We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for a Mahindra resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Mahindra Derby Green
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Went here with family . I am a Mahindra time-share member. This is an acquired property by Mahindra and to be honest is a big disappointment

- Ooty by itself is now highly commercialized and this property is situated in the town itself with the bus stand and the race course stables as the views !!. For some people this might seem an advantage, but for me it was a big letdown.
- There is nothing much for the kids to do except for a small play area for small kids. The adventure activities area is in a dilapidated state and not working. My ten year old was really bored.
- The staff tried valiantly to cheer the crowd up with some shows in the evening, but it still won't add up
- The rooms were nice and comfy
- Food was OK. Since it was near the town, I didn't eat here all the days and went out to have much cheaper options.
- The staff was helpful to arrange taxi for getting to Coonoor and the driver also helped us get a ticket on the toy train from Coonnoor to Ooty

If you are not a Mahindra member, there are much better options to have in Ooty

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anupkma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Hi Anup,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra, Ooty. We are disappointed that your stay was not to your liking. We will ensure that we take this up and correct it with immediate effect. We know you have not had the holiday you expected and the one that we are committed to deliver and we request you to please give us another chance to make it up to you. If you were to holiday again at Ooty, do contact us, as we would love to host you at our resort so that you can rebuild your confidence in us and we can make adequate amends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 682 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

Located in a close vicinity to the ooty station, this amazing resort still is silent and reminds one of the colonial era. This resort is around 100 years old with modern amenities. The resort has around 70 rooms and each one has a balcony with good view of the city in mountains. The staff is very polite and courteous. The resort arranges for paid trips in and around ooty. Very prompt service. The restaurant offers delicious food and has great variety. Every evening the staff arranges some activities in the activity zone which quite an entertainer. Also, adventure activities are arranged uphill in the resort.
The best part was when the house keeping decorated the whole room with petals and flowers and we were taken by surprise... a very pleasant one.
Overall, a very memorable and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: see the rooms first for yourself before you choose one. it gives u an added advantage to chose a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CypherSwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra, Ooty. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked the ambience and enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Our staff at the resort will be delighted to receive your feedback. We would love to welcome you again at any of the 40 picturesque resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days. The property is surprisingly close to the heart of the town, overlooking the race course. Yet, there was not much noise from the bustling town. A cup of tea welcoming you at the reception is a nice local touch. True to its name, one can find racing memorabilia scattered throughout the hotel and restaurant. The room was relatively small, with just enough standing room for people. There is a nice open air balcony that overlooks the town, spacious kids play area, and activities. The guided tours to nearby destinations are really beneficial to out-of-town tourists who don't want to wander off on their own.

The restaurant was great, and we had all our meals for 3 days at the restaurant without getting "tired" of the food or the service. Overall, very pleased with the stay.

Parking is very limited, and on busy days, one has to double-park and wait for someone to clear their cars. This could be a problem if you are in a hurry, and is the only reason I am not giving 5 stars.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank suresh_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed in Derby Green this Nov 2012. The stay was very pleasant. The location is very good. Within the town but away from the crowd. They have play area for kids and nice sitouts for everyone. The room was clean and well maintained. The staff was very kind and cooperative.


Note - The above review is based on my personal experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank contactiyengar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a nice little heritage property situated in the heart of Ooty. Very close to the central bus stand and the railway station ensuring that even the tourist taxi stand is also very closeby. The staff is very courteous and always ready to provide any help required. The resort also has evening fun activities for its guests and there is enough for everyone to do here.
The restaurent is also quite good.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the city side so you can get a good view from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjeev_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed with my wife in June 2012 at Club Mahindra Derby Green. I stayed for 6 nights. The resort is in a convenient location which is close to bus stand. The hospitality at the resort was pretty good. The food available at the restaurant was awesome and of high quality. The club conducts regular trips to tourist attractions in and around Ooty. You have all the basic amenities available in the rooms which include microwave oven. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The help desk is ready to help you any time for any kind of query. Overall I had a wonderful experience in the resort.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinaymanyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our second stay at Club mahindra property and we are truly happy with our decision to stay at Derby Green .Very practically situated near the bus and rail stations.Excellent views and warm hospitality.We booked at the last minute and were lucky to get a good deal for 3 nights.We loved the location,food and the room were clean and very cozy.

Room Tip: All room are great,try chosing a room closer to reception if you are not fine with long walks before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2exlpore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.8 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#9 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,237 reviews
2.6 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,073 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#16 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,031 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
834 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#13 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Derby Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Derby Green

Address: 29 - 49 Baikey Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#3 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $61 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Mahindra Derby Green 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Club Mahindra Derby Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Derby Green India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing