We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Potential- but some improvements needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Mahindra Derby Green
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

You won't regret staying here- the location and quality of the property and rooms are simply great. But the Housekeeping staff are still fresh and untrained- rather noisy and a bit complacent. Same with the restaurant, where the food is mediocre and service rather slow due to understaffing and forgetfullness. But the overall experience is still fine. And, given that it is a Club Mahindra property, I am sure that they will improve over the next few months if there is good and constant feedback. The rooms and property are great. The people are nice, but not yet effective in the restaurant and housekeeping.

Room Tip: Try and get a Hotel Room right at the top. And try for room no. 3024, which is a bit bigger than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarthickBirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

596 - 602 of 675 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

Derby Green is definitely not good as other properties of Club Mahindra. I visited there in March with my family. The location is fine and it is in the city itself. The room that was given to us was very small. There is less space in room to move around. However view from outside the room was nice. The food was not good at all...the thing that you cant imagine in Mahindra properties as I always found quality of food has been their strength. Services were not proper. Staff was very slow in giving the services. There was no swimming pool & bar. Few evening programmes were organised by the staff but in a closed room with limited capacity & if you are late than u dont get the chance to enjoy them. Children play area is there which is good & a very nice temple is also there in hotel. Overall it is average property of Mahindra.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rohit_C2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

It was a short stay at Derby Green with family. We liked the location of the resort over looking the Race course & Hills. Good food with limited menu from the only restaurant. Kids were engaged with the activities & the surroundings.
They also have a good Spa were we had our relaxing Ayurvedic massage with a very courteous & helping staff. The only spoiler in the trip was the rain on the day of arrival.
Overall we liked the resort for the comfortable stay, food & location.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jidesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Nice property situated very near to bus station.once in property,you are away from noice & pollution of main thickly populated main town.excellent property.nice small cozy room well equipped with most of the requirements.well behaved very co operative staff always happy to help.very good restaurant & nice food with variety of options.little slow response of house keeping staff may be due to 100% occupancy but happy to help.beautiful property,well maintained.rooms overlooking race course give best views of mountains.lot of activities indoor & outdoor planned by activity center.

Room Tip: Studio type room overlooking race course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dr_shrenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Location - Great Location. Located within 1kms distance of main market, bus stand & railway station. It’s unlike other Club Mahindra resorts but still you would feel great as it’s located on top of a hill. What I like about the resort is the plantation/flowers inside the resort. And they maintain the same very thoroughly. There is a small park inside the resort too. The resort does have a spa too but didn’t try. The Fun Zone is also up to the Mahindra standard with separate rooms for kids & sufficient games for kids. The provision store inside the resort is too small containing very limited items. That should not be a concern as the market is near by.

Rooms - Almost all the rooms are facing towards the market & the hills, so it gives a nice view but the privacy is hurt. I booked a Hotel Unit but the room size could have been bigger. The heater in the room was little nosier than normal. Overall a nice cozy clean room.

Food - Restaurant located in mid of the resort. A bit over-priced. Buffet spread can be improved as they charge the same as they do in different Club Mahindra resorts but the variety is lesser. We tried eating out a lot of times as the main market is nearby. Ordered some food in room-service and was neatly delivered on time. The live counters in the buffet give awesome masala cheese omlette.

Sight Seeing - Took the toy train to Coonoor & did Coonoor side sight seeing one day (Dolphin Nose, Sim’s Park, Lamb’s Rock). Coonoor would take 30 mins by car. Botanical Garden is just in the main town and hardly 1-2 kms from the resort. Visited the Pykara falls while coming back to Bangalore as it comes on the way only.

Staff & Service - Awesome. True Club Mahindra standard. You just call Housekeeping and it’s solved within minutes. I think the Reception staff can be polished more though. There was a problem of hot water during afternoon time & I think they should look after it.

Overall a nice experience of not so much like Club Mahindra resort. But a nice clean green resort. 4/5

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ORISSAGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Well... I was searching for resort down there in Ooty to go with my wife who had come from US on a short vacation. After lots of R&D I zeroed on Derby Green. To be honest I wasn't disappointed at all. Rather me and my wife felt it was one of our best time there together there at Derby Green.

We were there last week of August landed in Metupalayam by Niligiri Express. Though being the rainy month of August still there was no sigh of rain. So we were mighty pleased.Derby Green had sent out there Cab with we having called the, beforehand asking to pick up us from the railway station. We reached by 9 AM. Though check-in time was 2 PM but the guys at Resort were more than happy to get us to our rooms in the morning itself. We were mighty pleased with the way they welcomed us.Check-in was super smooth. Resort was very clean and guys there were very courteous and friendly. Our room was one on top of Hill and was bit a private. Though the resort is near to Bus Depot of Ooty but you will never get to hear the hustle bustle of the traffic as the resort is placed on top of a small hill there.

Room was super good with all facilities like satelite TV, Intercom phone,Coffee/Tea maker and very uniquely designed bathroom.Though wifi is avaible that too only in reception lunge, I would prefer it to available also in room/suite.Food menu was there available and food we ordered for breakfast,lunch and dinner were very nice. We had our separate small dining table given outside under the warm sun facing the city and mountains. Wonderful view really.Resort provide cabs to go for sight seeing. Though the price was on higher side but it was worth as the driver were nice and they made us see the the view points,etc in a very good way.

They have a restuarant where one can go for Buffet and also for Ala carte. I felt like buffet was bit costly so we went for food on order. Food was good to be frank though the cost was on higher side.

Resort is quite spacious. And taking advantage of the available space the resort management have put up variety of flower plants. They were very beautyful. My wife was super happy seeing the variety of colorful flowers there and I being a avid photography enthusiast kept on clicking. Also they had some game activities going on. We had partcicipated in few of them.

On the whole we had some really good private time there. Would always love to come back and stay with Derby Green in future.

Room Tip: Prefer private suit on top of Hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Debasish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Club Mahindra's Derby Green is a time share resort in the heart of Ooty, the queen of hill stations in South India. It is situated very close to Bus stand and Railways stations over looking the race course. Except for 4 or 5 rooms aptly called china, the other rooms are spacious and well maintained. Staff is exceptionally friendly. Room service takes little longer time. Food served is good but slightly on the expensive side. They also arrange visits to surrounding places of interest. I enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharatchandrahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.8 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,223 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
545 reviews
2.6 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,021 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
825 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#12 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Derby Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Derby Green

Address: 29 - 49 Baikey Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#6 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $58 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Mahindra Derby Green 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Club Mahindra Derby Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Derby Green India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing