We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My family enjoyed the stay at Ponmari”
Review of Ponmari Residencyy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ponmari Residencyy
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Based on the reviews in Trip Advisor we choose Ponmari and it exceeding our expectation on all fronts. Highlight was the complimentary breakfast which was really good with more varieties. Hotel staff were really courteous and helpful. Restaurent attached is very good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muthukumar73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 320 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

We choose ponmari only through the reviews that we read on the internet. Till the time we get there we were clueless about the hotel. But once we did we were convinced and agreed to all those positive reviews given.

Guys trust me the holtel was good. If you are looking for cleanliness, friendly atmosphere, a whole lot space to park your precious car and a safe, secured place then this hotel is the right one to choose.

They also give free unlimited breakfast in the morning, 24 hours hot water supply, wifi hot spot(only in the reception area), a nice restaurant as well(not budget friendly though).

My wife and I were total happy with the stay and the hospitality.

Will give EXCELLENT verdict for sure!!!

Room Tip: Budget rooms are more than sufficient for your stay as you will not find any difference bet a budget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VRaghu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Referring to Trip Advisor reviews and information on their own website about Ponmari residency, i have booked "Royal Family Room" for my family members (3 adults and 2 kids ) for 2x nights and 3 days.
Although i took a chance to book royal family room just by looking at some snaps available on the hotel website. Upon our visit and check in, the expectation was not let down by Hotel management. The same quality, condition & Ambience of the room was maintained as shown in pictures.
We were happy with the room facilities. The service from the respective personnel was satisfactory. This hotel provides a Complimentary Breakfast where most of the other hotels are not. The quality of Breakfast was excellent. Food quality is better than any other pure vegetarian hotel ( Ponmari has a multi-cusine restaurant where they serve both Veg-Nonveg).

This hotel is located closer to market area / Botanical garden and by walk we can reach.
Our stay with ponmari was excellent and is worth for budgetary paxs with all the facilities available.

Over all the experience with Ponamari residency was very good.

Room Tip: Family rooms are located in the underground just below the restaurant. There could be some noise. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravi4949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband and I read about Ponmari Residency on tripadvisor and because of the excellent reviews booked online before leaving Australia. We intended to stay from 1st to 5th December. However, the hotel was so warm and inviting that we decided to stay for an extra day so ended up staying till the 6th December. Everyone of the staff and the General Manager Mr T.I. Rajendran, were so kind and hospital to us that we did not want to leave and wished we could've stayed much longer, Mr Raendran has such good people skills and his interaction with the guests was lovely, he was always present to assist us with any questions making it a point to meet and greet guests, when we arrived I hadnt had time to print out my online voucher, he allowed us to check in and said we could do that later.. The Tulasi Ayuvedic Centre was a wonderful experience. The food in the Restaurant was very good, breakfast was always a treat with the variety to choose from, not to mention the excellent South Indian Coffee, the laundry service, room service and internet access excellent. The Rooms and toilets were very clean with fresh linen provided everyday. The views from the room was lovely too. My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this hotel to everyone and we look forward to coming back again in the not too distant future. The car rental services on the premises made it very convenient to travel around and we used them to travel back from Ooty to Bangalore.
We wish them well as they continue to thrive and prosper.
Joy and Hampton Gabriel
December 2012

Room Tip: Book into Ponmari Residency you wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

All kind of services are too good and price worthy. Especially food is too tasty for all ages and regions.very tasty definitely stay again over there in my next visit. Breakfast is the very fresh. the hotel is close to market on walkable distance. the small store of oils and other product is chaper compare to market. staff always guide us about site seeing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SureshGI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Rakesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

ponmari is a very good i must say excellent hotel service n all the things provided are very very much better than any other hotel as per my opinion so if u want see ooty queen of hills see with the eyes of PONMARI HOTEL

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HITESH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.5 mi away
Astoria Residency
Astoria Residency
#12 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
326 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#17 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
640 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
FabHotel Khems Ooty
FabHotel Khems Ooty
#30 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
217 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#19 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
817 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Surya Village
The Surya Village
#23 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponmari Residencyy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponmari Residencyy

Address: 26 D | Charring Cross, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $37 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ponmari Residencyy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Ooty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ponmari Residencyy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponmari Residencyy India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing