We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, awesome accommodation in Ooty!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Club Mahindra Derby Green
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Lovely place, awesome accommodation in Ooty!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My rating is for the Club Mahindra Derby Green, Ooty. Its an awesome place. We are fans of the Club Mahindra properties and we never are let down, be it the location, amenities, food, services, or leisure activities at the resort. And, this was nothing less. The resort overlooks the lush-green race course. The restaurant menu is very widespread, giving you lot of options. Be sure to put on a couple of kilos when you reach back. The rooms are spacious, clean, and well maintained too, true to the Mahindra standards.
Best Experience: The leisure activities and fun time for children were abundant. The weather was awesome. It was pleasant (sometimes cold) in April. The day we reached Ooty, I saw people wearing woolen wear and I thought it was foolish for not carrying any myself. Not to forget the summer showers, the drizzles and rains during the night times were a big welcome.
Worst Experience: Ooty as a place (city) can be kept clean, which is not the case as of now.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnuWrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    301
    88
    24
    10
See reviews for
421
147
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Club Mahindra Derby Green. We were there during the Dussera holdiays in Oct 2012 and got stuck indoors due to the rains for 3 days - but no hassles.. we relaxed in the room and ordered good food. When the rains stopped we went around the town (all within 10/15mins walking distance) - to the market, around the lake and the lil bakeries. Surprised to have found the town to be so clean.. looks like the municipal corporation has cleaned up the town bigtime.... great job!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PANCHI_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We reached 11th oct 12 evening , the front office staffs received us very humbly and offered tea as welcome drink, check in process was fast & friendly

Room was very nice & clean

Restaurant- the staff was behaved very humbly and very friendly , the food quality was very nice , good spread of buffet ( cost seems slightly high but its worthy i believe)

Activity centre also maintained in a good manner, fun games organized was good.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sripathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

You won't regret staying here- the location and quality of the property and rooms are simply great. But the Housekeeping staff are still fresh and untrained- rather noisy and a bit complacent. Same with the restaurant, where the food is mediocre and service rather slow due to understaffing and forgetfullness. But the overall experience is still fine. And, given that it is a Club Mahindra property, I am sure that they will improve over the next few months if there is good and constant feedback. The rooms and property are great. The people are nice, but not yet effective in the restaurant and housekeeping.

Room Tip: Try and get a Hotel Room right at the top. And try for room no. 3024, which is a bit bigger than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarthickBirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Derby Green is definitely not good as other properties of Club Mahindra. I visited there in March with my family. The location is fine and it is in the city itself. The room that was given to us was very small. There is less space in room to move around. However view from outside the room was nice. The food was not good at all...the thing that you cant imagine in Mahindra properties as I always found quality of food has been their strength. Services were not proper. Staff was very slow in giving the services. There was no swimming pool & bar. Few evening programmes were organised by the staff but in a closed room with limited capacity & if you are late than u dont get the chance to enjoy them. Children play area is there which is good & a very nice temple is also there in hotel. Overall it is average property of Mahindra.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rohit_C2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

It was a short stay at Derby Green with family. We liked the location of the resort over looking the Race course & Hills. Good food with limited menu from the only restaurant. Kids were engaged with the activities & the surroundings.
They also have a good Spa were we had our relaxing Ayurvedic massage with a very courteous & helping staff. The only spoiler in the trip was the rain on the day of arrival.
Overall we liked the resort for the comfortable stay, food & location.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jidesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Nice property situated very near to bus station.once in property,you are away from noice & pollution of main thickly populated main town.excellent property.nice small cozy room well equipped with most of the requirements.well behaved very co operative staff always happy to help.very good restaurant & nice food with variety of options.little slow response of house keeping staff may be due to 100% occupancy but happy to help.beautiful property,well maintained.rooms overlooking race course give best views of mountains.lot of activities indoor & outdoor planned by activity center.

Room Tip: Studio type room overlooking race course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dr_shrenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
2.6 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,015 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,195 reviews
1.0 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#14 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
511 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
791 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#12 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Derby Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Derby Green

Property: Club Mahindra Derby Green
Address: 29 - 49 Baikey Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#6 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Mahindra Derby Green 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Club Mahindra Derby Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Derby Green India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing