We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”
Review of Ponmari Residencyy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ponmari Residencyy
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel was spic and span, located well (Between Charring cross and Botanical garden), and had a great service.

The staff was quick to serve and were helpful and courteous. They ensured a smooth travel experience.

The travel desk was outstanding. The hotel has their own fleet of cabs (there were labels of hotel on all cabs). The travel desk person guided us very well, listening to us properly and only then planning an itinerary. We saw many such one on one engagements with others.

The restaurant was very well maintained. The variety was ok. The authentic south Indian dishes were well prepared. However, their north Indian dishes weren't that great. The buffet breakfast included in the package was sumptuous, pure veg with the following menu: Idli, Dosa, Cornflakes, Toast with Butter & Jam, Tea and coffee and Upma on one day and a rice dish on the other. Rice dishes like Biryani were good. Priced reasonably considering the market rates. There were tourists from other parts arriving just to dine at the restaurant. There were a lot of local produces available like different varieties of tea leaves and spices, but most were priced on the higher end.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 319 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

Receptionist are good. They are giving good guide. Foods was good. Good shoping also available. Keep it up. All the best

Thank you

With regards
Jeevanandham'
Valanthankottai
Ichipplayam,
Kodumudi
Erode
Ph:9942926636

Room Tip: Good house keeping. Food was so good. Best of luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeevasavithaharipree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel is nearby the Ooty town and it was easier for us to do shopping and return to the hotel in the night. Room was neat and clean. Bathroom was also neat and they provided all bathroom supplies. Hospitality of the hotel management was very good. I had cut in my leg around 10 pm night and hotel manager/owner came immediately to give first aid and took me to the nearest hospital for treatment in the hotel car. We did not like the non-vegetarian food and vegetarian food was good. Complimentary buffet was excellent. The room service was delayed for everything like extra bed, sugar, coffer powder, extra towel etc. and you had to remind them again. Except room service everything was good. They have limited parking facility. I would like to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SingaaraArasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I made a visit to ooty from 8.05.13 till 12.05.13..first i would write about the location ..location is very good in heart of the city with botanical garden and a government stadium on each side ...and 5 Km from dothabeda ,

About food ..food was good both veg & non veg but limited options to choose but it was decent

About room ..room was good , but no fans ..in peak summer u definitely need fan during evenings and early nights ...we were getting hot water through out the day , but during last day of our stay we got only very hot water in both taps ..it made life difficult we didnt have bath .
travel desk was reasonable, and rates were competitive .when u visit ooty u always should hire a local driver, coz understanding and menovering the terrain is difficult for rookies ...

They have a gym which was extremely good and well maintained..and spa was also good ..overall stay in ponmari was memorable

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ragupathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

good complimentary buffet breakfast, average multi cuisine restaurant, horrible starched towels, average house keeping, no hot water in the evening, bad exhaust system in the bathroom, choose this hotel if you have no choice in peak season.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherukuriprasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Myself, my wife and Dad had stayed in Ponmar Residency two months back. We absolutely loved the stay, the service, the ambience, the breakfast and the luxorious treatment we received there. A truly luxury stay I would stay...

Room Tip: I suppose, whatever room you choose, stay would be awesome... so no worries...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SumanDodril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed at Ponmari Residency with my family, from April 8 to 10, 2013. I did pre check on trip advisor and found this hotel ranked well for family accomodation, hence decided to stay there.I got one of the rooms in basement, as hotel was fully booked. The view from this series of rooms is not worth. They are facing a ground. Rooms are big, clean with nicely maintained bathroom.

Also values added services like In house ayurvedic spa, video games and Wi-Fi and a small shop selling chocolates’, oils and other stuff, make it good choice. Hotel is situated at a walk-able distance from main market. (Charring cross)

Rooms do not have fans, and we felt the need for the same, during the day and early evening. Option of fan should be provided to have pleasant stay in the room, at least in peak summer.

Room service is quick and food quality is OK. Reasonably priced as well. We ate two dinners from its vegetarian spread. Moring breakfast was part of our package and it has good mix of choices.
Hotel is nicely designed, its clean and maintained well.

Overall, nice staying experience.

Room Tip: select upper floor rooms for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hemanttak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.5 mi away
Astoria Residency
Astoria Residency
#13 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
323 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#16 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
FabHotel Khems Ooty
FabHotel Khems Ooty
#29 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
217 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#18 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
814 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Surya Village
The Surya Village
#24 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponmari Residencyy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponmari Residencyy

Address: 26 D | Charring Cross, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $36 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ponmari Residencyy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Ooty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ponmari Residencyy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponmari Residencyy India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing