. The rooms here are little smaller in size as it is a heritage resort however i had till now the best clubmahindra food since 7 yrs of my membership. I thank to the food management over here. The view is nice over the racecouse. The evening activity needs to improve quite a lot at this property. Stay was pleasent for me as i already had booked my private car to roam around. It would be better if u dont book and can use clubs travel options as its much cheaper compared to outside rental of the car.
Tips always try to come through mysore road its awesome .
The only and big con is the room cleaning services provided by housekeeping guys. As tourist r more the no of housekeeping guys are very less. CM should take care of this.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivekcVapi_gujarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Hi Vivek,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. It is wonderful to know that you liked our accommodation and food at our resort. Additionally, the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Derby Green is a fantastic property amidst city with a nice Race course view. Once you enter the property you dont get a feel of a city ! its nicely landscaped gardens and nice done rooms are pretty good for all the climates.
The Hotel has a enough parking facility and nic done restaurant and bars, etc.,

Room Tip: its hardly less than a km from the central bustand and its walkable !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srinathorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your kind words. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you had a great time at Club Mahindra Ooty. Our staff at the resort will be delighted to receive your feedback. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at Club Mahindra Resort soon.In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

It is a nice heritage property that has been refurbished. the location is best walking distance to train station and close to all attractions. This used to be Dasaprakash earlier and is supposedly 120 years old. Nice views from most rooms as the property overlooks the race course.
The restaurant is good. the pricing is reasonable. I am a non member and felt the pricing for food and rooms was reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jswaminat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Hi,

Ooty is indeed a wonderful place to visit and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Ooty. Club Mahindra provides excellent dining experience across all the resorts, besides the tranquility and closeness to nature the resorts offer. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experiences with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Went there with the family for a short break. Ooty isn't what it used to be - too crowded and commercial. Derby Green was a welcome break. Great location overlooking the race course. Rooms are a bit small, so advisable to go in for the studio apt. Food was decent but service could be improved. All in all, good for a short visit

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your appreciation and the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. We work hard to ensure that all our members have a pleasant experience. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The property also known as Dery green is located at the hear of Ooty central with close proximity to rail, road and other amenities. This seems to be a heritage property with modern reception area. very good for relaxation at leisure.

Room Tip: opt for a room facing towards the city centre. since many room do not a city or outside facing views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkjain_pune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your kind words. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you had a great time at Club Mahindra Ooty. We would love to welcome you again at any of the 40 picturesque resorts. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.8 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#9 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,236 reviews
2.6 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,072 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,031 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
833 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#13 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Derby Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Derby Green

Address: 29 - 49 Baikey Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#3 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $61 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Mahindra Derby Green 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Club Mahindra Derby Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Derby Green India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing