We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fortune Retreats Resorts - Ooty
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We booked 3 rooms (2 x Double and One Single) through Makemytrip as per their recommendation / advise (10th & 11th April,2014). After reaching we were put up in a cottage - filthy, stinking,unsecured. Most of the locks (Specially toilets) missing, Dirty toilets,shabby rooms, uncomfortable Pillows & Mattresses. It was located far off (Down the lane about 100 meters) from the reception & restaurant. After calling Makemytrip & expressing our displeasure & after hot exchange they changed the cottage but the same was also not good. We were forced to cut short our Ooty stay and left next day (Though the payments were made in advance and did not got any refund). Food & Complementary Break Fast was very poor quality. Front office staff are over smart and try to exploit tourists.
It is surprising that how they are rated as PLATINUM GRADE by Makemytrip. It seems that most of the REVIEWS post praising them is made by themselves/ their own people.
MakeMytrip must think twice before referring this resort in future to retain their reputation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prcopartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinuindia, Owner at Fortune Retreats Resorts - Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

dear sir

we rectify your complaint . you can enjoy next visit in ooty at fortune

This is a resorts meanings individual villas in 15 acre land . so all cottage has 50 meter distance one cottage to other cottage. so you will get good privacy
I enquirer about your satay . you stayed in cottage no 1 , many customer like this cottage. I think your tour program has unorganized , your flight is next day morning from coimbatore , so must checkout next day

I apologized you and I am sorry for the inconvenience of your tour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 110 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

Fortune retreat has independent cottages (1,2 & 3 bhk), the one ear the reception 3 BHK isexcellent. We booked 1 BHK but they upgraded to 3 BHK for free. The approach road to hotel is slightly bad but it justs 500 mts so manageable.Coming to food they serve everything in room((which has a dining table)in a casserole, food is good. Special mention to the views from the balcony it is excellent when you can see the mist descending down the Hill. Excellent property go for it

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank manas4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotune, Manager at Fortune Retreats Resorts - Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2016

Dear Guest
Greetings from Fortune Retreats
Thank you for sharing your views and experiences of our hotel on trip ad visor
Our resort is located on top of a hill thus a perfect view of enchanting hills from villas
moreover a peace kind of place
for relaxation from a hectic schedules of offices
we are very much delighted to know that we have meet your expectations


Moreover we are looking forward to serve your stay again at Fortune Retreat and
thus create another remarkable memory at your stay at our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had a took time off from our busy chores of City life and wanted a break. Destination based on majority of family members decision was Ooty. Next Step was to decide place of stay. One of my friend referred to Fortune. Reached there with minimum expectation, however it turned out to be a wonderful experience at Fortune. Great Place to stay nice staff and management. Good and hygienic food, veggies options are no that much, however what ever they offer is too good. Horse riders come in front of the villas in the mornings, u can take a ride its a wonderful experience. Great Experience...Too Good location, me and my family had a great time at Ooty. We would recommend it for our friends, they also arrange for campfire.

Room Tip: Ask for Rose Villa if you are couple, uphill ones are Good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiniesFromKochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotune, Manager at Fortune Retreats Resorts - Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2016

Dear Guest
Greetings from Fortune Retreats
Thank you for sharing your views and experiences of our hotel on trip ad visor
Our resort is located on top of a hill thus a perfect view of enchanting hills from villas
moreover a peace kind of place
for relaxation from a hectic schedules of offices
we are very much delighted to know that we have meet your expectations


Moreover we are looking forward to serve your stay again at Fortune Retreat and
thus create another remarkable memory at your stay at our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Very good stay,amazing villas,affordable rates , good food and above all good staff.loved the stay over here. The pick was provided from Coimbatore it was well on time.
Next time I am for sure will opt for Fortune Retreat.

Room Tip: Villas on the right side near to the owners house is really scenic and good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnmathew78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotune, Manager at Fortune Retreats Resorts - Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2016

Dear Guest
Greetings from Fortune Retreats
Thank you for sharing your views and experiences of our hotel on trip ad visor
Our resort is located on top of a hill thus a perfect view of enchanting hills from villas
moreover a peace kind of place
for relaxation from a hectic schedules of offices
we are very much delighted to know that we have meet your expectations


Moreover we are looking forward to serve your stay again at Fortune Retreat and
thus create another remarkable memory at your stay at our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Had a chance to visit fortune early this summer. Wonderful experience, good service, good staff very co operative.Nice food.They arranged a conducted tour too for us. it was really helpful.
Made my Ooty visit memmorable. Location is spelindid away from all the noices of Ooty.

Next time if I have a choice it would be fortune retreats.

Room Tip: Ask Ruby Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelvinIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotune, Manager at Fortune Retreats Resorts - Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2016

Dear Guest
Greetings from Fortune Retreats
Thank you for sharing your views and experiences of our hotel on trip ad visor
Our resort is located on top of a hill thus a perfect view of enchanting hills from villas
moreover a peace kind of place
for relaxation from a hectic schedules of offices
we are very much delighted to know that we have meet your expectations


Moreover we are looking forward to serve your stay again at Fortune Retreat and
thus create another remarkable memory at your stay at our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This January end , almost when the winter was at its end I planned to visit Ooty, Fortune was my first choice.As usual the managment arranged me with one of their best villas "Rose Villa", I was there for 3 days with family and friends.Had aSplendid time. Each time I visit they have some modifications this time it was Travel desk, they have very good travel desk which take can take care of your whole sight seeing.Food as usual was too Good. Horse men come over to this place and give you a paid ride, a peace full one away from the crowd.

We had a very Good time...

Room Tip: Ask for Rose villa if you are 2 families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HomePage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotune, Manager at Fortune Retreats Resorts - Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2016

Dear Guest
Greetings from Fortune Retreats
Thank you for sharing your views and experiences of our hotel on trip ad visor
Our resort is located on top of a hill thus a perfect view of enchanting hills from villas
moreover a peace kind of place
for relaxation from a hectic schedules of offices
we are very much delighted to know that we have meet your expectations


Moreover we are looking forward to serve your stay again at Fortune Retreat and
thus create another remarkable memory at your stay at our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

First of all I would like to thank the management for arranging such a splendid and warm stay for me and family. I really owe the management for giving me a home away home feeling during the entire stay .The villa/cottage provided for us was really par Excellence. The stay really worth more than the money I paid. The amicable nature of Management is really great. The food served was meeting the requirements.
If I am back to Ooty, My first choice is Fortune Retreats. Take My word as guarantee.
I recommend this hotel if you plan to stay at Ooty.

Room Tip: Rose Villa Go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmg2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotune, Manager at Fortune Retreats Resorts - Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2016

Dear Guest
Greetings from Fortune Retreats
Thank you for sharing your views and experiences of our hotel on trip ad visor
Our resort is located on top of a hill thus a perfect view of enchanting hills from villas
moreover a peace kind of place
for relaxation from a hectic schedules of offices
we are very much delighted to know that we have meet your expectations


Moreover we are looking forward to serve your stay again at Fortune Retreat and
thus create another remarkable memory at your stay at our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#16 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
556 reviews
1.2 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,073 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#17 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#9 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,237 reviews
1 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
834 reviews
1.9 mi away
Treebo Yantra Leisures
Treebo Yantra Leisures
#14 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune Retreats Resorts - Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Retreats Resorts - Ooty

Address: Tiger Hill Road | Belmont Terrace, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $22 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortune Retreats Resorts - Ooty 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fortune Retreats is one of the best accommodation provider since 1995 we have all types of cottages, PRIVACY IS THE PRIOR TREKKING AND CAMP FIRE FOR ENJOYMENT ALL THE COTTAGES HAVE A SCENIC BEAUTY OF ETERNAL NATURE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fortune Retreats Resorts - Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Retreats Resorts - Ooty India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing